Continental Eco Contact 3

The Continental Eco Contact 3 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 3
73%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
72%
Progressiveness
68%
Wear
74%
Comfort
77%
Buy Again
66%

Continental Eco Contact 3 Reviews

67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Fiat Punto 1.2 8v

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Dacia Logan

I got these tires mounted on my (then) brand new Dacia Logan 2008 edition. After 11 years of running them for ~9 months each yer and summing up close to 80.000km (50.000 miles, only on these) I think this model is definitely a winner as a premium touring tire.

I really need to point out that they are getting put aside because of safety concerns due to their age, they still have rubber on them for another 20.000km easy.
Pro: low rolling resistance, fairly quiet ride, good wet and dry grip and nice braking, awesome wear longevity!
Con: not such a good road feedback from them (my car is not the sportiest one in the yard, by far, but i can say that these tires are awesome for long roads, but not for the sporty driver that likes to get a good feedback in bends).

Now upgraded to Continental EcoContact 6 (DOT 2019), if this set lasts as much as the 3's then Continental, you have yourself a satisfied client!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 50,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Octavia

I have ContiEco Contact 3 on Skoda Octavia 2 since 2011 and they are very good tyres: very good on dry road, good on wet road, no aquaplaning , silent on hi speed and very resistant. The wear is excellent for these tyres, I have been owning it for 7 years and they are still good. On the other hand they have 2 problems: low driving feedback and the rubber is getting older. Now, after 7 years, they became noisy and not so confident as they were new.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-16-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 31,068 Average miles

Suzuki Swift

Good tire, but there are drawbacks. It adheres very well on dry roads but loses its grip on wet roads. Relatively loud, but not very disturbing. It responds well to steering movements. The big drawback is that they wear very fast. I was just able to drive him 50,000 km because I was cautious. Good tire, but I wouldn't buy it again. He had an original tire for Suzuki. I changed to Hankook K425 and I have not regretted it so far.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-14-T
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi

I had these tyres as original fitted on my father's VW Golf 6 1.6 Tdi the car is from january 2012 and the tyres were produced end of 2011.
the tyre qualities are comfortable and silent ride and under braking they are still excellent
the tyres weaknesses are the wear on the shoulders when used a little more sporty than usual.
All in all is a sincere tyre made for a quiet driving style.
Now is almost time to replace them and there is very little choice on the market could buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
34%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4

After going sideways across two lanes due to aquaplaning thanks to the poor grip from these tyres a first of 30 years driving on snow, ice, sand and mud. They are not much better in the dry. Have to get rid of them for safety.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Honda Civic

Tire not bad, but wear is higher than the equivalent Fulda.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 40,000 Average miles

Opel vectra c

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Vios

Tops any other brand. Great performance, especially on wet roads. Great comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 38,000 Average miles

Opel Corsa 1.2 80Hp

They still have good thread after 8 years and 60.000km. They were used only as summer tyres and not during winter.
This year they've started to get unbalanced again and again, but given their age I think they've lasted very well.
Dry grip is not excellent even for a 1.2 engine and the sidewalls are very very soft which makes them comfortable, but not sporty at all.

I had to switch to Pirelli, the only premium tyre in stock and will come with feedback, comparison soon.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.