Continental Premium Contact 2

The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Premium Contact 2
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
77%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
62%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
61%

Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews

69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW E36 320i

Mounted as fronts on E36 which is driven as track / daily car, no ABS or ASC, car is set with -3,5 camber up front. Contis lasted around 9000km, half of which was track style driving, drifting. Tyres tread depth from new 7mm went down to about 2,5-3mm. Tyre is rated 280AAA, fairly soft and grippy, tho its not semi slick. Gave good overall balance to car, as rears usually were not so grippy :) On dry a lot of feedback, you can really throw car around with confidence. A lot of information what is going on with front wheels grip. No understeering with proper pressure, usually lower from typical 2,2 to 2,0-1,9bar. When cold, around 4-7deg C, lack of temperature is showing, you need few laps to get heat into tyre, as understeering is obvious. Wet grip was very good for the first 4000km, turn in felt really secure. On the limit very progressive, easy to control. Car would follow easily where I intended to turn, mostly sideways. After 4000km on entry of the corner or braking: understeering, sudden slip or locking one of front wheels occured, that meant these tyres are done. I can't comment on noise, tracking tyre with no abs means flat spots. Overall good tyre, giving a lot of information to driver, just keep in mind wet grip deteriorates FAST.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW E36 320i

Das Auto ist als Front am E36 montiert, der als Ketten- / Tagesauto ohne ABS oder ASC gefahren wird. Es ist vorne mit -3,5 Sturz eingestellt. Contis dauerte ungefähr 9000 km, von denen die Hälfte im Fahren und Driften auf der Rennstrecke lag. Die Profiltiefe der Reifen von neuen 7 mm ging auf etwa 2,5 bis 3 mm zurück. Der Reifen hat eine Bewertung von 280AAA, ist ziemlich weich und griffig, obwohl er nicht halb glatt ist. Hat dem Auto insgesamt eine gute Balance verliehen, da die Rückseiten normalerweise nicht so griffig waren :) Bei trockenem Feedback kann man das Auto wirklich mit Zuversicht herumwerfen. Viele Informationen darüber, was mit dem Griff der Vorderräder los ist. Kein Untersteuern bei richtigem Druck, normalerweise niedriger von typisch 2,2 bis 2,0-1,9 bar. Wenn es kalt ist, bei etwa 4 bis 7 Grad Celsius, zeigt sich ein Temperaturmangel. Sie benötigen einige Runden, um Wärme in den Reifen zu bringen, da ein Untersteuern offensichtlich ist. Der nasse Grip war auf den ersten 4000 km sehr gut, das Einlenken fühlte sich sehr sicher an. Am Limit sehr progressiv, leicht zu kontrollieren. Das Auto würde leicht dahin folgen, wo ich abbiegen wollte, meistens seitwärts. Nach 4000 km beim Einfahren in die Kurve oder beim Bremsen: Untersteuern, plötzliches Durchrutschen oder Blockieren eines der Vorderräder, das heißt, diese Reifen sind fertig. Ich kann mich nicht zu Geräuschen äußern. Reifen ohne Bauchmuskeln zu verfolgen bedeutet flache Stellen. Insgesamt ein guter Reifen, der dem Fahrer viele Informationen gibt. Denken Sie jedoch daran, dass sich der nasse Grip SCHNELL verschlechtert.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW E36 320i

Montée en façade sur la E36 qui est conduite comme voiture de piste / quotidienne, sans ABS ni ASC, la voiture est réglée avec un carrossage de -3,5 à l'avant. Contis a duré environ 9000 km, dont la moitié était de la conduite sur piste, à la dérive. La profondeur de la bande de roulement des pneus à partir de 7 mm neufs est tombée à environ 2,5-3 mm. Le pneu est classé 280AAA, assez doux et adhérent, bien qu'il ne soit pas semi-lisse. A donné un bon équilibre général à la voiture, car les arrières n'étaient généralement pas si adhérentes :) Sur le sec beaucoup de commentaires, vous pouvez vraiment lancer la voiture avec confiance. Beaucoup d'informations sur ce qui se passe avec l'adhérence des roues avant. Pas de sous-virage avec une pression appropriée, généralement inférieure de 2,2 à 2,0-1,9 bar. Lorsqu'il fait froid, autour de 4-7 ° C, le manque de température apparaît, vous avez besoin de quelques tours pour faire chauffer le pneu, car le sous-virage est évident. L'adhérence sur sol mouillé était très bonne pour les premiers 4000 km, les virages se sentaient vraiment sûrs. A la limite très progressif, facile à contrôler. La voiture suivrait facilement où j'avais l'intention de tourner, principalement sur le côté. Après 4000 km à l'entrée du virage ou au freinage: sous-virage, glissement soudain ou blocage d'une des roues avant se sont produits, cela signifiait que ces pneus étaient terminés. Je ne peux pas faire de commentaire sur le bruit, suivre un pneu sans abdos signifie des endroits plats. Dans l'ensemble, un bon pneu, donnant beaucoup d'informations au conducteur, gardez simplement à l'esprit que l'adhérence sur sol mouillé se détériore RAPIDEMENT.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 19,374 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

I live in western Greece and I bought my Fiesta brand new with these tyres on. I also had them for 3 years an a VW Passat some years ago. I had the same exactly experience both times. The tyre has extremely good grip on Dry for the first almost 1,5 year of using. Then it looses way too fast its grip to a point that after 2 years of using it I had to be extremely careful either on dry or wet. On Wet its grip is average, never trusted it. Imagine at 2,5 years on wet road with my 1000cc Fiesta, spins tyres on 2nd gear just with throttle while cruising, on any wet road. And I changed them at 2,5 years with 19.374 miles (31.180km) on it. Now I'm wearing Toyo Proxes CF2 (you can read my review there), although my best tyre so far is Michelin Pilot Sport. So, additionally you get very good feedback from the tyres, they handle well at normal temperatures but not at high ones. When this tyre gets hot, it loses grip. As for the Wearing... they wear extremely fast. On this mileage they were almost slick.Countryside, city and national road driving. And they lose wear both the fronts and the backs (fronts for sure faster cause of FWD). They are comfortable they don't make noise, It's ok with that. Their real issue is that they wear fast. 2 times tested, 2 different cars, same experience. Never gonna buy them again for sure, really don't want them on my cars. Unless every 1 - 1,5 years or aprox. 11.000miles (18.000km) you change them with brand new ones!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 19,374 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

Ich lebe in Westgriechenland und habe meinen brandneuen Fiesta mit diesen Reifen gekauft. Ich hatte sie vor einigen Jahren auch 3 Jahre lang als VW Passat. Ich hatte beide Male genau die gleiche Erfahrung. Der Reifen hat Dry in den ersten fast 1,5 Jahren extrem guten Grip. Dann verliert es viel zu schnell seinen Griff bis zu einem Punkt, an dem ich nach 2 Jahren Gebrauch entweder trocken oder nass äußerst vorsichtig sein musste. Auf Wet ist sein Griff durchschnittlich, hat ihm nie vertraut. Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie drehen mit meinem 1000ccm Fiesta 2,5 Jahre auf nasser Straße und drehen Reifen im 2. Gang nur mit Gas während der Fahrt auf jeder nassen Straße. Und ich habe sie nach 2,5 Jahren mit 31.180 km geändert. Jetzt trage ich Toyo Proxes CF2 (Sie können meine Bewertung dort lesen), obwohl mein bisher bester Reifen Michelin Pilot Sport ist. Außerdem erhalten Sie sehr gute Rückmeldungen von den Reifen, die bei normalen Temperaturen gut funktionieren, bei hohen jedoch nicht. Wenn dieser Reifen heiß wird, verliert er den Grip. Was das Tragen betrifft ... tragen sie sich extrem schnell. Auf dieser Strecke waren sie fast glatt. Land-, Stadt- und Nationalstraßenfahren. Und sie verlieren sowohl die Vorder- als auch die Rückseite abgenutzt (die Vorderteile sind sicher schneller für FWD). Sie fühlen sich wohl, sie machen keinen Lärm. Damit ist es in Ordnung. Ihr eigentliches Problem ist, dass sie schnell tragen. 2 mal getestet, 2 verschiedene Autos, gleiche Erfahrung. Ich werde sie sicher nie wieder kaufen, ich will sie wirklich nicht in meinen Autos haben. Es sei denn, alle 1 - 1,5 Jahre oder ca. 18.000 km (11.000 Meilen) können Sie durch brandneue ersetzen!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 19,374 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

Je vis dans l'ouest de la Grèce et j'ai acheté ma Fiesta neuve avec ces pneus. Je les ai également eues pendant 3 ans une VW Passat il y a quelques années. J'ai eu exactement la même expérience les deux fois. Le pneu a une très bonne adhérence sur Dry pour la première presque 1,5 année d'utilisation. Ensuite, il perd trop rapidement son adhérence à un point tel qu'après 2 ans d'utilisation, je devais être extrêmement prudent sur sol sec ou mouillé. Sur Wet son grip est moyen, je ne lui ai jamais fait confiance. Imaginez à 2,5 ans sur route mouillée avec ma Fiesta de 1000 cm3, faire tourner les pneus en 2ème vitesse juste avec l'accélérateur en croisière, sur n'importe quelle route mouillée. Et je les ai changés à 2,5 ans avec 19,374 miles (31,180 km) dessus. Maintenant, je porte Toyo Proxes CF2 (vous pouvez lire mon avis ici), bien que mon meilleur pneu à ce jour soit Michelin Pilot Sport. Ainsi, en plus, vous obtenez un très bon retour des pneus, ils se comportent bien à des températures normales mais pas à des températures élevées. Lorsque ce pneu chauffe, il perd de l'adhérence. Quant au port ... ils s'usent extrêmement vite. Sur ce kilométrage, ils étaient presque lisses. Conduite à la campagne, en ville et sur route nationale. Et ils perdent leur usure à la fois sur le devant et sur le dos (les fronts sont certainement une cause plus rapide de FWD). Ils sont à l'aise, ils ne font pas de bruit, ça va avec ça. Leur vrai problème est qu'ils portent vite. 2 fois testé, 2 voitures différentes, même expérience. Je ne les achèterai plus jamais, je ne les veux vraiment pas sur mes voitures. À moins que tous les 1 à 1,5 ans ou environ. 11.000miles (18.000km) vous les changez avec de nouveaux!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 43,882 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM

Fitted for 8 seasons / 70622km / 43882mi, still 3 mm profile left on our Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM MY2013. I am completely astonished from those tyres' performance! Maybe it is because of the small car and its tiny weight - during the last 8 seasons i found our citycar very reliable and confident on every wet or dry road we drove. This is the best summer tire I've driven so far. I will speak out only superlatives for Continental Premium Contact 2. Now I am really unsure which one should I pick for the next couple of years: Michelin Primacy 4 185/50R16 81H or Continental Premium Contact 2 185/50R16 81T. Higher price, higher speed index, newer model, newer technology versus the old but well known, reliable and confident Conti model...?

Tyre size reviewed: 185-50-16-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 43,882 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM

Ausgestattet für 8 Jahreszeiten / 70622 km / 43882 Meilen, noch 3 mm Profil auf unserem Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS / 95NM MY2013. Ich bin völlig erstaunt über die Leistung dieser Reifen! Vielleicht liegt es am kleinen Auto und seinem winzigen Gewicht - in den letzten 8 Saisons fand ich unser Stadtauto auf jeder nassen oder trockenen Straße, die wir fuhren, sehr zuverlässig und sicher. Dies ist der beste Sommerreifen, den ich bisher gefahren bin. Ich werde nur Superlative für Continental Premium Contact 2 aussprechen. Jetzt bin ich mir wirklich nicht sicher, welchen ich für die nächsten Jahre auswählen soll: Michelin Primacy 4 185 / 50R16 81H oder Continental Premium Contact 2 185 / 50R16 81T. Höherer Preis, höherer Geschwindigkeitsindex, neueres Modell, neuere Technologie im Vergleich zum alten, aber bekannten, zuverlässigen und selbstbewussten Conti-Modell ...?

Tyre size reviewed: 185-50-16-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 43,882 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS/95NM

Équipé pour 8 saisons / 70622km / 43882mi, encore profil de 3 mm laissé sur notre Volkswagen Up! White Up! 75PS / 95NM MY2013. Je suis complètement étonné de la performance de ces pneus! C'est peut-être à cause de la petite voiture et de son poids minime - au cours des 8 dernières saisons, j'ai trouvé notre voiture de ville très fiable et confiante sur chaque route mouillée ou sèche que nous avons conduite. C'est le meilleur pneu d'été que j'ai conduit jusqu'à présent. Je ne parlerai que des superlatifs pour Continental Premium Contact 2. Maintenant, je ne sais vraiment pas lequel choisir pour les deux prochaines années: Michelin Primacy 4 185 / 50R16 81H ou Continental Premium Contact 2 185 / 50R16 81T. Prix plus élevé, indice de vitesse plus élevé, modèle plus récent, technologie plus récente par rapport à l'ancien modèle Conti, mais bien connu, fiable et confiant ...?

Tyre size reviewed: 185-50-16-T
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW E36 320i

Mounted as fronts on E36 which is driven as track / daily car, no ABS or ASC, car is set with -3,5 camber up front. Contis lasted around 9000km, half of which was track style driving, drifting. Tyres tread depth from new 7mm went down to about 2,5-3mm. Tyre is rated 280AAA, fairly soft and grippy, tho its not semi slick. Gave good overall balance to car, as rears usually were not so grippy :) On dry a lot of feedback, you can really throw car around with confidence. A lot of information what is going on with front wheels grip. No understeering with proper pressure, usually lower from typical 2,2 to 2,0-1,9bar. When cold, around 4-7deg C, lack of temperature is showing, you need few laps to get heat into tyre, as understeering is obvious. Wet grip was very good for the first 4000km, turn in felt really secure. On the limit very progressive, easy to control. Car would follow easily where I intended to turn, mostly sideways. After 4000km on entry of the corner or braking: understeering, sudden slip or locking one of front wheels occured, that meant these tyres are done. I can't comment on noise, tracking tyre with no abs means flat spots. Overall good tyre, giving a lot of information to driver, just keep in mind wet grip deteriorates FAST.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.