Continental Sport Contact 5

The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 5
72%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
51%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
55%

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews (3)

70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

I fitted these tyres on my Jetta 1.4TSi. While the vehicle is not a high performance vehicle, I did enjoy the grip in both dry and wet conditions. I also enjoyed the comfort provided, bearing in mind that this is a premium tyre. Initially the tyre was quiet, but after about 50% wear the noise levels were significantly different. I live in South Africa where our roads are in a relatively good condition, especially our freeways and highways which I travel along much of my day. However, on the concrete surface, the tyre noise was unbearable. I was also disappointed with the wear on the tyre. I am not a street racer or a harsh driver but the tyres bearly made it to 30000kms. Then again these were 19 inch tyres. While i was happy with the performance and comfort, I would look at other tyre brands which are more economical before considering this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 530D

Was running them on my 2007 BMW 530D comfort levels was OK but I ended up running the tire pressure below 2.2 bar in town for a smoother ride. Dry and wet and is not the best is extremely predictable which inspires confidence and makes these enjoyable tyres to drive had.

Unfortunately, I only got 20,000 km out of a set which is the reason why I will be moving to Michelin's

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

Very soft sidewall, not precise steering, good in dry and with normal driving good in wet. Average wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 23,000 Average miles

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E350

I would never buy Continental tyres again.
Grip well but they do not last ; I have done 5k of motorway and town driving and there all on 4mm Continental recommend changing at 3mm what a rip off at nearly a £1000 a set these tyres have cost me nearly 200 pounds a month!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD

Great overhoul preformance, but it had a little strange filling in wet cornering under pressure although there was a good ammount of grip. Very disapointed about wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

These came new with the car and managed 8,000miles on a front wheel drive Octavia VRS before the middle of the tyre wore to the limit blocks !!!!!
Not what I expected from a premium brand tyre; the tryes were not over inflated and at the correct pressure for the weight and size of the car the shoulders still have 5mm .
After reading the other reviews it seems the standard for this tyre; at over £110 a corner fitted I can buy cheaper and better.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar F Pace 3.0D AWD S

Fitted to Jag F-Pace 3.0D (255/50 R20). Dry grip is very good. Wet grip not tested to limit. Steering response is very goods with nice build up of load. There is some road noise but not excessive. Offers some rim protection in case of hitting a stone or pot hole. Wear rate found to be about 9 200km/mm. As new tread depth is 7mm (and not 8mm) this gives 50 000km to the limit of 1.6mm and 37 000km to Conti's recommended 3mm tread depth.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-20-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Citroën DS4

I bought this premium range of tyres as I wanted a product that lasted for a decent mileage. My front tyres have done just 7000 miles and the MOT today flagged them up as close to the legal minimum. This is very disappointing and makes me wonder if Continental have some issue with production quality. The cheaper Hankook tyres I had on the front previously lasted for 15000 miles. Won't be buying Continental again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22 Average miles

Mercedes Benz V250d

This tyres came as original equipment on MB V250d. I like the simple aesthetic design of the tyre not like the kumho ecsta. Overall performance the tyre has good performance in dry and wet, feeling confident all the time on the road. The only downfall of this tyres is that it wears out too easily, I get about 30-35k kms max (6 months at 250 kms per day 5 days a week). It is expensive as well. I’m now trying the Bridgestone Turanza and so far it is quiter on the road, the wear and tear remains to be seen.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-45-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.