Nokian WR D3

The Nokian WR D3 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR D3
87%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
85%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
90%

Nokian WR D3 Reviews (2)

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Honda 1.6 I DTEC

the best snow tyre i ever had.
very good even on wet and dry road, not so far from the "main" of the brand (WRG2) but really much better on the snow:
great traction, brake power and steering control,
optimum feedback.
will buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Peugeot 308 1.6 e HDI

Initially purchased for winter 2013 as winter tires are an essential for driving in the north of Scotland. I drive approximately 150 miles a day on a combination of A roads (single and dual) B roads and some city driving. I'm very impressed with the wear on them, after around 30,000 miles they are now just below 2mm and in need to changing.
As a winter tires you would expect them to perform well in all low temperature situations, anything below around 10C these are brilliant. They give good grip in normal wet and dry conditions and perform great in snow and slush.
Where they fall down is when then temperature rises, above 10C they start to lose a little grip, in my car this meant occasional wheel spin and some under steer, if move beyond 20C (quite rare in Scotland I know) they pretty much turn to jelly and become quite a handful. I accept these conditions are not what they are designed to do so I'm not marking them down for that.

Overall great tyres, perfect for a range of conditions and ideal for most weather experienced in the UK and come it at a sensible price (

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Fiat croma

By far the best winter tires I ever had
I drove them more than 30000 miles and 10000 miles during summer. Wear is their biggest downfall but in all other things they are amazing.
Highly recommended!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 60 Average miles

Citroën C4

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Fiat 500L Living Lounge 1.6 jtdm 105hp

Excellent winter tyres on dry, wet and particularly on snow.
I've used them both on my old alfa romeo Giulietta and now on my Fiat 500L Living 1.6 jtdm 105hp.
I think I'll buy Nokian again

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,700 Average miles

Suzuki Swift 1.3l 2007

as a winter tire that wont cost you an arm or a leg and still can get you where you want .. this is a quiet soft comfortable tire , even when the temperature rises above 10c its still grips well , the wear is good to but i didnt drive them hard or pushed them to the limit .. for a suzuki swift 4x4 1.3L they put a smile on my face

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Ford Galaxy

The best winter tyres I have ever driven. Absolutely stable, predictable and safe even in the worst conditions. They replaced Brigestone Blizzaks and I would never switch back. Perfect on just about every surface I have encountered this winter. And after 7000 miles they have almost no wear to show.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Toyota AYGO

Bought 4x Nokian WRD3s from Tyre Leader in summer 2014 for approx’ £38 per tyre in 155/65/14. Had them fitted locally in Nov’ 2014 ready for winter time.

These winter tyres replaced some fairly new Continental Contact Premium 2 as fitted by the vehicle manufacturer.

I’ve had a reasonable amount of experience with Continental tyres in the last 10 years and overall I’m not entirely impressed with them. Sure, they get rave reviews from the magazines that test them at Continental’s own proving ground in Germany. But in my experience they wear far too quickly, cost more than they should and in the last 3mm or so of tread life they ride harshly and road noise increases significantly. My Toyota Aygo (a very light car) had covered just 7k miles and the front tyres were at 3mm – this was not through aggressive driving, far from it.

Anyway, I have driven on the WR D3’s for around 4k miles now and I have to say I’m very impressed with them. In direct comparison to the Continental tyres the following was noticed:

1) Nokian have a more direct turn-in when tackling corners

2) Nokian are quieter on dry roads. On wet roads the noise from the tyres seems a little louder as you can literally hear all the sipes gripping the road surface, especially driving over white lines. This is only of note and does not irritate in any way.

3) Nokian’s softer compound offers as slightly more absorbent ride; road imperfections are soaked up more easily.

4) The 8mm wear indicator has just started to disappear from the front tyre’s central band after 4,000 miles. So, 1mm wear after that mileage is very impressive, especially given how quickly the Continental tyres were wearing out.

Dry Roads: The WR D3’s grip very well and provide a linear turn-in when going around corners. You can throw the car into corners or around roundabouts with the same grip that a quality summer tyre would provide.

Wet Roads: I feel they provide more trustworthy grip than the Continental’s did. They cut through standing water at motorway speeds with no affect on the car’s position within its lane; aquaplaning is well suppressed.

Frost: On frost-covered road surfaces the WR D3’s grip very well indeed and inspire confidence.

Snow: Driving on fresh snow the Nokian’s have a fantastic amount of traction off the line. The same can be said when cornering and stopping. On hard-packed snow delicate use of the throttle is needed whilst performing hill starts. This also applies for stopping and cornering. The deepest snow I drove through was 6 inches and this was tackled with ease - this also includes performing hill-starts and stopping on a 1:5 gradient.

Ice: Again, you have to be very cautious when accelerating, braking or cornering. If you want or need absolute grip on ice you need to buy studded tyres.

Slush: Travelling on slush due to its unpredictability is the most dangerous of all the above conditions. Happily, I can report that driving at about 50mph on a slush-covered M60 during a blizzard in Jan’ 2015 the Nokian’s were completely surefooted. I overtook several 4x4s on a trip I had to undertake when time was critical. I can only image what they were thinking when the little Aygo blasted past their £50k+ off-roaders’ with their fat tyres which dragged them out of their motorway lanes from time to time.


Nokian – winter tyres you can trust:

From Nov’ 2014 to Jan’ 2015 my Dad was severely ill and I had to travel a 60-mile round trip most mornings and evenings to see him at his home and, latterly, every single day at a hospice to help look after him.

Throughout this time the weather was mostly cold and snowy, sometimes worse. On numerous occasions before setting off to see him I was chiselling ice / snow off the car and driving in sub-zero conditions early morning and at night.

On Jan’ 17th 2015 I had left the hospice to go home at 4pm having been with my Dad since 7:30am. My 2 year old son had been asking his Mum where his Dad was each day, so I’d decided to come home to bath him and put him to bed. At 6:30pm I received a phone call from my Mum to say that my Dad had died.

I remember leaving home that evening to head to the hospice, again de-icing / removing snow from the car before setting off and travelling on deep, snow-covered roads to get onto the M60. A severe blizzard was already underway and all lanes of the motorway were quickly covered in icy slush about 1 inch deep. I travelled about 20 miles at 40-50mph on the motorway in these conditions to meet other family members at the hospice and to see and say farewell to my Dad in his room.

Why am I telling you this?

I live in the hills on about 2 miles of unadopted roads that the council don’t plough or grit and have been stuck a lot over the years with company cars that had ‘summer’ tyres. 4x4 soft roaders get stuck up here regularly, too.

I know for a fact that without these Nokian winter tyres I would not have been able to visit my Dad as often as I did in the last 2 months of his life or been able to make that final journey to say ‘goodbye’ to him.

In my book, that makes these Nokian WR D3 tyres pretty damn special.

Mike

PS I have also reviewed Nokian WR A3 and Goodyear Vector 4 Seasons (both lengthy reviews)

Tyre size reviewed: 155-65-14-T
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 45,000 Average miles

Skoda Yeti

This is quite a noisy tyre, but it's grip on dry roads right through wet roads, slush, snow and ice is superb. It is quite hard, hence uncomfortable, but for the level of feedback and grip that is entirely excusable. Superb!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Easy Going miles

Skoda Fabia 1.2

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.