Avon ZZ5

The Avon ZZ5 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Avon ZZ5
82%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
70%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
78%

Avon ZZ5 Reviews

0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,500 Average miles

Audi A4 1.8T S Line

Purchased used Audi A4 with 4x new Avon ZZ5 tyres. Less than 12000 miles later I’m changing all tyres. Whilst there’s a good amount of tread left, I’ve never been satisfied or felt secure with grip in either wet or dry conditions. However, my biggest complaint is tyre noise. Whilst I appreciate a 19” tyre will never provide a quiet, comfortable ride, these tyres are woeful. The tyres make a drone noise similar to a failing bearing and especially in colder conditions. I’ve been to several garages who have confirmed bearings are good and all suspect the tyres. For me and my fellow passengers sanity these tyres are going. Would I recommend? No. Would I buy myself? Definitely not.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)

Fitted them to fronts of my MX5, after puncture on original Bridgestone tyre ... these are so much better. Definitely recommend. More grip and feel, especially when below 15 DegC - inspiring confidence, without any wear issues.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford S Max Titanium X Sport

While these tyres perform well in dry and wet conditions after 10000 miles I can say predominant dry driving will wear these tyres quickly. Switching tyres back to front half way is advised as the drive tryes lose adhesion after some wear, which translates poor wet driving grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4 Spirited miles

Fiat 500 Abarth

Fitted these tyres after acquiring some larger OEM wheels with no tyres. I’d shopped around and looked at alternatives from Pirelli, hankook and Michelin but decided on Avon’s due to reviews and price (cost me £277 fitted)

These tyres grip very well in the dry even when pushing the car, they seem to gradually lose grip and push into underdetermined but I have to really push the car to get that to happen.

In the wet they also have a good amount of grip. Not as good the uniroyal rainsport 3 tyres I was running previously. Although they still grip at 50 mph during corners in the cold wet weather.

After 4,500 miles they seem to be wearing well with a good amount of tread remaining, that’s being fitted to my 165bhp Abarth. They’re a bit noisy and uncomfortable but then again the car isn’t so it could just be the car and not the tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

MG ZTT 135 diesel

I loved these tyres when I first bought them. First thing I noticed was how quiet they were. Very grippy in the wet, dry and all summer tyre conditions (but not tried them in the ice and snow). Great driving feedback and fairly progressive too. Wear initially appeared to be good, but after less than 10,000 miles, both are now down to the tread wear markers. I don't drive aggressively and given that all other sets of tyres on the same car have outlasted these, I can't recommend them. A shame because in all other respects these are excellent. If Avon sorted out the wear, they'd have a winner on their hands.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus

Best tyre I've used won't put anything else on my focus st

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5 bbr tuned

mx5 bbr super 200
after 22000 miles of spirited driving, i have replaced the ZZ5 avons on the rear of my mx5 at 3mm tread remaining.
they have performed, in every area, extremely well, in all conditions,( not driven in snow)
they have never let go...i have tried.
they have taken me on fast road trips around Scotland (twice) and wales (twice)
as well as 2500 miles through France down to Spain and back....never a problem.
the best tyre i have ever had.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160

Firstly i'll start by saying these tyres replaced a pair of rovelo RPX998 On the front of my 2011 vauxhall insignia diesel

Now I fully appeciate these are summer tyres however in the uk 95% of us just plow on with the same tyres, the previous tyres (rovelo) had no issues getting me home in the snow i even covered 400 miles during the beast from the east with the M1 covered in 7inch of snow at some points. The avons are dreadful in the snow, in fact i had these fitted in november 18 and all through the colder months they were hard and noisy. Once the weather warmed up they were a totally different tyre but after covering 4000 miles over winter they were down to 3.5mm tread.

Dry and wet grip has been brilliant and they are very hard to make understeer. I have done 5000 miles now over summer, including a 2100 mile round trip to the south of france and they are still on 3.5mm tread.

In conclusion i find these a very strange tyre, they are hopeless in the snow, average and noisy on cold days but great during summer. .

A few other reviews mention these tyres are noisy and give a failing wheel bearing drone when they are running low on tread which is an issue i have now, myself and two garages have checked the car for duff bearings and have found no issues..i guess it could be the tyres.

Would i buy again? Nah, i will be swapping these soon before winter, i might try the nexen su4

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford mondeo 2.2

good on a mondeo st grip well wead quickly though

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 19,000 Average miles

BMW 520D M Sport Touring

A good all rounder grip wise, but really noisy at speed and under braking. Noise aside they a quality lost-lasting tyre. Trying a set of Cooper CS-Sport next.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.