Continental Sport Contact 5

The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 5
72%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
51%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
55%

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews (2)

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,500 Average miles

Renault 12

These tyres were OEM. After 16,000 kms the fronts have an average of 5.3mm remaining, and the rears 7.02mm.

I have no complaints with these tyres and they seem to be wearing well

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Infiniti Q70

I had these fitted after the Dunlop Sportmax were worn out. I'd say there was this leap in comfort. There's definitely better grip on the road and cornering felt better. Comfort was the biggest chane i'd say. they're up there with the Michelin Primacy 3. I would've bought those over these but I had an offer price for these and they lasted me for roughly 20k miles. I don't do tracks but I do always drive around 100mph on the highway on average. And these tyres did their job keeping the ride comfortable. They do well against potholes vs the Dunlops.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-50-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 18,500 Average miles

Renault Megane

The tyres came factory fitted on the 2017 Renault Megane GT. The dry grip is lower than expected as the tyres start to lose grip and start squealling much too soon when driving enthusiastically. Wet grip is acceptable but not outstanding. The vehicle has never aquaplaned and/or lost grip in the wet. Probably because the car is driven slower in wet conditions.
The wear rate is the worst feature of these tyres. Had to replace the them at approximately 30,000km of sedate town driving.
Being a low profile tyre comfort is being sacrificed but in overall retrospect the NHV levels is good.
The vehicle has currently Goodyear Eagle F1's fitted, but is still too soon to compare these tyres with the CSC5.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,567 Spirited miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line

The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a good all round performance tyre that offeres good levels of dry and wet grip properties, whilst still delivering reasonable mileage and a good level of low rolling resistance for a large UHP performance tyre,

It's primary ride is quite harsh but the chassis helps to control and damp this well. The steering feel is responsive from very low steering input and response is quite linier and easy to control

Damping on the rear is good, tyres slightly noisy on very course road surfaces

Good all round balance

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Average miles

Renault Clio IV 1.2 Tce

Very good tires (among the best I ever encounter) but the wear is just unacceptable

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,200 Easy Going miles

Kia Motors Stonic

Bought a 2nd hand 2018 Kia stonic 1.6CDi with these tyres as the original tyres at only 7700 miles from Kia motors. I expected them to last at the very least until 22k-25k Miles as I am every bit an eco driver, and I do not cover a huge amount of mileage day to day, so thought these tyres would be ideal.

Sadly at the 16700 mile mark they were nearing replacement with very little tread already. I could probably run them through to 20000 max, but I am weary of the following issues in which some have caused safety concerns:

- Noise levels increased which is not greatly noticeable on decent roads, but on certain ones will sound like the occasional bomber flying above.
- Comfort of drive ok to start with, now it is noticeably different and not so smooth a ride for myself.
- Wet Grip not great to begin with, and now even worse as you might expect with a lot of slipping going on with hills now feeling increasingly less safe.
- Dry grip didn't feel that great to begin with but manageable for my purposes, now noticeably worse around many corners as you might expect with little tread.
- Wear rate was surprising for me even on the rear tyres which are obviously better, but still not great considering I barely push the car.

I will not be buying these tyres to replace the current ones as the tyre felt it went from ok to bad relatively quickly from my experience. After research including others experiences will most likely be looking to get Bridgestone Turanza T005 / Michelin CrossClimate+ / Hankook Ventus Prime K125 or similar.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-17-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Easy Going miles

BMW 2017 M4

These contisport contact 5P runflats are worse than slicks. In fact they are downright dangerous and should never have been fitted to a new BMW M4

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20 Easy Going miles

Kia Motors Sportage

Bought a new Kia Sportage March 2018 as our new family car it just hit 20 kilometers and the front two tyres are at 1.5 this car is for dropping picking up the kids so is not drove hard I cant believe how poor they lasted and the price to replace them and have todo it again in another 20 k,

I would not recommend the Conti sport contact 5 at all ill be moving to a Nexon / Hand cook

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen CC

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Easy Going miles

Audi Q5

Tyres came fitted on a new Audi Q5, having just had a previous Audi Q5 which done 30,000 miles on a set of tyres I was stunned when an inspection at only 12,000 miles declared the front passenger ILLEGAL and the front driver at 80% worn whilst the rears were both 4.5mm+

These tyres are not cheap, typically my wife drives the car and like previous reviews does not thrash the car. No way I will be replacing these and instead I'll be moving back to Michelin Latitude Sports which I had on the previous Audi Q5.

Can't really complain about the handling in wet or dry but there's a definite road noise from these tyres, but just cannot believe how badly they've worn out

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.