Radar Dimax R8

The Radar Dimax R8 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Radar Dimax R8
55%[average]
Dry Grip
67%
Wet Grip
49%
Road Feedback
49%
Progressiveness
49%
Wear
68%
Comfort
56%
Buy Again
51%

Radar Dimax R8 Reviews (2)

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Average miles

Holden commodore

Loving these tyre for the price I will defiantly buy these tyres again

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-20-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Ford Falcon xr6

Bought these tyres just as a cheap alternative for my XR6 Falcon, the car is only driven maybe once a week as I have a company car. For the price compared to major name brand tyres, I am loving them! They handle well in dry conditions, they're not noisy, as with all cheaper tyres if you put your foot to the floor in the wet they spin (kind of expect that with most tyres!).

Overall they are great value for money if you don't want to spend big $$$$ on name brand tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-30-20-
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

BMW 330CD

In dry conditions it's ok. But it wet... If you drive like a granny, it's ok. But if you push accelarator pedal harder, the DSC indicator starts blinking.. If you drive in corner harder, the car stability system starts to working too. Without stability systems on, I fear to drive with these tyres in wet conditions. There's much rain in Lithuania, so it was a not very cheap, but bad choise for me..

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
75%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Spirited miles

Volvo V70 2.5 T awd

Got these after Michelin Primacy 225/45 17W. Radar is cheap, comfort and quiet. Havent drive much with these so dont know about how long these will last but so far just positive feelings. There was MUCH more tramling when driving Michelins. Sure, Michelins were worn tyres and Y speed but anyway: car was tramling quite baddly with Mich´s but no tramling at all with Radars.

I havent got any problems with grip in any conditions, not even in cold, rainy conditions. In wet road conditions i could keep same speed in hard turns than i drove those curves with Michelin.

Volvo aint a sport car so i dont drive it at the limit but the limit comes via car, not via tyres in this case.

I give "thumbs up" for Radar.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

Dry road is ok But wet is worst.
I used only short time becouse it sound like Riding Lawn Mowers

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

BMW 745i

Best value for your money you can get.
Handles well even on wet roads (that's always my fear at cheap tyres).
But it is a little bit noisy - ECE Label is for sure not true.
I drive them on a 735i E65, fast on the German Autobahn, but slower on curvy roads.
Price was less than 30% of first class brand and 50% of Korean brand.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Spirited miles

Lexus LS430

Dealer fitted these new when I bought a used Lexus LS430. Very quiet and grippy when new, but less good as they became worn. With 280 bhp on the rear wheels they became very slippery in the wet after about 25000 miles, even with 4mm tread remaining. Changed rears for Michelins and problem solved. Front ones have now done 35000 miles and still have 4mm tread left. Grip and road holding still seems fine, but they are becoming increasingly noisy including rhythmic sound like a wheel bearing going (it isn't, I've had it checked by Lexus who diagnosed tyre noise). Will change fronts for Michelins soon.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Audi allroad 4.2

The car dealer slapped on a new set of these Dimax R8's on the used allroad when I bought it. I live in Oregon (USA) where it rains a lot, and these tires have the worst wet traction of any tire I've had, on any car I have driven since 1983. I bought a set of Pirelli Sottozeroes for winter and each year I'm installing them an extra month early (October instead of Nov.) and leaving them on an extra month later (until May) because I want to avoid driving in the rain on the Dimax for as long as possible. So I only drive on them from June to September and waiting for them to wear out. Unfortunately, they're wearing pretty well (the allroad is a 4300lb monster that eats tires, so after 12,000miles and no crazy wear, it's surprising). The only other good thing I can say about the Dimax R8's is that they ride pretty well (soft) compared to my winters (Sottozeros). However, the Sottozeros are quieter. Bottom line, don't buy Radar Dimax R8 if you have to drive in the rain.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
12%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 2
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz C180K Avantgarde

HORRENDOUS, THESE TYRES SHOULD NOT BE LEGAL. ABSOLUTE GARBAGE. SO NOISY EVEN WITH MY MUSIC TURNED UP LOUD, THEY MAKE ALL MY ROAD TRIPS MISERABLE AND THEY ARE DEFINITELY NOT SAFE IN THE WET WEATHER. HOW THE HELL DO THEY GET AWAY WITH SELLING TYRES THAT ARE SO UNSAFE?

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-17-
75%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 500 Average miles

Ford Mustang gt

just brought a 98 gt mustang for my wife , tires handle great at 90mph dry and at 75 mph wet on nj parkway. on a dry straight road from a dead stop i was unable to break the tires free , all traction no wheel spin. please note tires are used w/ about 1/4 of tread life already gone.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.