Continental Sport Contact 3

The Continental Sport Contact 3 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 3
76%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
80%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
62%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
68%

Continental Sport Contact 3 Reviews (2)

53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW m2

Had these fitted on my car from new ,not many are .i can say these just about do the job .I am now needing to change and i am not happy with 7000 miles from 2 rear tyres i am a 'spirited driver' but these are not great on any level.Front tyres have possibly 2000 left in them, the car now tramlines terribly i would not recomend or buy again conti sport6 or mich 4s for me.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Ford Falcon BFII XR6

Great tyre, punctures easily.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10 Average miles

Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160

Even though this tire is very straight up the middle in terms of it ticks most boxes, but recently the tyres have began to cause some vibrations at motorway speed, and now im suffering from Tram-lining, as well as being in Ireland were it rains basically all the time, the wet grip ive found to be terrible. The car is very nervous in the wet, constantly pushes the nose out when even taking it easy, and when pushing on a little you can feel the rear wanting to come around as well. In the dry the tyres are good gripping and very responsive. The ride is very hard in them, and with the more miles going on them the road noise soon becomes annoying.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Spirited miles

BMW 520d M Sport

noisy but very hard wearing runflats

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

MG ZT T

GREAT TYRES, CANT FAULT THEM REALLY.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport

OK here's the schizzle - I have a Ford Mondeo 2 ltr diesel TCDi Titanium X-Sport. it is a family car, not a sports car no matter what the badging says (and a rear spoiler is not a performance enhancer), but here it is with 235/40/19s on each corner - tyres that are standard fit for the likes of Porsche Caymans. I've tried Conti Sport Contact 2s, and 3s. I've tried Michelin Pilot Sport 3s. I've tried Hankook Ventus Evo2s. They all grip like the proverbial to a blanket. They all have tremendous reassurance. They all perform well when I have been driving on my own and tried to break traction (only to test you understand and only once each). They all cost similar amounts (£lots). They all wear at a frightening rate.
In short, I have a shopping trolley shod with sports car boots. So time to try something a little less expensive, and a little more appropriate - I want good efficiency

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-19-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 520d Tourer

Bmw 520d I bought the tyres to the back. Never burn the tyres. After 6 months both tyres used to the limit. Paid 300 pounds for it and is gone after 6 months. Creazy. Good tyres but not for long :-(

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi

I had these tyres mounted on the front of my Peugeot 308 HDI. This car is driven hard most of the time.

The positives are:

-Insane dry grip during high speed cornering even on a car that has 0 sportiness to it and huge bodyroll, even with low thread left;

-Good grip on wet conditions when the tyres are new;

-Cosmetically, the tyre looks good;

The negatives:

-If you want a tyre that will last you then look away from these or any other Sporty tyre. Seriously I've had two pairs on the front, and both pairs lasted 10k to 15k Kilometers at best before they started going out on the inside. That means you'll have like 1 or 2mm left on the thread but the inside will already be unsafe to drive, with metal exposed;

-Grip degrades a lot on wet conditions on low wear compared to other tyres however;

-They are a bit pricey here in Portugal compared to other options, however the SportContact 5 which replaced these tyres have had their price lowered by a substantial ammount which makes them a good buy at around 80 to 90€ however, keep in mind the wear factor.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Spirited miles

BMW 316

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Easy Going miles

BMW 118d

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.