Nokian WR A3

The Nokian WR A3 is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR A3
74%[average]
Dry Grip
92%
Wet Grip
87%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
90%
Comfort
91%
Buy Again
85%

Nokian WR A3 Reviews

30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 2
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0 140 TDI Sport Estate

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 1
  • Nassgriff 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK3

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 5
  • Nassgriff 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK3

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-V
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Ford Focus

As every time when I'm about to buy something, I did some research which winter tyres to buy. I read everywhere that Nokian produces excellent winter tyres so this brand was one of the options and one day I saw a set of these tyres were on sale so I bought them. I really had high hopes for these tyres after reading great reviews, but if I want to summarize my experience with them so far, I would say: these are not winter tyres at all. The comfort is ok, they are very silent, but the grip is just awful. If the road is any but dry, they just don't grip. In the snow they are totally useless and I'm not exaggerating. If you stop in snow, you will most likely not be able to get going. This is really annoying, because my car has really low torque and I am really easy on gas, but it still rolls the wheels without any single sign of grip. I was driving in snow with my Falken Ziex summer tyres and they were so much more confident in snow than these Nokians. Ridiculous. I replaced my 10 year old Hankook Icebears to these Nokians and even those 10 year old tyres were so much better. I could even get going with the Hankooks in snow on a 8-10% slope, with these Nokians it's a miracle if I can move the car on flat surface from a stop. I decided to write this review when this weekend every single car could go up a snowy slope except me. Even a big transporter with worn out winter tyres, it was so annoying. With the Hankooks them being 9 years old, I could cross the High Tatras in snow!! With these I can't go up on a little slope. I even experienced my very first slide with them on a wet road, I was doing 70km/h and the rear of the car just started drifting and I almost ended up in the trench. I'm going to sell them the next day I'm changing to summer tyres. Very very disappointing, I would definitely not buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11 Average miles

Volkswagen Mk7 Golf GTD Estate

Bought these tyres in late 2011 after two bad winters and fitted them to a Audi A3 Quattro, followed by an A4 Avant then current Golf GTD Estate. After winter of 2015/16 I decided to leave them on all year as I only do c. 5K miles/annum and got fed up with the wheel changes 2 x per year. They have never encountered deep snow here in Central Scotland but have proven quiet, reassuring and economical as a year round tyre. Late April/Early May this year we did a round trip to Murcia in Spain (though Portsmouth - Santander by ferry) and did 2.5K miles in 19-days. Conditions ranged from torrential rain then 2C and snow in Cantabria mountains to 30C in Costa Calida. The tyres took all in their stride and on return to UK trip computer showed 54mpg average. I know these tyres are no longer made in Finland but would hope the Russian versions will be of similar quality. I will probably need to change them after the next winter due to their age, they will certainly not be worn out, as at service last month they were all 6mm+. If I was to select one particular quality it would be their wet road grip in either cold or warm conditions and resistance to aquaplaning. Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW 535d msport touring

BMW 5 RWD 3.0 diesel, driving high speed in winter Lithuanian coast conditions, usually not to much snow, but ice, wet roads and some snow ocassionaly. Highly recommend A3 for sharp and fast driving in variuos conditions, comfortable as well. I feel confident with these tyres even with rear wheel drive car.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

IN A COUNTRY LIKE GREECE I THINK THERE ARE VERY GOOD IN ANY CONDITION.I TESTED THEM IN SNOWY CONDITIONS IN THE MOUNTAINS AND IN A HARD TRIP FROM GREECE TO AUSTRIA AND BACK AT 140KM/H FOR 15 HOURS AND THEY HAVE NO PROBLEM IN EVERY GRIP... I WILL KEEP THEM FOR ONE MORE WINTER AND I WILL BUY THE SAME AGAIN OR SOMETHING SIMILAR.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Spirited miles

BMW 320 d

An outstanding tyre. My set are 4 years old, but have been shed stored from new and never used. These Nokians grip far better than the R17 Bridgestone RFT summer tyres (unsure of the exact model right now) which I have removed for the winter, at least over the 300 miles of Irish roads covered, with temperatures of 3 to 9 deg Celcius. Also, I cannot get over the increase in fuel economy. Gone from 44.5 mpg average up to 54. Incredible the difference a set of tyres can make. My drive has been transformed. Now I am just praying for snow (and for the Irish government to mandate all season/winter tyres for the cold months). Fat chance.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 37,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Tiuan R Line

I've run 4 of these on VW Tiguan auto 4motion. After 37k miles the fronts are about 1mm off the markers and the rears have about 4mm left. used all year round, winter in Scotland and summer all over the UK. Seem to have a lot of grip in the dry, and been pretty good in the wet. Mostly motorway and fast A road miles. Very impressed with these tyres, especially the wear, although the car seems quite kind on tyres. Good grip in snow and slush, but not much grip on 'polished' snow and sheet ice.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-V
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Lexus IS200

Bought these tires two years ago. The only weakness of this tire is driving on ice. It is hard to drive uphill with RWD car. But most studless winter tires have the same problem.

Was really impressed with comfort and quietness of these tires. They are superb to other tires I had (Bridgestone, Dunlop, Michelin...). There is absolutely no noise in the car. And what I really like as well that they grip very well on dry and wet roads. This is strange, because other tires I had that were very quite and comfortable did very poor in handling department. I feel very confident then driving with these Nokians.

Now planning on buying summer Nokian tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.