Continental Sport Contact 5

The Continental Sport Contact 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 5
72%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
51%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
55%

Continental Sport Contact 5 Reviews

56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW 130i M

Annoying on-centre precision, too many steering corrections to keep it straight. This happened in my 130i and Megane rs175, I couldn't wait to change them just because of this. I fitted it in two cars because I couldn't believe how bad it was in the BMW and thought the car had a problem with the steering. And I wanted to like the tyre. But no, the Megane became crap with them too. Grip in the dry is and stability are quite good, but the balance is towards too much understeer and isn't fun to drive at all, especially on the BMW because you can't steer the car with the throttle. Not progressive enough in the wet, showing a decent grip limit, but too agressive breakaway and too long recovery time; I didn't trust this tyre in the wet, especially in the BMW. Wear is average if you drive gently. Comfort is borderline acceptable for me, as there's too many vibrations after the initial touch with impacts. This effectively reduces the peak force, but doesn't provide enough roundness or quality feel. I can't recommend this tyre as it doesn't suit my driving style nor my comfort preferences.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Audi S5

These were the original tyres fitted to the car on delivery from new. They have covered 20k miles. Mostly motorway driving. They are good in both dry and wet conditions. Wear has been reasonable albeit 75% of the miles have been covered on motorways, so relatively low stress driving. Performance is predictable but then again the Audi has quattro so it's difficult to be absolutely sure. The only criticism is that they are quite noisy.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 46,600 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E350

4y9m, 75000km. Amazing tires all in all, at the end the tires looked like they had maybe 5000-8000km left in them when looking at the tread but a puncture opened up a box of shock, inside the tire there was about 3-4 handsfull of rubber "dust" from the tire slowly disintegrating, I've had a feeling somthing was off for the past 4 months or so as the tires behaved different at highway speeds so I kinda knew it was time to change but the fact that the tire visually from the outside looked fine but was falling apart inside was a bit of a shocker, so for anyone else out there if your tires starts to feel like they are unbalanced... have a look inside the tire.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-W
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Audi 1.8T Quattro

24 months old 10000 miles mainly in 30mph zone and need replacement on q5

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Renault Megane

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Audi A3 S Line Sportback 2.0 TDI 184

These tyres were fitted on my Audi A3 Sportback when I bought the car. They were virtually brand new so I thought happy days... How wrong I was! They're so noisy and unforgiving. Handling and grip is excellent. I'm glad they don't wear well, means I can swap them to a quieter tyre. Good Year Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2's will be what I go for next.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

BMW 320D M Sport

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto

Excellent tyre, but spending 1,300€ for 12-15k kilometers is a waste. Very disappointing wear capabilities.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-21-P
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Easy Going miles

Audi Q5

Comfortable tyre with good handling characteristics in both wet and dry. Did not have the opportunity to drive in snow. Would not buy again however due to very poor wear (front tyres in particular) which barely lasted 10,000 miles despite a gentle driving style.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

These Conti’s are fantastic tyres. We’re fitted OEM and fronts lasted me 25000 kms. Rears still have 5.5mm.
Great grip in dry and wet, good feedback and braking.
Would only buy again if they were on offer due to the high wear rate.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.