Nokian WR D3

The Nokian WR D3 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR D3
87%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
85%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
90%

Nokian WR D3 Reviews (3)

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 2.0T Sporkback

these tyres are amazing: wet and dry grip are exceptional; road noise is good, very good feedback and progressiveness for a winter tyre

Vastly superior than Michelin and other premium brands, I will only Nokian in the future

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Peugeot 307

The best winter tyres in the Europe.. Thanks Finland.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Spirited miles

Citroën C5 Tourer

After wearing out previous cheaper Marangoni tyres on the front of the car I bought these and fitted in October 2013 which then decided to get warmer for a while. They are quiet in use and very good in the dry both at cornering and harder braking- with no slop like I could feel with the Marangonis. In the wet they seem far superior to the summer Continentals, especially in the damp (indeed when I finally swapped back this April to the summer Conitnental tyres they felt very much on tip toe when cornering compared with the winter tyres and this was with a temperature well above the 7 degrees that summer tyres should be better than winter tyres. Also when accelerating briskly from a standstill the Nokians just worked whereas the summer Continentals are likely to spin the wheels. Certainly this better behaviour in the wet in winter makes it worth fitting them. As last winter was somewhat mellow compared with the previous ones I only used them in the snow a few times but they worked well. My only negative is that perhaps due to the relative high weight of my car is that wear is probably higher than I expected - though this could be using them for longer periods in hotter weather but they are around £15-30 cheaper than the bigger brands and other than perhaps Michelins according to tests most have a similar wear rate.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 50,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Primera

I have driven around 40,000 miles in two and a half winters on these tires .
The roads have been mainly rural semi rural and alpine mountain roads.The tires wet grip properties probably saved our family's lives when on a very wet Belgium motorway i had to brake and swerve to avoid a collision caused by some nutters overtaking ability (or lack of it) the car stayed completely in control. Traveling to work early one morning there was the inevitable crash in the first snows of the year just five cars ahead completely blocking the B road ahead . I performed an effortless u turn to take a different route, the car behind me attempted the same and became wedged across the road ! The new route took me up a fairly steep hill where there were people helping trying to help push cars up to get them along ,i selected a low gear and drove up and past them with complete ease with virtually no wheel spin ! When skiing i have driven from Mayrhofen to the hintertux glacier many times on packed snow / slushy snow etc again no problems ! I have driven from england to krakov and back in the height of the winter rain snow mud ice dry etc temperatures between 8 Celsius and minus 28- 30 degrees NO PROBLEMS .only once did the car slide about half metre on black ice in a car park traveling at 2mph uphill !! The Nokian tires have been totally awesome they do exactly as they say on the tin. Thanks so much nokian a truly great innovative super safe product..

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Peugeot 307

I'm impressed with my Nokians. Best winter tyres I ever had.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Peugeot 5008

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Opel Astra J 1.4 turbo

First I want to say that I was impressed with how the car goes on fresh snow or trodden You think you tracked tank underneath. These are the best winter tires that we had. Friends who went to the car on snow. I was asked what model of car tires all have fitted? There's a big difference between this model and the rest.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Opel Astra H CDTI

Incredible tire in snow, very good in wet and dry. Good confort. Nokian is best tyres for winter conditions !!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Panda

I fitted these at the start of October which might have been a bit early as they feel a bit greasy in the wet over 10 degrees C, but once the temperature had dropped a bit they really came into their own.

In the dry they are perfect, really confidence inspiring. In the wet, similar but perhaps slightly less grip if you push them. They're a lot quieter than my Continental summer tyres and comfort levels are similar, if not slightly better due to the softer compound.

Ice and snow don't seem bother these tyres, as long as you don't take too many liberties. Slush and shallow snow feel almost like normal driving if you keep to sensible speeds and I've even managed to get up a slight incline through 5 inches of snow just being careful.

All things considered, I would definitely recommend these tyres to anyone considering winter tyres and I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again.


Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Audi A3

Just put those on my Audi after 17inch summer tyre, and couldn't believe the difference compared to any previous winter tires. Superbly quiet and comfortable, and a few days ago snow made a chaos in the city - but not for me. I was parking out and in without any problem through the fresh snow, and driving with amazing amount of control, ASR only kicked in a few times. Still can't say anything about the wear, but just had to write a review after the first very positive impressions.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.