Continental Sport Contact 5

The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 5
72%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
51%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
55%

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews (4)

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Volvo S60 D5 R Design

These came OE on my volvo. Good performance in dry and wet. I'm drive quickly, but no racer and they're already close to 50% thread depth at 12000Km so I doubt they will reach 30K Km.
Pros:
Both wet and dry grip, even in a downpour
Cons:
They are a bit noisy with a distinctive howl on the concrete roads and a good amount of thud on expansion joints. Know this is a performance tyre, but was expecting a bit more mileage out of them.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-19-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 11,600 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI [150PS] DSG

In the past I have got about 18K from a set of front tyres, but these tyres will be changed before I reach 12K. Very disappointed and therefore will not consider as replacement

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-W
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Sports

Have to say for a premium tyre, I would expect a decent wear ratio, my vehicle has just completed 7000 miles and tread is at 1.8mm, I find this disgusting, have contacted Continental who’s answer was that ‘we do not guarantee wear’ whilst I appreciate that is the case with all manufacturers, I would like to think they take the issue seriously, this could be a compound issue, so much so could be a safety issue! One thing I would say is that they have lost a customer in me, never again would I buy Continental tyres - my driving is 50/50 long and around town, no country roads, no race track, I and my wife are considerate drivers.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Mark X

So far this is the best tire I've ever used compared to F1D5 & CSC3. The performance for wet & dry is just excellent! It also offers good control approaching and past the limit. Comfort is also good and noise is acceptable for this type of performance tire. The only downside of this tire is the wear rate is a bit fast where I finished the tires in about over 40k km/28 k miles compared to my previous F1D5 which lasted over 50k km but it wore out nicely with just minimal chipping compared to the F1D5.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,000 Average miles

Vauxhall insignia elite ecoflex 160

Had been using Conti 3 on Insignia, getting 12K on front and nearly 20K on rear. After changing to Conti 5 have only managed about 7K front and rear before tyres on legal limit.

Other than the wear rate I was very happy with the tyres, but and not prepared to accept the cost of frequent replacement.

Mixed driving, many short urban journeys and a few journeys of hundreds of miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 21,000 Spirited miles

BMW 3 series

Had them on my ex E46 323i and i was more than happy.
The grip, the handling, the road response is just great. I'm not a slow driver, i like my corners fast and thight and this tyre made it possible for me to enjoy behind the wheel.

The only thing witht them is that by the 15k km they were on thear thread wear.
But tha't mybe just my driving style and not the tyres. Had them for a couple of years, in 8 total.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-H
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,400 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Estate

Only real problem with these tyres is the wear rate which is appalling, I have done less than 10k and just been told the tread on my drive wheels is down to 3 mm. I have never before had to replace tyres before 20k and this is the first time I’ve had Continentals

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 11,000 Average miles

Honda 1.8 iVTEC Es

Very good tyres for grip in the dry and wet. Not bad for comfort and road noise, but they are soft. They wont wear well. I got barely 10k miles from a pair of front tyres commuting up and down a motorway before they wore out. You have been warned!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Audi S3

Had these tyres on for just over 10k miles and have a few mm left, which should get about 16k miles for all 4. The biggest problem I have with these are the road noise (72db). Swapped them out as they were completely rubbish in the cold winter weather. Car handled well and steering was good with good dry and wet performance in summer. The best thing is the large alloy rim protector, which is the biggest on any tyre I have seen. Wouldn't consider these again, purely down to the road noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4

Did a fair bit of sourcing following the previous tyres I had on this car. Replaced a front set of General Altimax Sport which, up to now, were the worst set of tyres I have every come across. I heard positive reviews about the majority of Continental Tyres, however I was also informed that the wear tended to be slightly high. I fitted these tyres to the front of my 2.0 TDI Audi A4 to replace the Generals with the hope of drastically improving the handling and grip and ultimately provide a safer handling car.

Upon purchasing these tyres, the grip and handling was almost immediately transformed. The grip from these tyres in dry and wet conditions is the best I have come across in a tyre so far. Very rarely did I come across any loss of grip through corners even under harsh acceleration and found very little wheel spin when pulling away from junctions, even in bad conditions. For heavy surface water I wouldn't say there was anything dramatically impressive, however in comparison to the General Altimax Sports still a vast improvement. The only down side to these tyres has to be the wear. I only just managed 8000 miles on these tyres and although I occasionally drive aggressively, I attempted to make these tyres last and seriously struggled. On the up side, I found the grip on these tyres lasted almost until the tyres were fully worn out. Only in the last couple of hundred miles did the tyres begin to lose straight line grip and aquaplaning became a slight issue in heavy surface water. In terms of progressiveness, I rarely found loss of grip so it is difficult to say, however on any occasion where these tyres started to slide it was very controllable and easily correctable.

Because of the steep price on these tyres and the very high wear I have decided not to purchase these again. I have instead gone for Pirelli P7 Cinturato Blues. I have purchased the Pirellis before and although they will not provide such precise handling and grip, I find they are a better all round tyre for the price. For anyone who is not prepared to fork out every 8000 or so miles I would look else where, however for performance which will continue to last until the tyre is almost completely worn, I found these tyres hugely impressive.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.