Continental Premium Contact 2

The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Premium Contact 2
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
77%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
62%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
62%

Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews (2)

71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,970 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo MiTo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Honda Honda Civic Hatchback

Very good and decent tyres.They give you what are they are promised to give.Nothing more,nothing less.Very good grip both in dry and wet.A little bit more comfort would be easily accepted!And less road noise too!As for the wear,much better than Conti5.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet Monza hatch SLE

So far, the best tyre set i had on my car, i can't argue with the enhanced characteristics of handling, it got much better around corners, very communicative and resistent, both dry and wet conditions its performing really well, its very confortable to drive smoothly, it does gets noisy on bad conditions roads but that is normal, i didn't get the chance to find its limits on the streets, so i am looking forward to discover that on a future track day

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3 Spirited miles

Matra djet

I have used these tyres on a few vehicles. For present purposes, my focus is on my Djet (a light-weight mid-engined coupe of the 60s) & on the size 165/70-14. I consider them to be very good tyres & am bewildered by some of the reviews. I drive the Djet very briskly indeed on country roads &, given its "tossable" charms, much of its time is spent at an angle to its direction of travel. I judge it to have good levels of grip in the dry & very good levels of grip in the wet (longitudinally under braking & laterally). But these qualities are not its main charms. It is not the crispest responding structure available in most sizes (but possibly is in 165/70) but is notable for two related traits.
One is that it's a very "talkative" tyre which lets you know precisely what it is doing (especially useful in the wet). The second is that when its (high) adhesion levels are exceeded, its limit behaviour is benign - the transient zone is broad & response to remedial inputs is faithful (especially important in the wet).
I'd love to be able to fit Michelin PilotSports 4 or Conti SportContact 6 tyres but, regrettably, 165/70-14 is not an available size. Nor is the PremiumContact 5 available in Australia in 165/ 70-14 (or I'd fit them). In the meantime, I'm very happy with the PC2.
Not that I care, but they are not harsh riding or noisy although they are short-lived.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 34,000 Average miles

SEAT Toledo

OEM fitted tyres have been very good for the first 27000 miles, quiet with a comfortable ride, decent dry and wet grip. Rotated front to rear at 16000 miles as fronts showing signs of wear at the shoulder. No change to handling until about 28000 miles when wet grip seemed noticeably worse and traction control / ASC started cutting in more often. From about 31000 dry grip decreasing and handling becoming less controlled in the dry too. Now with 34000 they are going to be replaced. Whilst still legal, 2.5 or 3 mm across the tread on all four, I don't trust them any more.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 560,000 Average miles

Renault Scenic 1.6 2003

My new 2010 Renault Scenic was initially fitted with contact 2 XL . I found that the tyres wore quicker than I initially expected but accepted this as they performed well. When Renault changed the tyre on later models the replacement cost and importing time increased as the demand drop..
I contacted Continental at Coventry and they were very helpful when I had to replace two tyres quickly and they reserved an allocation on a boat at sea which was good service and also told me that another of their tyres was suitable and cheaper because they fitted a Ford van where sales volumes were higher.
I have remained with Continental but have moved to Contact 5 extra load version on my current replacements with the option to increase fron pressures up to 38lbs pressure to reduce wear but this will make a harder ride.
I average under 20,000 miles per tyre

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Chevrolet sonic

These came as standard on both mine and my wife's cars: a 2013 Chevy Sonic and a 2013 Chevy Trax - both H rated. First off and most importantly, these tyres didn't last as long as I'd hoped for Conti's - we got about 15k out of them before they were near enough bald on the Trax and 18K out of the ones on the Sonic. I've had budget Three-A P606's that have lasted 30K+ which was a real shame for the PremiumContacts. Secondly, there's one bit of corkscrew bend in my town that the tyres frequently lost grip on in both cars in the dry - nothing major but you would feel the back-end step out at 20+, this hasn't happened on any other tyres and remember both cars are FWD. Hitting this bend in the wet would cause the back end to slip out at anything above 15mph.
Thirdly, while noise was OK at first, it gets considerably worse the more wear you're dealing with, so much so in the Sonic that you would get out of the car after long journeys with ringing in your ears and a headache.
They feel pretty firm too and aren't great at absorbing bumps as much as other tyres we've had, so they were uncomfortable at every stage of their lives. We were, at one point, thinking that the cars were the problem; Then we swapped the tyres out (Sailun Atrezzo Elites on the Trax and Toyo Proxes CF2's on the Sonic) and they're both completely different cars, so much more comfortable to drive, much more reliable grip and so much quieter.

I'm surprised we had such bad experiences with this tyre, because Continental are usually a great brand - but think they're just not well suited to our cars.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 24,000 Average miles

Opel Mokka 1.4T 4x4

Very good tyre in dry and wet road. Very good holding. After the 35000 km, the tyres was more slippery. I changed the tyres at 38000km.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-18-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Easy Going miles

Kia Motors Venga 1.4 petrol.

Excellent wearing qualities, anticipating 27000 miles from front and 35000 from rear, but harsh and noisy on poor surfaces.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-R
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Audi A3 Sport

Very good tire with long life.
In all conditions wet, dry and cornering you'r safe with them.
At bit noisy so I 'll not buy again, prefering to find a quieter tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.