Nokian WR A3

The Nokian WR A3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR A3
74%[average]
Dry Grip
92%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
90%
Comfort
91%
Buy Again
85%

Nokian WR A3 Reviews (3)

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 4,000 Spirited miles

Ford S Max

I bought these Nokians after reading the reviews on this website and I have not been disappointed. For the last four years I have fitted Kumho 27 winter tyres which also have an asymetric tread pattern, but the Nokians are abfar better all rounder.

So far I have travelled around 3000 miles on this set of tyres. They are fitted to a Ford S Max 140 bhp Tdci on steel wheels. The original summer tyres are Michelin Pilot.

What I wanted in a winter tyre is one that does not compromise on dry grip, quiet running or handling. If anything these Nokians are just as good if not better than the Michelins.

This is a very quiet running tyre that offers superior comfort on fast road driving, absorbing tarmac strips and minor imperfections without troubling the suspension. Turn in is sharp and directional stability is excellent. Wet grip is awesome with the tyres very resistant to breaking away even under hard acceleration. Likewise cornering grip in the wet is first rate. As for dry braking and cornering, although I am an enthusiastic driver, I have come nowhere close to the limits of these tyres.

I recently drove through the Alps and back. The only weather we did not encounter was snow, so I cannot as yet report on the Nokians performance in those conditions. However on ice, slush or just wet and greasy roads, the tyres kept the car secure and gave you great confidence.

Regarding snow, I did not buy these tyres to be out and out snow performers. If you live up a mountain pass, then no doubt the Michelin Alpin or similar may be better. But for the winter weather conditions we are likely to experience in the UK or northern Europe, these tyres tick all the boxes at a great price. Also I would suggest they are good enough to leave on all year round.

As for tyre wear, the S Max has a reputation for eating front tyres. So far the front tyres have barely any less tread than the rears and being an asymetric tread pattern, they should wear better than the usual chunky cut snow tyre tread.

So in conclusion, buy this tyre with confidence. Remember, the Finns know a thing or two about driving on snow and winter tyre technology.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Ibiza FR 1.4 TSI

Great tyres , would recommend to anyone looking for a new set of winter tyres. Dry grip is very good and i was suprised at how good the wet grip is. With 3000 miles on them i am seeing very little wear. The only downside is road feedback which could be better.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Ford MONDEO

They are rubbish. In wet conditions provide very poor grip after only two winters of using(aprox.10000 km). I have allready changed them.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Mazda mazda 6, CD129 2.2

Bought in October 2013 to prepare for the UK "winter". Got from Tyreleader all the way from Germany at cost of 460GBP for four and paid 55GBP for changeover (kept my alloys on the car).
Noticeable grip in wet conditions and hitting puddles athe side of the road goes largley unnoticed. Now April 2014 and considering leaving them on as the fuel rating improvement over my summer tyres has improved cosnumption by around 3MPG. UK had no real snow since fitting but even at -10 with ice on the road these tyres felt sure-footed. Now the temperature is around 10 to 15degrees I am conscious that the Fronts are now starting to wear on the edges. Do I change or do I leave on???? Dry braking in warmer temperature may be reduced compared to summer tyres.
The rim protector rib is an added bonus.
Overall, I have done 6000 miles since fitment and have definitely been happy with the purchase. The runner-up was Vredestein Wintrac extreme but the fuel rating was much lower than the Nokian.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar S type 3.0

Just changed off for my summer tyres. Great all round tyre , very responsive in the wet + wear seems v minimal after 5mnths daily usage .I found the tyre quite noisy in comparison to the Pzero Rossos's they replaced but leaps and bounds ahead in wet grip .

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Touran 1.2 TSI

After having driven Michelin Alpin, Uniroyal MS66 and Vredestein Snowtrack before, these Nokian WRA3 are my preference by far. Reliable in every situation. Low noise levels, maybe not in measured dB, but the gentleness of the sound give a more comfortable ride than most other tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Average miles

Volvo V70 D5 185 Geartronic

I bought these tyres for a recent trip to Switzerland. Having only ever borrowed 4x4 cars before I was slightly sceptical about their ability to grip on ice and snow in a 2 wheel drive car. A long drive through a very wet France left me in doubt about the tyres wet weather capabilities - amazing grip and security. So on to the mountain stage, snow and icy car parks.....not a hint of slipping on snow - not once! But then the icy car parks....not a hint of slipping until I'd parked up and nearly fell over after getting out of the car. Fuel economy was better then my summer Pirelli tyres too. Brilliant amazing tyres for winter time. 100% recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr

Excellent tyre. I am havin it for the seocnd winter season now. Mostly, it was dry and this tyre works just perfect there. Fells just like my summer tyres in the dry, really. Extremely nice. They are a bit noisier but still ok. On the wet the tyres are not as well. They are good there, too, but ist is not their stregth. Unfortunately I had not much chance to test it in the snow, but whenever there was snow, I felt safe and comfortabel with this tyre.

All in all, a pretty good deal that I would always recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan Escape 2.0tdi

Fitted these to our VW Tiguan last November, now ran them for approximately 4000 miles. Slightly more road noise, but not significantly. Grip is good in wet and dry conditions. Also good on gravel tracks where we regularly drive to access work sites. Fuel consumption is poorer by about 4 mpg. No obvious wear apparent as yet. Nothing really wrong with them but sourcing them was not straightforward. We will probably go back to Vredsteins.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDI

I bought these tyres for my car having spent last winter on budget winter tyres and paying the price with catastrophic understeer as soon as the weather warmed up.

The reviews on this site convinced me that Nokian A3s were worth a go and so far, after 2000 miles in normal, non-wintery conditions, I have to say that I'm delighted with them.

I spend half my time doing short local trips but my work means I also spend a fair chunk of time on motorways. Locally, the car drives as normal and much to my surprise, it does the same up and down the A1. Road noise is minimal and the economy doesn't appear to have taken a hit either.

Having read Mike's incredibly comprehensive review on these tyres, I have decided to perform my own 12 month test with these tyres to see how they fair in all conditions. If they hold up as well as the summer tyres I've just replaced (I got 12,000 miles from the front 2), then I don't see any reason to buy summer tyres again.

My initial conclusions on these tyres is that for a winter tyre, I doubt you can get better, not just for the money, but full stop!

Highly recommended!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.