Nokian WR D3

The Nokian WR D3 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nokian WR D3
87%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
85%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
90%

Nokian WR D3 Reviews

80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Toledo

I was trying to find WR D4s back in 2016, but as I needed the tyres quickly, I bought the D3s.
I'm relatively happy with the tyres. Almost no wear for 3 winters. This is their fourth season and they grip very well. I had issues with breaking on wet surfaces in the beginning, but never had problems with aquaplaning. I also had issues with higher speeds. The car feels a bit uncomfortable over 160km/h or over 140 in corners(a bit wobbly).
Noise is also a bit higher then I would like.

So, If you are a calm driver, this one is definitely a good choice.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-T
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,150 Spirited miles

Nissan Primera

The best winter tyre I have ever had on the dry tarmac, but that's all. The worst winter tyre I have ever had on the wett and snow (I had Michelin Alpin A2, GY UltraGrip 7+, Semperit Speed-Grip 2 before). Slipping on wett, almost no traction on snow, aquaplaining on slushy roads and made in CCCP. I threw away of my car after a week in winter conditions and meanwhile I received Dunlop Winter Response 2, I have to switch to my summer tyres GT Radial Champiro HPX, which was better on a snow and slush than this overpraised Nokian. Michelin Semperit and Dunlop were the best on slushy roads, due to two the wide grooves around and wide lateral grooves. GY was also good on slush, but little bit behinde. GY and Dunlop were best on the snow, but Semperit wasn´t far to them.

Tyre size reviewed: 190-60-15-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Ford Kuga

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-H
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Average miles

Fiat Panda

I replaced my old BF Goodrich tyres with nokians and o boy what a difference, these tyres are simply awsome in almost every way, best thing i would say is the progresivity i cant stress enough about this, they have very predictable edge of traction on dry, wet, snow or even ice compared to other winter tyres i tryied, grip is great on any surface although when its little bit warmer outside you realy feel the soft compound but that is expected from winter tyres, only downside is feedback but that is partly because i have size with very high side walls, but all and all its very good tyre more focused on safety and snow performance than sporty feeling, and i will definitely buy theese again

Tyre size reviewed: 155-80-13-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra G 1.6

The best winter tyres I've ever driven. Perfect on snow, even on ice they have the needed grip to push you at the start. I have some concerns over the wet, but again perfect job, as we know - the winter tyres are not so good at only wet roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,600 Average miles

Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V

Rapport qualité prix quasi imbattable, je recommande.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

Extremely good on snow. Bad on warm days (10-15C) when braking. Very bad when braking on wet asphalt!! Car just can't stop quick enough - must be careful.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Fiesta Zetec S

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-13-T
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-T
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Honda Civic EX 1.6 VTEC

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.