Michelin Primacy 3

The Michelin Primacy 3 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Primacy 3
77%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
68%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
68%

Michelin Primacy 3 Reviews

89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 75 Easy Going miles

Honda 1.6 I DTEC

Primacy 3 Excellent Tyres! I resently boat 2 tyres of the next generation Michelen Primacy 4 but i m not satisfied at all because they give me a kind of vibration sensation and they are a little bit more noisy than that of the Primacy 3 ones!.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Citroën C5 Aircross 2.0 Bluehdi

Tyres came fitted to the car. It is OK tyre but the wear is dreadful especially on front tyres. The best quality is high comfort and solid grip in dry conditions. On wet they can spin quite quick and aquaplaning and grip properties do not encourage you to test the limits. Will definitely not buy again due to cost / performance ratio once the replacement time comes and it will come soon besed on high wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-19-V
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,300 Average miles

Peugeot 3008

These tyres came factory fitted on my new 2018 Peugeot 3008. Overall I'm satisfied with the tyres although I was expecting to get more mileage from them. The tyres have covered 18300 miles in 28 months and the front pair wore down to 2.5mm. OK, I know they are still legal but certainly noticed a difference in grip and handling once they were down to 3mm. With winter coming I wasn't going to risk driving them down to the limit. They produce a slight noise at motorway speed but its not that noticeable. Excellent grip in the dry and good in the wet. For reference, the rear tyres are on the originals as well and they have worn down to 4.5mm (it is a FWD car) and I'm hoping to get these to last to 24000 in the next 6 months as I can hand the car back without paying to replace them ;-)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 40,000 Average miles

Toyota Noah hybrid

Primacy 3 made in Spain Great dry and wet grip. But generally loud tyres, if your engine or exhaust is loud not an issue for you. I’m running on hybrid Toyota Noah, so the noise really affected me

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio IV TCe 90

My thoughts on these are a fantastic tire if you want good dry road holding and decent mileage. They are however letdown by wet performance in my opinion. I’ve had them as factory fitment on my 2018 Clio, I’ve covered 18k and the front tires are just under 2mm, rears are around 4mm. This may sound like atrocious ware, however the car is hammered round country lanes. For me, an average is under 10k miles per set. The drive in wet conditions is good in terms of braking Poor in term of lateral grip through the corners, and will aquaplane on minimal puddles. This is enough to put the car in to a slide if on a corner below national speed limit. This is a trait I’ve noticed a lot with are sold as mainstream premium tires, that wet performance is traded for mileage. Given the size of tire I am very limited on choice when it comes to what are called the UHP tires, I have been waiting for Michelin to bring to Pilot sport 4s to the U.K. in this size, unfortunately this hasn’t as yet happened and I’ve gone for the lower spec Pilot sport 4.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate

Strange tires! I'm usually a fan of Michelin but these tires feels a bit "strange". They are quite comfortably and handle ok with fair grip in both dry and wet conditions. But they make the car feel a bit unprecise. A difuse feeling that are hard to describe, the grip is there but the feedback is very dimed. According to my personal experience, Michelins normally wear slow, but these tires only lasted for about 20 000 km of gentle driving - then the rear tires were down to the wear limit warning (1,6 mm), the front tires had about 2,5 - 3 mm left of tread depth. I replaced them with Continental Sportcontact5 and the Continental tires made the car feel a lot better on the road but also a bit "harder" in the ride. Comparing the Michelins with the Continentals when not mounted on the rims, the Continental tires were much firmer in the side wall construction. The Michelins felt very loose in the sidewalls.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E220Cdi

Moved from Continental Premium Contact 5 because of weird Vibration on motorways. The primacy 3 is the best commuter tire i have ever used, it's practically Vibration free, it's not from this world.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Spirited miles

Mazda Mazda 3 GT E

first 50% of tyres had less noise. side of this tyre is not very hard and maybe ragged with not very sharp things. good traction on rainy roads on my 150 hp fwd car and also good grip. but weak on snow. (in comparison with other summer tyres) you can trust it at all. i will replace it 20K miles next with primacy4

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C200 w205

Car came equipped with them. They were almost new, probably around 10000 km. Made around 8000 km with them. On dry nothing to complain about, but the resistance to aquaplanning is low, worse than other summer tyres I used on other car(Continental Sport Contact 2, Firestone Sz90, Falken Azenis Fk510). Confort is good, road feedback also, wear almost none, probably is their top quality.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10 Easy Going miles

Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160

I fitted these tyres to my wife’s Vauxhall Insignia estate 2013 160 BHP. Her car had budget tyre on and when we got it I changed them immediately for a complete set of Michelin Primacy 3 tyres. These tyres transformed the handling of the car. We live in a remote rural area with country roads and the tyres perform extremely well in all conditions. They wear very well and I would strongly recommend these tyres to anyone considering them. The only downside is they are expensive but I feel that you get what you pay for when it comes to tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.