Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
68%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
75%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
54%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (3)

64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Suzuki Vitara 2015>

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 600 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Average miles

Suzuki Vitara MKI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40 Spirited miles

Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti

These were the originals of the car when I bought it new. They did 63.000km of 90% motorway and 10% city driving before coming down to 3,3mm when I decided to replace them, because they couldn't drain (heavy) rainwater so easily anymore.

I agree with what people say here about these tires, except wet grip and wear. They never seem to have any problem whatsoever with wet conditions. The grip was always there, whether I faced a light drizzle or heavy rainfall or slippery roads, you name it.

Dry grip was very good, never faced a problem there. On feedback, comfort and handling, I think that they perform on par with their league, no surprises there. They do what they are supposed to do.

I left wear for the end because I just don't understand people who want their tires to outlive Highlander. Surely, I wouldn't be happy with my tires if I had to replace them every 15-20.000km, but this is not the case here according to my experience. And afterall, better grip affects longevity. How each of us defines better or worse wear is a matter of semantics.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40 Spirited miles

Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti

Ce sont les originaux de la voiture quand je l'ai acheté neuf. Ils ont effectué 63 000 km d’autoroutes à 90% et 10% de conduite en ville avant de passer à 3,3 mm lorsque j’ai décidé de les remplacer, car ils ne pouvaient plus drainer aussi facilement les eaux de pluie.

Je suis d'accord avec ce que les gens disent ici à propos de ces pneus, sauf l'adhérence sur sol mouillé et l'usure. Ils ne semblent jamais avoir de problème avec les conditions humides. L’adhérence était toujours là, que je fasse face à une bruine légère ou à de fortes pluies ou à des routes glissantes.

L'adhérence à sec était très bonne, jamais confronté à un problème. En ce qui concerne le feedback, le confort et la maniabilité, je pense qu'ils se comportent au même niveau que leur ligue, sans surprise. Ils font ce qu'ils sont censés faire.

Je suis parti à la fin parce que je ne comprends tout simplement pas les gens qui veulent que leurs pneus survivent à Highlander. Sûrement, je ne serais pas content de mes pneus si je devais les remplacer tous les 15-20 000 km, mais ce n’est pas le cas ici selon mon expérience. Et après tout, une meilleure prise en main affecte la longévité. Comment chacun de nous définit l’usure meilleure ou pire est une question de sémantique.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40 Spirited miles

Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti

Das waren die Originale des Autos, als ich es neu kaufte. Sie haben 63.000 km von 90% Autobahn und 10% Stadt gefahren, bevor sie auf 3,3 mm gesunken sind, als ich beschlossen habe, sie zu ersetzen, weil sie (schweres) Regenwasser nicht mehr so ​​leicht ablassen konnten.

Ich stimme dem zu, was die Leute hier über diese Reifen sagen, außer nassem Griff und Verschleiß. Sie scheinen nie irgendwelche Probleme mit nassen Bedingungen zu haben. Der Griff war immer da, egal ob es sich um leichten Nieselregen oder heftigen Regen oder rutschige Straßen handelte.

Trockener Griff war sehr gut, hatte dort nie ein Problem. Auf Feedback, Komfort und Handling denke ich, dass sie auf Augenhöhe mit ihrer Liga spielen, keine Überraschungen. Sie tun, was sie tun sollen.

Ich habe die Kleidung für das Ende gelassen, weil ich einfach keine Menschen verstehe, die wollen, dass ihre Reifen Highlander überleben. Mit meinen Reifen wäre ich sicher nicht zufrieden, wenn ich sie alle 15-20.000 km ersetzen müsste, aber das ist meiner Erfahrung nach hier nicht der Fall. Und schließlich beeinflusst ein besserer Griff die Langlebigkeit. Wie jeder von uns einen besseren oder schlechteren Verschleiß definiert, ist eine Frage der Semantik.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

These tyres were fitted as standard to my new 2018 vehicle. I retained them for but a couple of months (& 1,500 miles) before replacing with Nokian Weatherproof All Season tyres. Something of an extravagance I accept, but I also had these tyres ( although the Ecocontact 3's at that time) factory-fitted to my previous car - the same model, albeit the 2015 version. Those lasted but 4.5k miles (& but a few more months) before I lashed out & replaced those with Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Generation 2 tyres - another possible extravagance. However the Mark 3 Continentals had only just replaced the Mark 1, & within around 1 year the Mark 3 had been replaced by the Mark 5. The Mark 5 has now been replaced by the Mark 6 (in what? just a few months), so with such a constant replacement/improvement, I personally have little faith in them. The Goodyear 4 Seasons I found to be absolutely first class, and I rate the Nokian Weatherproofs' equally highly, & never regretted the expense involved in changing them, & whilst probably unnecessary, to me, it was money well worth spending - one needs to have confidence in their tyres, as there's but 4 chunks of palm-sized rubber that keeps the vehicle on the road, & one out of their "box".
You pays your money & you makes your choice - but there's no pockets in Shrouds.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

Diese Reifen wurden serienmäßig in mein neues Fahrzeug 2018 eingebaut. Ich behielt sie für ein paar Monate (und 1.500 Meilen), bevor ich sie mit Nokian Weatherproof All Season Reifen ersetzte. Etwas von einer Extravaganz, die ich akzeptiere, aber ich hatte auch diese Reifen (obwohl die Ecocontact 3's zu dieser Zeit) zu meinem vorherigen Auto - dasselbe Modell, wenn auch die Version 2015 - werkseitig angepasst. Diese dauerte aber 4.5k Meilen (und noch ein paar Monate) bevor ich peitschte und diese mit Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Generation 2 Reifen ersetzte - eine weitere mögliche Extravaganz. Allerdings hatten die Mark 3 Continentals gerade die Mark 1 ersetzt, und innerhalb von etwa 1 Jahr wurde die Mark 3 durch die Mark 5 ersetzt. Die Mark 5 wurde nun durch die Mark 6 ersetzt (in was? Nur ein paar Monate), Mit so einem ständigen Ersatz / Verbesserung habe ich persönlich wenig Vertrauen in sie. Das Goodyear 4 Seasons fand ich absolut erstklassig, und ich bewerte die Nokian Weatherproofs 'gleichermaßen hoch, und ich bedauerte nie die Kosten, die damit verbunden sind, sie zu ändern, und obwohl es wahrscheinlich unnötig war, war es Geld, das es wert war auszugeben habe Vertrauen in ihre Reifen, denn es gibt nur 4 Stücke handflächengroßen Gummi, der das Fahrzeug auf der Straße hält, und eins aus ihrer "Box".
Sie zahlen Ihr Geld und Sie treffen Ihre Wahl - aber es gibt keine Taschen in Shrouds.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2 Easy Going miles

Skoda Citygo

Ces pneus ont été montés de série sur mon nouveau véhicule 2018. Je les ai conservés pendant quelques mois (et 1 500 miles) avant de les remplacer par des pneus Nokian Weatherproof All Season. Quelque chose d'extravagant que j'accepte, mais j'avais aussi ces pneus (bien que l'Ecocontact 3 à l'époque) montés en usine sur ma voiture précédente - le même modèle, bien que la version 2015. Ceux-ci n'ont duré que 4,5 km (et quelques mois de plus) avant que j'aie attaqué et remplacé ceux avec des pneus Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons Generation 2 - une autre extravagance possible. Cependant les Mark 3 Continentals venaient juste de remplacer le Mark 1, et en l'espace d'une année environ le Mark 3 avait été remplacé par le Mark 5. Le Mark 5 a maintenant été remplacé par le Mark 6 (en quelques mois seulement), Donc, avec un tel remplacement / amélioration constante, je n'ai personnellement aucune confiance en eux. Les 4 saisons de Goodyear que j'ai trouvées pour être absolument première classe, et j'ai noté les Nokian Weatherproofs également fortement, et jamais regretté la dépense impliquée en les changeant, et bien probablement probablement inutile, pour moi l'argent a bien valu la dépense - on doit Ayez confiance en leurs pneus, car il n'y a que 4 morceaux de caoutchouc de la taille d'une paume qui gardent le véhicule sur la route, et un hors de leur «boîte».
Vous payez votre argent et vous faites votre choix - mais il n'y a pas de poches dans Shrouds.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Spirited miles

SEAT Mii

These came fitted to my SEAT Mii when new. They grip rather well in the dry and give assured cornering BUT they have a habit of flicking the car back to a straight line, as though they are underinflated (they are not) and they give very little feedback from the road - it isn't obvious when or whether they will slip. They seem quite soft so they are quite comfortable but their major drawback is NOISE. You would swear that the car was fitted with solid rubber as, even at low speeds, you can hear the rubber blocks flicking on the road surface. I have had Sportcontact 5 in the past and had to change those (for Avon VZ7s) just to be able to hear the radio! As one of the other reviewers has said I suspect brand snobbery is what sells these tyres. VW appear to part own Continental so perhaps that is why so many VW group cars have them fitted.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.