Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
54%
Comfort
72%
Buy Again
51%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 SUV Reviews

76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 19,200 Average miles

Opel Insignia B

This is just a mid-life update. At 31,000 km the tread si worn to 5 mm (= 1 mm per 10,000 km). So, they might get to 55,000-60,000 km until worn down to 2 mm. My driving is mostly city with occasional longer motorway trips. The tyres feel a bit noisier but otherwise still great in all aspects. Nowadays I would probably buy some newer tyre since SportContact 5 is slightly old but otherwise I would recommend them anytime.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Easy Going miles

Hyundai Tucson

Very good in the dry, good in the wet , a smooth ride , but have to say only 14000 miles on a set on the front hardly seems value to me, also I believe these only come with 7 mm tread on them compared to 8 mm on most other brands. I still have the same original tyres on the rear of car and now the second set on the front are due to be replaced...I would love to know what tyres others have found that work better or last longer,

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

My 66 plate Tiguan came with these tyres. The front tyres were swapped out at 27,000 miles (with Avon ZX7's). I put the Contisports on the back axle and they are still there at c.3mm and just over 50,000 miles! I am now looking at whether to replace the front ZX7's (which will have done c.23,000 miles) with Contisports again, though I think the extra mileage from them doesn't justify the extra £30 a tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 28 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp

Great tyre - handles really well. Very little road noise. Good comfortable ride. Very good breaking - have had to pull up sharply a couple of times and the tyre has really responded. For an expensive tyre though, I am a little disappointed with the total kilometers (just 45,000km). I have regularly rotated the tyres, kept them balanced and front end aligned. I don't think they have had any tough driving conditions, and so the only reason I probably won't buy them again, is I'd like a tyre with better mileage.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 116,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

We bought a brand new VW Tiguan (pre-registered late 2017) which came fitted with these Continental ContiSport v tyres. Within less than 3 years of very conservative and careful driving (my wife and I are both retired NHS staff), we noticed significant wear on the front two tyres. The car had clocked up just 11,600 miles from new. Our local garage confirmed significant wear, one of the tyres verging on being dangerous. We had both tyres replaced immediately. On contacting Continental to comment, they wanted me to return to the garage, fill-in a form and have the Garage do so too. They then wanted me to ask the garage to keep the tyres for their collection. There offer was to report back once they'd had chance to actually see the two failed tyres themselves. Continental clearly wouldn't take my word, our Garage's word or want to contact our VW Dealership. We'd always previously considered Continental to be a decent brand - but never, never again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Lexus RX270

Amazing tyres. put them on my Lexus RX and well out do the original bridgestones the car came with when I bought it brand new. Can hardly hear any road noise unless driving on rough or unsealed concrete road and even then very quiet. Very comfortable.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai Santa Fe

Fitted the tyres to our Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander when the original Hankook tyres needed replacing. This will be the third time I have fitted Continentals when available and they don't disappoint. Steering, braking, feel and comfort are all superior to the others I have owned, and I couldn't see myself buying any other brand regardless of price.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto

I am very pleased with these tyres. They have lasted for 3 summers, and have had everything thrown at them, long distance motorway trips, towing trailers and caravans, country roads and the commute. The only fault came from a nail that punctured a tyre, but even that managed to hold together with the sealant to get us and the caravan 400 miles to our home. That tyre was immediately replaced with another Conti, despite there being a cheaper option on the shelf at the fitters. I've never had any issues with grip, handling, noise or economy with these tyres, and an estimated 30k miles shows that they can last, despite being fitted to a fairly heavy car. They are now at 3mm, so not suitable for another summer of use, but a new set is going on once the winter tyres come off.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Bought a Brand New Nissan Qashqai 2018 had these tyres on them. At 15000km Service Tyres on front needed to be swapped for the rear ones as tread was worn off , I had done 15500 km at this time & will need New Tyres well before 20000 km. Very disappointed & won't be buying these or any Continental Tyres ever again.
Dealership has gone back to Nissan NZ and this is what Tim Greene has come back with:
"The Conti sport model fitted to the Qashqai is a ver high-performance focused tyre.

Unfortunately, increasing grip levels and friction coefficients will also result in an increase in tyre wear rate.
This is the case throughout the automotive tyre industry and is more prevalent with the larger rims and lower profile tyres fitted to the higher specification models.

It is possible to fit "lower performance" tyres to achieve a longer wearing life, as long as the client is made aware that moving away from the manufacturers specifications is likely to reduce the vehicles over-all grip level and have a negative effect on handling and braking characteristics."

So feel pretty dis-appointed that its looking like I will get 20,000 km at the most out of these tyres.
You need to advertise that these lower profile tyres get an increase in tyre wear & that you only get this amount of km out of them. That's if what I received from the Dealership is accurate?.
Please advise me, looking forward to your reply.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-R
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Average miles

Hyundai Tucson

No complaints about how this tyre grips in all weather conditions, and noise levels are low, but, and it's a big but, in nearly 40 years of driving I have never had a tyre wear out in less than 10,000 miles. Every other tyre I have got over 20,000 miles of use. Always inflated to correct pressures, tracking spot on, and always driven with care. I will never buy this, not cheap, tyre again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.