Goodyear UltraGrip 8

The Goodyear UltraGrip 8 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear UltraGrip 8
89%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
92%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
83%
Wear
87%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
94%

Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Reviews

71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Easy Going miles

Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-S
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Opel Corsa

Top tyre for snow!

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Citro├źn C4

Have only had these tyres on for a couple of days so far but in the snow they perform Great sure grip thru slush snow water wet roads no problems so far impressed

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Skoda Roomster

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v

So I bought my first set of Winter Tyres back in November 2012 when I was taking my UK registered Fiat Grande Punto out to the French Alps to work a ski season. I wanted to buy a 'premium' set of Winter Tyres as I was going to be driving in true alpine conditions.
In my first winter 2012/13 the French Alps got soooo much snow. These Tyres performed exceptionally in heavy snow conditions. My car is a small car with a small light petrol engine so a decent car to drive in the Alps but these Tyres gave it unbelievable grip during a very harsh winter. I was living in a village up a twisty steep road at an altitude of 1250m and I did not need to fit my snow chains once during that winter, In deep snow they were epic.
I don't know the exact mileage that I have covered on them as I also have a set of summer tyres on alloy wheels and these winter tyres on a spare set of steel rims that I swop out in the Summer/Winter and have not noted the exact mileage done on each set.
I have run them now for 4 x winters out in the Alps and the levels of grip are diminishing as they age and the tread wear expires.
I've been mega happy with them, I drive quite sensibly so have preserved the tyres well and only really used them for driving in the village I lived in with the occasional trip on the Motorway to Geneva airport to collect friends.
It is now evident that the exceptional level of grip first offered when new is now not the same. (Hardly surprising as it was beyond belief how much grip they gave when new).
I could probably squeeze 1 x last winter out of them as they still do have a decent tread but they are 5 x years old so will probably invest in a new pair for next winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Rover 25

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-14-T
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 43 Average miles

Dacia Logan

Great tyre with great overall experience. I was really impressed by wear and how progressive the ture was at the limit.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW 530d F10

I had Dunlop winter sport 3D's on the older car 520D E60 model but decided to give these Goodyears a try on the newer car.
In a word these are "fantastic" tyres in terms of grip, wet or dry, refinement, and road noise suspression which is so low to be a non issue.
Had Bridgestone run flat summer tyres on the car, these were so noisy I changed the fronts to Dunlop Sport Max GT's, slight improvement, but not great.
Steering was heavyish, and the car seemed reluctant to turn into a bend.
For winter tyres and non run flats, the Goodyears are a revelation.
If you really want to experience how refined these new fives are, fit a set of these. In comparison the noise, vibration, and harshness, of the run flats totally destroy the refinement of these cars.
To drive it now is an absolute pleasure, quite, smooth, and relaxed.
Great handling, much better steering response, the nose now tucks into a corner, and you don't have to resist the stronger self centering action the other tyres caused.
Mine are the 225-55-17 101v extra load versions and they are sooooo good the run flats will never go back on the car again.
If you have a f10 beemer do yourself and your car a favour and buy a set of these, you will be amazed.
Not had any snow yet, so can't comment on this, but I suspect I won't be disapointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

Surprisingly very noisy on wet. In dry noise level is as a summer tyre. I had no problems on wet/dry snow. Tyres behave as expected, nothing more or less. Braking distances are acceptable. Fuel economy is perfect.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Vectra Estate

Living in a place where no matter where you want to go, you have to go up a hill, winter can be a pain. Last night in my UltraGrip8s I sailed past struggling cars, including 4x4s, in my 2009 1.8 Vectra Estate, with ease. Comfortable, and the feel very safe. And they are longer wearing than I expected.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.