Continental Premium Contact 2

The Continental Premium Contact 2 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Premium Contact 2
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
77%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
62%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
62%

Continental Premium Contact 2 Reviews

84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Suzuki Swift

I bought this used Suzuki Swift 1.3 DDIS which fitted mid life Continental Premium Contact 2 with BMW OE markings * in the 3 grooves pattern (the 4 grooves pattern is for sizes starting from 205). The tyres always felt very secure and grippy, braking feels secure thanks to the front tyres grip. Driving in the city you can go round roundabouts at high speeds feeling always secure. Rain is never an issue even now with the remaining tread approaching the legal limit. Living near hills with nice twisty roads I took the chance to drive in a sporty way and the tyres never disappointed, quite the opposite, entering bends at high speeds the front feels very planted and the feedback from the road is always excellent, communication between steering wheel and road is always sincere, the tyres never fail to tell you what they are going to do and they let you know well in advance when they are approaching their limit. These tyres also allow for good mileage and fuel saving. The other side of the coin is a higher wear rate compared to Michelins energy savers I have on a similar car. Soon I will replace them with all seasons approaching winter and I would honestly buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-15-H
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi Galant

This is my 2nd buy of this model and this tyre proved as very good, i'm driving on 01' Mitsubishi Galant 2.0 ea2a 4g63 since 2007 until now (2020) and swap set of conti contact 2 two times and this is my experience: Very very good quality, i live in country with lot of sun and tyres hold 5 years and still have good performence. Good dry and wet road grip, with distorted road is OK but not the best as Kleber or Goodyear tyres, if you driving in smooth road this is the best tyre, highway also is great ride but quite noise, even in lower speed (50-60 kmh). Wear is great and even after 5 years still have lot slots. after 2 swapping and total 9 years with this model i like to change for more comfort tyres, still in my country not all roads is perfect and i need more softness ride. If in my country there was no 6 years limit law for tyres, i was keep using my correct Conticontact 2. Thank you Continental for making very good tyres and i real like it and definitely recommend it.

Tyre size reviewed: 190-60-15-H
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Connect LWB Van

OE on new 2018 Ford Transit Connect SWB Van. Overall seem OK. Poor grip if mud or leaves on the road, otherwise OK. Braking satisfactory both wet and dry. Live in Lake District, England, so wet a lot of the time but little snow.
Main issue is with wear. New vehicle which has done 9,000 miles of careful driving and the front tyres have 3mm tread left, the wear is even. Rear wear is satisfactory. Van has been lightly loaded and tyre pressures as per Ford spec and checked weekly. Fastest wearing tyres I've ever had, so I won't be buying again. I'm looking to replace with Michelin CrossClimate+

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Opel Corsa C

Very good tyre!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 6R 1.6

Had these on my mk5 vw polo. By far one of the best tyres in the premium class.
Grip in the dry is very good and confidence inspiring. Still excellent in the wet. Will aquaplane a little in extremely wet conditions. Does well to maintain traction when taking off from standstill. Wear is also reasonably good. I like how quiet they are as well.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-16-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 200 Spirited miles

Audi A1

A comfortable and dynamic tire with reasonably low road noise, good compliance and good feedback. The tire grips well in wet and dry conditions and seems to offer an improvement in braking over the previous Dunlop Sport Max that were on the car.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-16-V
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 13,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Bmax

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

there is a little noisy in high speed

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

+ Good grip / feed back / strong side wall

- Ware / Noise / Fuel usage / price

Long term review Continental Premium Contact 2 (CPC2).

These were equipped as the stock tyre, from the factory. The first set, had 4 grooves (84v) and I didn't rotate them. The replacements sets (front only), are the XL (88v) version, these only had 3 grooves, in the stock size.

The first, 4 grooves sets lasted longer (wear wise):

15,000 miles (July 2013 - Aug 2015) on the front.

35000 miles (July 2013 - March 2018)

The replacement fronts sets, 3 grooves (CPC2 - 88V), didn't fare as well (ware wise).

Replaced at 15,000 miles (Aug 2015- Aug 2016) and 25,000 miles (Aug 2016 - March 2018)

Cornering at speed and feedback on limits of traction, is good adding confidence, to driving. Grip in the dry and wet is good, until they drop below 2.5 mm. They sometimes lose traction (not often) and don't hold the road as well. The 3 grooves, version are more prone to traction loss vs the 4 grooves. Once the temp drops (4c or below) and the tyres have worn to 3mm or lower, they feel very stiff/rigid. Until they get some heat in them.

The side wall of the rear right tyre must have been curbed (badly) as a piece came off, but the still stayed strong.

They are nosey and the rolling stat is F, using more fuel, which over time will add up.

2 tyres cost:

2015 £168 / 2016 £168 / 2018 £184


I didn't want to replace with the same again. As this tyre has been replace by Continental Premium Contact 5 and now 6. Which isn't available in my size, (what up with that Continental). Last time I checked, the ford fiesta is the UK best selling car. I've notice several version, of the newer 2018 (fiesta) no longer use Continental, but the Primacy 3


After reading the reviews and feedback. I short listed Michelin Primacy 3 and Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance.

I've just replace all 4, Continental with Goodyear, which did cost more.

So I'm hoping for better ware, grip, noise and mpg (time will tell).

This time around I will be rotating.


Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio 172

These replaced a pair of Toyo T1-R tyres on my Clio Sport. They exceeded my expectations by quite a bit and they are far better than the Toyo's in every way other than ride comfort. I especially like the feedback they give when driving and I am also impressed by the wet weather grip and progressiveness at the limit. I drive my car very hard and this tyre delivers.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.