Continental Sport Contact 3

The Continental Sport Contact 3 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 3
76%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
80%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
62%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
68%

Continental Sport Contact 3 Reviews (4)

97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Focus Zetec

i drive a ford focus 2014 model, having done 25,000 miles i am now replacing both front tyres for the first time. excellent quality and wear from a non-aggressive driving style.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 14 Easy Going miles

Fiat Punto Sporting MK2a

Decent tire's very grippy and very good under wet conditions! The wear pretty quikly i have driven 20.000km's on them and the have reached 2.5mm tread depth now, with sporty driving and mostly normal town driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-V
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat CC

A good tyre for overall moderate performance. Noisy when it wears down. Not as much feel as I'd like. Worn out by just under 40,000kms which is fair

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 177bhp quattro

Standard fit on my 2015 A4 quattro. Expected alot from a well known brand but the wear rate has been shocking.

7300 miles and the front tyres are down to 3mm. No aggressive/harsh driving, all smooth 100 mile round trip motorway.

Tyre feel is good both in dry and wet but really disappointed about the wear rate.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW X3

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio RS200

Feels difficult to quantify the tires as previous car was a Clio 182 and it was easier to push pass the limit than the 200.

Tires were rotated around 9000 which was really a bit too late as one rear is now down to 2mm but front is at 4mm. Ideally I'd replace all four in one go.

The tires + cup suspension make it hard going on London's pot holed & humped roads. Feels like I'm driving a caged beast in London with all the 20mph limits.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,500 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate

OEM fitment tyre on our 2012 Mercedes C class estate. Rear tyres lasted 18500 miles which is ok but not exceptional. Grip was good throughout the 3 years on the car and was still good when replaced at 2.3 mm. Fronts only half worn, still have 4.5 mm after 20000 miles so expect to see circa 30000 from them. Most use has been local driving or long distance motorway use but on the odd occasion I have driven them spiritedly on A roads they have gripped well in both wet and dry conditions and feedback has been good and predictable. My only observation is that they have suffered micro cracking on the shoulder which I would not have expected on a premium tyre that has been maintained at the correct pressure throughout it's life. No deterioration in performance but it looks a little unsightly. Overall a good tyre but now superseded by the Contisport 5.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

Volvo S60 2.0T

The Continental Sport Contact 3s replaced CSC 2s about 32 months ago in December 2012 and with regular balancing and rotation (every 10,000 kms / 6,250 miles / 6 months)) have travelled 42,000 kms (c. 25,000 miles). I live in Johannesburg, and our roads are not particularly well maintained. I have driven to/from Durban at least 4 times (say 800 miles round trip)during this period as well as off-road in the Pilanesberg Nature Reserve a couple of times, and a few other long distance trips (about 200 miles each one). No flat tyres at all (surprisingly!) and these tyres have lasted me the 'longest'. They are though quite 'noisy' now, and I shall be replacing them at 45,000km (28,125 miles), and in all likelihood with CSC 5s.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus

Jest had first service car has 9924 miles on clock told will have to renew tyres in 2000 miles. that's jest 12000 miles

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C250 CDI Blutec

The grip levels are great but i cannot stand how quickly they wear. I have done 6000 miles from new and i have to replace them soon. I know i drive hard some times (great grip then) but i couldn't buy again based on the wear rate and high price.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.