Continental Eco Contact 5

The Continental Eco Contact 5 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Eco Contact 5
68%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
68%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
74%
Comfort
68%
Buy Again
55%

Continental Eco Contact 5 Reviews

64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 9,000 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

Good Stable & Predictable handling, Good dry braking & dry handling, Good wet braking & handling, Great fuel economy, Neutral feedback, high road noise. Good tyre for fuel efficiency and sensible, non-spirited driving

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 33,000 Average miles

Rover 214 Si

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class Estate

Have had many sets of tyres, I have to get the XL load rating or they wear out fast. good handling and no issues, just poor wear value Disappointed with these new Eco5 as the back tyres have done 13000 miles and are shot.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Spirited miles

Dacia Lodgy

I drove on Continental ContiEcoContact 5 tyres on a very twisty racing circuit in my stock car (a stock Dacia with 115hp), ya there weren't much horsepower but I can tell you, on dry tarmac these tyres had very good grip ! Not to mention they were 8 years old when I did it !

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 40,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 66,000 Average miles

Suzuki Swift 1.5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 300 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

The continental tyres came with my new 2019 Golf 7.5 110TSI Wagon and appeared to be OK until I drove on typical course bitumen that we often find on Australian roads, even on freeways. On some surfaces there was so much loud, intense, low frequency sound that it was almost unbearable and my passenger blocked her ears! On different, smoother sections of the freeway, there was negligible road noise and otherwise the Golf is very quiet. On the same, familiar road our 2003 Mercedes ML350 with Michelin tyres is consistently quiet, and even my 16 year old Magna with 300,000km on the clock with Michelin tyres, was much quieter on the course bitumen.
These tyres are completely unsuitable be the Australian market. I'll be approaching my VW dealer and VW Australia to find some resolution as I can not live with the severity of the noise on roads that I am typically driving on.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

Opel astra j 1.6 turbo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 38,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Viva (2015 19)

Good in mild dry and mild wet, good mpg.
Based on the scoring options they appear 'on paper' to be decent tyres.
But - and there's a big but -

They're lethal on muddy, icy, snowy or cold roads - the most dangerous and unpredictable tyre I've ever experienced in autumn/winter weather which is why I'd never buy them again, nor any other eco-labelled tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25 Spirited miles

Suzuki Vitara 2015>

Lasted quite well after 3 years and 25k miles. good fuel consumption ( as much as I can compare with similar cars, no way to say precisely until after I change the tyres). ok in dry, wheel spin on occasion, especially uphill (light car?). more wheel spin in the wet when accelerating in 2nd, not great on breaking in the wet. Just had them understeer fairly dangerously in a roundabout. the back is coming out in bends on dry and wet, not too hard to control usually but it can surprise you. terrible in snow, got stuck in a parking lot, seems to be able to reverse out but unable to drive forwards in snow! About to replace them, hope for something with better grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.