Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
67%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
67%
Road Feedback
67%
Progressiveness
66%
Wear
74%
Comfort
66%
Buy Again
53%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 300 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

The continental tyres came with my new 2019 Golf 7.5 110TSI Wagon and appeared to be OK until I drove on typical course bitumen that we often find on Australian roads, even on freeways. On some surfaces there was so much loud, intense, low frequency sound that it was almost unbearable and my passenger blocked her ears! On different, smoother sections of the freeway, there was negligible road noise and otherwise the Golf is very quiet. On the same, familiar road our 2003 Mercedes ML350 with Michelin tyres is consistently quiet, and even my 16 year old Magna with 300,000km on the clock with Michelin tyres, was much quieter on the course bitumen.
These tyres are completely unsuitable be the Australian market. I'll be approaching my VW dealer and VW Australia to find some resolution as I can not live with the severity of the noise on roads that I am typically driving on.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

Opel astra j 1.6 turbo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 38,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Viva (2015 19)

Good in mild dry and mild wet, good mpg.
Based on the scoring options they appear 'on paper' to be decent tyres.
But - and there's a big but -

They're lethal on muddy, icy, snowy or cold roads - the most dangerous and unpredictable tyre I've ever experienced in autumn/winter weather which is why I'd never buy them again, nor any other eco-labelled tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25 Spirited miles

Suzuki Vitara 2015>

Lasted quite well after 3 years and 25k miles. good fuel consumption ( as much as I can compare with similar cars, no way to say precisely until after I change the tyres). ok in dry, wheel spin on occasion, especially uphill (light car?). more wheel spin in the wet when accelerating in 2nd, not great on breaking in the wet. Just had them understeer fairly dangerously in a roundabout. the back is coming out in bends on dry and wet, not too hard to control usually but it can surprise you. terrible in snow, got stuck in a parking lot, seems to be able to reverse out but unable to drive forwards in snow! About to replace them, hope for something with better grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 33,554 Easy Going miles

Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet

Those are the original tyres on my car. I have driven them for 54000 km, so in my opinion they are very durable . Their grip is good on dry and wet surface (my driving style is moderate). I haven't experienced any problems so far. I feel confident on any road. Maybe the only problem is that they are a little bit noisy.
I want to replace them because the tread depth is reaching its limit and I want to do so before the winter . If it wasn't for their high price I would have purchased them again. I definitely recommend these kind of tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 22,000 Average miles

Opel astra j 1.6 turbo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Renault Clio IV TCe 90

Fitted from new on a Scandinavian spec Renault Clio 0.9Tce Sport Tourer (estate).
Have now covered just over 4000mi / 6000km.

To summarise; these tyres have been good for fuel economy and reasonably grippy, but the steering and handling characteristics are not confidence inspiring or enjoyable, in my opinion. Can also be noisy on some surfaces.

These tyres might be ok if you want something for low speed city / town use, or if economy is your only major concern.

For me personally, I like a car to handle in a positive and responsive way. These tyres don't strike the balance I'm looking for, so they will soon be changed out for something more responsive.

Positive:
- Grip quite well in the dry
- Grip quite well in the wet too (no unexpected ABS / sliding / wheelspin to date)
- Low rolling resistance, hence good fuel economy.
- Seem to wear reasonably well (so far)

Negative:
- Slow / soggy steering response, seemingly due to soft sidewalls.
- Lack of steering feel or feedback. Numb around the dead-ahead.
- Car slops / wobbles around laterally on these tyres following a sudden steering input (e.g. if swerving to avoiding a pothole or something in the road). Seems to take a while for these tyres to settle following such a manoeuvre.
- Unexpectedly noisy on some road surfaces, though reasonably quiet on others.
- Not the most comfortable, despite apparent soft sidewalls. Can feel harsh / jittery over road imperfections such as drain covers and bridge expansion joints.
- Went out of balance within the first 3000km (2000mi).

Other Notes
Increasing the tyre pressures (above recommended for the Clio, but well within specification for tyre) helped to improve the steering response and feel, but the basic characteristics described above are still present.

Driving another Clio 0,9tce on a different brand of tyres (a dealer courtesy car) made me realise how lively the steering and handling on my car can / should be.


Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 17,250 Average miles

Hyundai I10

Grip is significantly decreased on wet, especially after a light rain.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Average miles

Nissan Juke

I have bought Nisaan Juke in June 2018. Brand new car and brand new tyres. 14 000 miles later both front tyres are bold with metal bits sticking out. I am driving on A3 most of the time and locally near Guilford. Will avoid these tyres as much as possible. Will not recommend to anyone.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-R
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 14,500 Average miles

Vauxhall Corsa

Good tyres, long lasting, and have great fuel savings. The only problem with them is that the sidewalls are mad thin to reduce weight, and with all the potholes in the UK it can lead to gouges forming on the sidewall.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.