Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
68%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
75%
Comfort
67%
Buy Again
54%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews (2)

47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Renault Clio IV TCe 90

Fitted from new on a Scandinavian spec Renault Clio 0.9Tce Sport Tourer (estate).
Have now covered just over 4000mi / 6000km.

To summarise; these tyres have been good for fuel economy and reasonably grippy, but the steering and handling characteristics are not confidence inspiring or enjoyable, in my opinion. Can also be noisy on some surfaces.

These tyres might be ok if you want something for low speed city / town use, or if economy is your only major concern.

For me personally, I like a car to handle in a positive and responsive way. These tyres don't strike the balance I'm looking for, so they will soon be changed out for something more responsive.

Positive:
- Grip quite well in the dry
- Grip quite well in the wet too (no unexpected ABS / sliding / wheelspin to date)
- Low rolling resistance, hence good fuel economy.
- Seem to wear reasonably well (so far)

Negative:
- Slow / soggy steering response, seemingly due to soft sidewalls.
- Lack of steering feel or feedback. Numb around the dead-ahead.
- Car slops / wobbles around laterally on these tyres following a sudden steering input (e.g. if swerving to avoiding a pothole or something in the road). Seems to take a while for these tyres to settle following such a manoeuvre.
- Unexpectedly noisy on some road surfaces, though reasonably quiet on others.
- Not the most comfortable, despite apparent soft sidewalls. Can feel harsh / jittery over road imperfections such as drain covers and bridge expansion joints.
- Went out of balance within the first 3000km (2000mi).

Other Notes
Increasing the tyre pressures (above recommended for the Clio, but well within specification for tyre) helped to improve the steering response and feel, but the basic characteristics described above are still present.

Driving another Clio 0,9tce on a different brand of tyres (a dealer courtesy car) made me realise how lively the steering and handling on my car can / should be.


Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 17,250 Average miles

Hyundai I10

Grip is significantly decreased on wet, especially after a light rain.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Average miles

Nissan Juke

I have bought Nisaan Juke in June 2018. Brand new car and brand new tyres. 14 000 miles later both front tyres are bold with metal bits sticking out. I am driving on A3 most of the time and locally near Guilford. Will avoid these tyres as much as possible. Will not recommend to anyone.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-R
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 14,500 Average miles

Vauxhall Corsa

Good tyres, long lasting, and have great fuel savings. The only problem with them is that the sidewalls are mad thin to reduce weight, and with all the potholes in the UK it can lead to gouges forming on the sidewall.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-16-H
65%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps

Having come fitted on our new Clio 4 we were not disappointed. We live in Crete, Greece so 95% of our driving is on dry roads. Having said that the roads here are VERY winding and great fun to push the car around. The tyres make you feel confident and have great grip on tight country road corners. I have never felt at risk from these tyres at all. Our national road ( motorway) is also very winding but the tyres feel well able to handle fast driving on good tarmac. As for the wet, I cannot comment as you always drive carefully after a dry spell when it first rains. I love these tyres for our type of driving but cannot comment on wet conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus

Returned to these tyres after fitting budget option. The car is a pleasure to drive again.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-V
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 29 Easy Going miles

Smart Forfour

Very average tyres, grips ok both in dry and wet, atrocious in snow or low temperature. However is quite hardwearing (30,000 miles) at the expense of comfort and noise. There are better and cheaper tyres, so will not recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-H
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Renault 12

20000 were bald. We’re noisy and expensive to replace .

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-V
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Peugeot 208 1.6 vti

About average in dry, but very bad, even dangerous in wet especially in lower temperatures.
Good on wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Renault Grand Scenic

I have these on a Renault Grand Scenic 150PS, quite heavy car and they feel great. I don't have any grip issues in any weather with my driving style. To be fair on an MPV you don't really push them to the limit. Wear is good, driven 10k miles hardly visible on them. I would definitely buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.