Nokian WR A3

The Nokian WR A3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR A3
74%[average]
Dry Grip
92%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
90%
Comfort
91%
Buy Again
85%

Nokian WR A3 Reviews (2)

36%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 9,300 Average miles

Ford Fiesta

Will surely not buy these tyres again. After I read a lot of reviews about the Nokian tyres, I bought them in November 2014. One year later, in December 2015, the front tyres are almost at the end of their life with only about 15.000 Km done.
Their biggest problem is that they completely suck on snow and wet in general. Their profile is also strange and a couple of people even asked me why I'm using summer tyres in the winter - they do not have the classic V shape profile.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-H
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,900 Average miles

Toyota Avensis estate 1.8 petrol

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium X Sport

Used these from November 2014 to April 2015. From memory only a very light dusting of snow on two days here in Somerset. Standard wheel/tyre size is 235/40/19.

These are the first cold weather tyres that I have used, and I did a bit of reading before deciding to buy them. Cost/performance wise, I think they are excellent.

These felt softer and more comfortable compared to the standard 19" Bridgestone 050 tyres on this car, and are noticeably quieter.
As they are softer, they are not as precise/responsive when cornering when compared to the Bridgestones, but that is to be expected due to the size/tyre difference. After getting used to this it corners fine and with plenty of grip in the dry and wet. I do tend to drive round roundabouts a bit quick, so they did understeer a little on a few occasions, but nothing that was not controllable. Generally feedback was good.

They also performed well on muddy forest tracks when I went on Wales Rally GB. I would say better traction than summer tyres and less wheelspin.

Rolling resistance is less with these compared to the summer 19's, I notice it anyway, and fuel consumption didn't drop considering all the electrics that are on in the winter months.

Can't really comment on its performance in snow, as we didn't really get any in my part of Somerset, though they seemed good on icey roads.

Tyre depths after 6 months, 6000 miles are as follows: n/s/f = 5mm, o/s/f = 5.5mm, both rears 7mm (n/s/r marginally lower). I'm more than happy with this as I normally go through a pair of front tyres in 12K-15K miles in my old car (ST24 with soft tyres).

I'll definitely buy these again when it comes round to it, but that will be 2 years away and tyres will have change by then, so would have to read up again. Certainly recommended for anyone looking now.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12 Spirited miles

Ford S Max

I have just swooped my Michelin Primacy HP's back onto my S Max 140 tdci after 21,000 kms of winter motoring with the Nokia's.

The front tyres are about half worn and the rears look like new. First impressions going back to the Michelins are that the French tyres are much noisier over course road surfaces and ride quality also inferior. To be honest I was reluctant to put the Michelins back on as I had been so pleased with the Nokias.

Although we did not experience much snow in northern Europe in the winter just past, the Nokias were supremely capable in the range of weather that did occur.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Forester sti

These were my third set of Nokian WR's and I was expecting great things on the new motor, but have ended up rather disappointed. The great thing about these tyres in the past was their great all round ability, very important in the UK where we rarely get an "all snow" winter. I noticed when fitting them that the rim protector bead previously present had gone, a query to Nokian resulted in the reply "it's to reduce rolling resistance". Seems that's not all that's changed, the carcass feels less rigid and road feedback has dropped to the point where it can be positively worrying in a performance car even when not driving hard. They're still great in the snow, but in mixed conditions I can't recommend them to a driver with any sporting pretensions.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 31,000 Average miles

Ford S Max

Excellent on dry, with good steering precision and shortest stopping.
Not the same on wet and snow, where the steering precision is Ok but not the traction and the stopping.
Average comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz CLK 220 CDI Sport

bought a set of 17s with alloys from nordic tyres very reasonabley priced they dont make the size for the rears so opted for the 17ins, first snow fell in january time to test them , drove through heavy snow no problem up and down hills all untreated no problem corners like a dry road braking very good now its mostly ice on side roads still no problems ,verdict great tyres inspires confidence when driving in snow and icy roads

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
45%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Handling 0
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volvo XC70 D5

I got these tyres on original Volvo wheels from Volvo dealer. I thought it would be a great winter tyre. I was deeply disappointed. Slipping on snow, unstable etc. I was afraid that DSTC system has broken at time. In the end I changed them for Dunlop 4D. Now again I feel like on safe, stable, reliable winter tyres. Never more Nokian WR ...

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Toyota Avensis

Bought the WR A3 with a little doubt, as I had in the past the W+, and they really sucked.
But to my surprise they are excellent, and I especially thank for the previous reviews of this tyre from this site which made the decision final for me.
I searched for a durable tire, to be able to use it on dry roads especially (let's face it: 98% of the time we drive on clear roads, as the governments usually take care of this aspect), that was conformable (as in quiet), and with good traction and capabilities.

I drove outside of the country for 2000km without any problems, the grip was very good comparing to other winter tires that I drove before; grip on wet and ice is good, and in snow is very controlable, making the car very nice to be driven by handbrake if you prefer (of course, on closed to public roads :) ). On a normal snowy roads it offers you this ability to play with it, as the loss of traction is very predictible, and very progresive.

It's not to noisy, although it has a little bit of sound, but nothing to be bothered of.

On top of everything, the treadwear is incredible! It's much better even than the summer GY Asymmetric 2. After 5000km i can still see the 8mm mark within the center of the treadwear; very smart and useful invention with the measurement, but seeing that they keep going without wearing much makes me more happy as I realise now that a tire price you see in fact at the end of their life, based on how much it costs per km, and how much you can cover using them.

The WR A3s are a very good investment, and I highly recommend them to anyone how uses their car mostly on normal roads, paved roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 27,000 Average miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

I've driven these tyres for over 42000 km, with this being their second season. Tread depth is currently 5 mm from the original 8 mm so not bad at all, especially considering that they've seen a fair bit of summer and motorway driving.

They have been driven across Europe multiple times, and seen much of the Alps during the winter, including wet weather, deep snow, and ice (not recommended for regular ice driving! Use studded tyres for that). I didn't think they would perform so well on account of their relatively large width, but so far they have proven themselves to be remarkably reliable, although having a four wheel drive car also helps, no doubt.

Only thing to keep in mind, if driving on the Autobahn, is that they are limited to 200 km/h, but that's hardly a problem I would think.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.