Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
54%
Comfort
72%
Buy Again
51%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV Reviews (2)

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Opel insignia

The tyres are factory fitted on Open Insignia B Country Tourer. The car is set up mainly for comfort a much less for sporty driving. The tyres correspond with the setting nicely. Even though CSC5 is sporty tyre according to the name they are quiet and refined. The grip in dry is good and in the wet very good. The tyres are progresive at the limit in wet but the steering in Insignia does not give much information to the driver.
The only other tyre I can compare to at the same car is winter Matador MP92 in the same size. The comfort and noise level is very similar. To my surprise even the steering feel is somewhat similar. Maybe that is given mostly by the high sidewall profile of the tyres for Country Tourer version of Insignia or the SUV version of CSC5 aims for more comfort.
Many people complain about the wear rate. In my case the front wheels lost 1 mm of tread depth and rear wheels 0.5 mm of tread depth in 10,000 kms. In my opinion that is very reasonable wear for tyres with such a good wet grip.
Overall I am very satisfied with CSC5 SUV. The grip in both dry and wet is very good and they are comfortable and quiet. The only disadvantage is price. For the future Falken FK510 or Fulda SportControl 2 might be a good and cheaper replacement.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-W
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Edge

I bought a Ford Edge automatic in December 2017 and the Continental tyres are worn out after 12,500 miles. The rear tyres are worn to 2 mm and the front ones are illegal.

In 2013 I had a Volvo XC90 whose Continental tyres needed replacing after about 13,000 so I am beginning to think Continentals are not a good choice for large SUVs.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-19-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Opel insignia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel

I purchased a Ford Edge 2.0 Titanium 210bhp with these fitted. Having covered just over 5000 miles the rears are at 3.2mm(max) and the fronts are at 5.2mm max. At this rate I’ll have to replace all before 10,000 miles - absolutely disgusting. Will not buy Continental tyres to replace them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,200 Average miles

Hyundai Tucson

These are original equipment on the Hyundai Tucson Premium SE 2.0CRDI. These are the original tyres.
At about 9200 miles on the clock, we have the following minimum 3/4 centre band tread, accurately measured:

2.8 4
5.5 5

Even if we ignore the anomaly on the F/N/S, the wear is pretty poor - 5-5.5mm on the rear for a front wheel drive car.

I'll be trying another make on the front.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,300 Average miles

Mercedes Benz GLA 200d sport

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 32,000 Average miles

BMW 320

Contisport Contact 5 SSR runflats fitted from new to a BMW 320 GT X-drive. 32000 miles and still legal. Excellent peformance just a little bit harder ride and noise but that is probably the runflats (first time I've had runflats). Can't understand the comments on poor wear as 32000 is double the mileage I've managed on any tyre on any car I've had in the past.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-18-W
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Hyundai Tucson

Good tyre in all aspects, but they just lasted 20000km

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 17,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz Mercedes GLS500 (X166)

Mounted on a 2.5 tonne SUV with 500+ bhp although not used for aggressive driving - more offensive. I took off the Michelin Latitudes that came originally with the car after 1000 km as they were disastrous (or at least not meeting my expectations from a UHP SUV tyre). The tyres I typically use on my SUV were not available in 275/50/20 nor 265/55/19 (I typically don't go for 295/45/21 etc especially on SUVs and heavy vehicles). Overall extremely pleased with it to the extend that after 1 season (ca 20'000 km I had 5mm of tread left) I bought a new set. The wear is not a surprise given the grip the car has through the tyres nor the fact it is a powerful and heavy SUV. Expecting much more would be a sacrifice for other parameters or difficult to achieve. I don't agree with the user mentioning their noiseniness. On contrary I find them very quiet although this is not an issue for me. The key parameter is Aquaplanning and breaking in wet and dry and in this respect the tyres scores high. The only reservation I would have is lateral aquaplaning and lateral acceleration on the wet (I tended to get occasional oversteer however when driving at the limit and with a powerful engine). Altogether I prefer oversteer to understeer. Recommendable although I would prefer the QuattroMaxx is available in this size. A pity with the quasi cartel collusion of tyre producers with OEMs is that nowadays you tend to get 1 maybe 2 tires that fit your car making the choice rather of lesser evil than a studied decision - not to mention additional pain adding brand homologations.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
10%
Breakdown Score
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Tiguan Sport 2.0 TDI 140hp

Came as OEM tyres for VW Tiguan SUV. With less than 5000 km, punctured driving on bitumen by a bark chip on the edge of the tread - not even the sidewall. The rubber is very soft, presumably for high performance, but virtually no resistance to puncture, which in my view makes then unsuitable for an SUV.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.