Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
68%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
68%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
73%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
53%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (4)

40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

These tyres were fitted to the new car I purchased in February 2018. I had bought the same model of car 2 years earlier, but as these were factory-fitted with Ecocontact 3 tyres, I replaced them at 4.5k with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons generation 2 tyres - and never regretted the additional expense. NOT being a fan of the Continental Ecocontact tyres, I proceeded to fork out the extra money to replace the factory-fitted tyres on my latest car, this time at just 1.6k miles - this time having Nokian Weatherproof tyres fitted. Expensive to be sure, and "possibly" not "absolutely" essential, but in our Country where heavy rain is to be a fact of life, having all-season tyres (rather than merely summer tyres) is a factor about which I feel quite strongly, and am prepared to pay quite heavily for the peace-of-mind.. The Nokians are (I feel) just as reassuring: quiet & comfortable as the Goodyears - no cheaper, I admit, but you pays your money & you takes your choice - AND there's no pockets in shrouds. Peace of mind comes at a price!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-H
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 13,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota AYGO

Good on dry, mediocre on wet. Fitted to my wife's Toyota Aygo (2015 model) they were starting to show cracks on the sides after just 3 years and 21.000 km. This size of tyres under this very light car is made for city trips and low mileage, so should you be able to expect the Continentals to last far more than they've done. Granted, the tread is somewhere around 4.5mm now, so that's not bad, but that means nothing when cracks all around are showing very heavily after just 3 years of Dutch (or UK) weather and I have to replace them. Thinking about replacing them with ADAC's 2018 test winner, the Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun (with wear the only against it seems) or Toyota's own choice, the Yokohama BluEarth ES32.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-15-H
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Renault Clio IV TCe 90

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Average miles

Suzuki Swift 1.5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Easy Going miles

Renault Megane

These came fitted to my new car. After 5 months and little over 6.000 Km they have proven to be a great disapointment. Dry grip is OK, but wet grip is very, very bad. Every small poodle of water make then start aquaplaning. One time, when entering an underground car park with the tires wet, at less than 30kph the back lost grip and I almost spun arround.
Even when new, they are very noisy.
I will definetly never again buy these tires. Horrible!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG

Only managed to get 15k miles out of from set on 2016 2.0 TDI DSG Passat se mixture of town motorway and rural driving. When these tyres got down to 3.5mm they started to get noisy also wet grip went off really quickly. Would not expect this from a primium branded tyre.
Will not buy again, especially at the price

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG

Only managed to get 15k miles out of from set on 2016 2.0 TDI DSG Passat se mixture of town motorway and rural driving. When these tyres got down to 3.5mm they started to get noisy also wet grip went off really quickly. Would not expect this from a primium branded tyre.
Will not buy again, especially at the price

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

I gave this tyre high score because as it's design to a modern era cars (like 2010ish +/-) on my Corolla from 1999 this tyre was feeling like a high performance tyre. Before this Conti I had Falken ze912 and the Conti was a massive upgrade on every aspect.
I'm doing a lot of driving, the tyre maybe not very quite but not on a problem level, had a very good fuel consumption (around 16 km on average for Liter or like about 55-60 miles per gallon), very good dry and wet grip.
Highly recommended tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Qashqai

These tyres came with my new 2016 Qashqai Diesel which would have a heavy front end. The tyres performed perfectly in wet and dry and never once felt them slipping. Braking performance was very good in all conditions. They were driven hard at times on country roads and always felt secure. They are now down to the min treadwear at about 30k km (20k miles) and need replacing. The grip and efficiency is still great at the min thread. I rotated the tyres at about 15k so all 4 tyres have worn evenly so-as i cas replace 4 at a time. As they are a softer compound for better grip they didn't last as long as I'd like. At €140 a corner to replace I wouldn't buy again only because of the high price, as I have had plenty of other tyres as good as these but a lot cheaper..
You won't go wrong with tyres if you want to pay the money...

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-H
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.