Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
68%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
75%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
54%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (4)

53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Spirited miles

SEAT Mii

Diese waren passend zu meinem SEAT Mii wenn neu. Sie halten sich im Trockenen recht gut und sorgen für eine gute Kurvenlage. ABER sie haben die Angewohnheit, das Auto wieder in eine gerade Linie zu drehen, als wären sie zu wenig aufgeblasen (sie sind es nicht) und geben nur sehr wenig Feedback von der Straße ab offensichtlich, wann oder ob sie rutschen werden. Sie scheinen ziemlich weich zu sein, so dass sie sehr bequem sind, aber ihr Hauptnachteil ist NOISE. Sie würden schwören, dass das Auto mit festem Gummi ausgestattet war, da Sie selbst bei niedrigen Geschwindigkeiten die Gummiblöcke auf der Fahrbahn hören können. Ich hatte Sportcontact 5 in der Vergangenheit und musste diese ändern (für Avon VZ7s), nur um das Radio hören zu können! Wie einer der anderen Kritiker gesagt hat, vermute ich, dass Marken-Snobber das ist, was diese Reifen verkauft. VW scheint ein Teil von Continental zu sein, vielleicht haben deshalb so viele VW-Konzernautos sie eingebaut.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Spirited miles

SEAT Mii

Ceux-ci sont venus équiper ma SEAT Mii quand ils étaient neufs. Ils adhèrent plutôt bien au sec et donnent des virages assurés MAIS ils ont l'habitude de repasser la voiture en ligne droite, comme s'ils sont sous-gonflés (ils ne le sont pas) et ils donnent très peu de retour de la route - ce n'est pas évident quand ou si ils vont glisser. Ils ont l'air assez doux donc ils sont assez confortables mais leur inconvénient majeur est le bruit. Vous jureriez que la voiture était équipée de caoutchouc solide car, même à basse vitesse, vous pouvez entendre les blocs de caoutchouc effleurer la surface de la route. J'ai eu Sportcontact 5 dans le passé et j'ai dû les changer (pour les Avon VZ7) juste pour pouvoir entendre la radio! Comme l'un des autres examinateurs a dit que je soupçonne le snobisme de la marque est ce qui vend ces pneus. VW semble partager sa propre Continental alors peut-être c'est pourquoi tant de voitures du groupe VW les ont équipés.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

These tyres were fitted to the new car I purchased in February 2018. I had bought the same model of car 2 years earlier, but as these were factory-fitted with Ecocontact 3 tyres, I replaced them at 4.5k with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons generation 2 tyres - and never regretted the additional expense. NOT being a fan of the Continental Ecocontact tyres, I proceeded to fork out the extra money to replace the factory-fitted tyres on my latest car, this time at just 1.6k miles - this time having Nokian Weatherproof tyres fitted. Expensive to be sure, and "possibly" not "absolutely" essential, but in our Country where heavy rain is to be a fact of life, having all-season tyres (rather than merely summer tyres) is a factor about which I feel quite strongly, and am prepared to pay quite heavily for the peace-of-mind.. The Nokians are (I feel) just as reassuring: quiet & comfortable as the Goodyears - no cheaper, I admit, but you pays your money & you takes your choice - AND there's no pockets in shrouds. Peace of mind comes at a price!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-H
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 13,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota AYGO

Good on dry, mediocre on wet. Fitted to my wife's Toyota Aygo (2015 model) they were starting to show cracks on the sides after just 3 years and 21.000 km. This size of tyres under this very light car is made for city trips and low mileage, so should you be able to expect the Continentals to last far more than they've done. Granted, the tread is somewhere around 4.5mm now, so that's not bad, but that means nothing when cracks all around are showing very heavily after just 3 years of Dutch (or UK) weather and I have to replace them. Thinking about replacing them with ADAC's 2018 test winner, the Falken Sincera SN832 Ecorun (with wear the only against it seems) or Toyota's own choice, the Yokohama BluEarth ES32.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-15-H
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Renault Clio IV TCe 90

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Average miles

Suzuki Swift 1.5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Easy Going miles

Renault Megane

These came fitted to my new car. After 5 months and little over 6.000 Km they have proven to be a great disapointment. Dry grip is OK, but wet grip is very, very bad. Every small poodle of water make then start aquaplaning. One time, when entering an underground car park with the tires wet, at less than 30kph the back lost grip and I almost spun arround.
Even when new, they are very noisy.
I will definetly never again buy these tires. Horrible!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG

Only managed to get 15k miles out of from set on 2016 2.0 TDI DSG Passat se mixture of town motorway and rural driving. When these tyres got down to 3.5mm they started to get noisy also wet grip went off really quickly. Would not expect this from a primium branded tyre.
Will not buy again, especially at the price

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG

Only managed to get 15k miles out of from set on 2016 2.0 TDI DSG Passat se mixture of town motorway and rural driving. When these tyres got down to 3.5mm they started to get noisy also wet grip went off really quickly. Would not expect this from a primium branded tyre.
Will not buy again, especially at the price

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

I gave this tyre high score because as it's design to a modern era cars (like 2010ish +/-) on my Corolla from 1999 this tyre was feeling like a high performance tyre. Before this Conti I had Falken ze912 and the Conti was a massive upgrade on every aspect.
I'm doing a lot of driving, the tyre maybe not very quite but not on a problem level, had a very good fuel consumption (around 16 km on average for Liter or like about 55-60 miles per gallon), very good dry and wet grip.
Highly recommended tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.