Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
68%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
68%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
73%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
53%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (3)

63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 29 Easy Going miles

Smart Forfour

Very average tyres, grips ok both in dry and wet, atrocious in snow or low temperature. However is quite hardwearing (30,000 miles) at the expense of comfort and noise. There are better and cheaper tyres, so will not recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-H
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Renault 12

20000 were bald. We’re noisy and expensive to replace .

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.6 vti

About average in dry, but very bad, even dangerous in wet especially in lower temperatures.
Good on wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Renault Grand Scenic

I have these on a Renault Grand Scenic 150PS, quite heavy car and they feel great. I don't have any grip issues in any weather with my driving style. To be fair on an MPV you don't really push them to the limit. Wear is good, driven 10k miles hardly visible on them. I would definitely buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Suzuki Vitara 2015>

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 600 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Average miles

Suzuki Vitara MKI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40 Spirited miles

Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti

These were the originals of the car when I bought it new. They did 63.000km of 90% motorway and 10% city driving before coming down to 3,3mm when I decided to replace them, because they couldn't drain (heavy) rainwater so easily anymore.

I agree with what people say here about these tires, except wet grip and wear. They never seem to have any problem whatsoever with wet conditions. The grip was always there, whether I faced a light drizzle or heavy rainfall or slippery roads, you name it.

Dry grip was very good, never faced a problem there. On feedback, comfort and handling, I think that they perform on par with their league, no surprises there. They do what they are supposed to do.

I left wear for the end because I just don't understand people who want their tires to outlive Highlander. Surely, I wouldn't be happy with my tires if I had to replace them every 15-20.000km, but this is not the case here according to my experience. And afterall, better grip affects longevity. How each of us defines better or worse wear is a matter of semantics.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

These tyres were fitted as standard to my new 2018 vehicle. I retained them for but a couple of months (& 1,500 miles) before replacing with Nokian Weatherproof All Season tyres. Something of an extravagance I accept, but I also had these tyres ( although the Ecocontact 3's at that time) factory-fitted to my previous car - the same model, albeit the 2015 version. Those lasted but 4.5k miles (& but a few more months) before I lashed out & replaced those with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Generation 2 tyres - another possible extravagance. However the Mark 3 Continentals had only just replaced the Mark 1, & within around 1 year the Mark 3 had been replaced by the Mark 5. The Mark 5 has now been replaced by the Mark 6 (in what? just a few months), so with such a constant replacement/improvement, I personally have little faith in them. The Goodyear 4 Seasons I found to be absolutely first class, and I rate the Nokian Weatherproofs' equally highly, & never regretted the expense involved in changing them, & whilst probably unnecessary, to me, it was money well worth spending - one needs to have confidence in their tyres, as there's but 4 chunks of palm-sized rubber that keeps the vehicle on the road, & one out of their "box".
You pays your money & you makes your choice - but there's no pockets in Shrouds.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Spirited miles

SEAT Mii

These came fitted to my SEAT Mii when new. They grip rather well in the dry and give assured cornering BUT they have a habit of flicking the car back to a straight line, as though they are underinflated (they are not) and they give very little feedback from the road - it isn't obvious when or whether they will slip. They seem quite soft so they are quite comfortable but their major drawback is NOISE. You would swear that the car was fitted with solid rubber as, even at low speeds, you can hear the rubber blocks flicking on the road surface. I have had Sportcontact 5 in the past and had to change those (for Avon VZ7s) just to be able to hear the radio! As one of the other reviewers has said I suspect brand snobbery is what sells these tyres. VW appear to part own Continental so perhaps that is why so many VW group cars have them fitted.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.