Dunlop Grandtrek AT20

The Dunlop Grandtrek AT20 is a All Season All Terrain and Off Road tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Dunlop Grandtrek AT20
65%[average]
Dry Grip
71%
Wet Grip
58%
Road Feedback
64%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
70%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
52%

Dunlop Grandtrek AT20 Reviews

87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 70,000 Average miles

Toyota fortuner

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

Car became very 'twitchy' at highway speed in wet conditions. OK in other conditions. i need something better and will spend the money even though these have tens of thousands of klms left on them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40 Average miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

Came fitted on my Toyota Land Cruiser Prado. The worst and most dangerous tires I have ever driven. Slippery on dry and deadly on wet. If you corner on a wet road with this tires you have to be so careful as even in slow speed the car will slide and you have to perform corrections to avoid dangerous situations. Also the breaking is too long, in dry and wet. I'm happy I got rid of them finally. Would never recommend to anyone buying this tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 29,000 Average miles

Toyota fortuner

I've run the tires on my Toyota Fortuner for about 46000 kms, and I'm really impressed with the way the tires have held up. The tires had served us well during the scorching summers and the torrential monsoons. The tire has still a bit of thread to it, and it surely looks to be able to run another 2-3k kms.
I'd definitely recommend these tires!

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi Shogun 3.2Ltr Diesel LWB

Came as standard on my shogun - great car, terrible tyre. Wet road or anything off-road and these were useless. Snow or sludge made a 4x4 feel like a formular one car on slicks in a thunderstorm! Did 10000 miles before getting rid and changing to Yokohama geolander ATS, completely different driving experience, a tyre can make a car and the dunlops are not that tyre!

Tyre size reviewed: 265-60-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 150 Average miles

Toyota Landcruiser

Dunlop AT20 : These tyres were fitted as OE to the LC when the car was new & lasted 75,000 miles of mixed driving & towing. So replaced with another set which again lasted 75,000 miles. This alone would recomend these tyres, they are also quiet, comfortable & excellent all year round grip whether summer, wet, durt track or 1ft of snow. Now on my third set, what more can I say!.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-S
17%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

My previous LC Prado (same model) was equipped with Bridgestone Dueler Sport, which allows me to make the comparison with the Dunlop Grandtrek AT20.

On dry roads, with Dunlop Grandtrek, braking distances are increased and handling worse (slide of 4 tires when cornering).

But on wet roads, it's a disaster. When cornering - even at a slow pace - the car slides and you have to drastically slow down to keep it on track. And when braking, it's even worse. The car skids, slides and only slows down a bit - but it’s like the car doesn’t want to stop or to keep on track. This tire is really bad, dangerous especially in the wet.

And, having raced on ATV for many years, I‘m supposed to know how to keep my car on the road!

Tyre size reviewed: 265-70-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 82,000 Average miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

Fantastic tyres in all conditions and unbeliveable wear rate!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Toyota Landcruiser

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 265-70-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 130 Spirited miles

Toyota Landcruiser

I have never strayed from these tyres since 1998 as standard on a new Land Cruiser Colorado, followed in 2005 on a new LC5. However I agree with many comments about the balding on the shoulders & this appears from 35k in my experience. I can admit to under-inflation on some occaisions but I also run several other 4x4 vehicles with other tyre makes & it seems to be unique to Dunlop AT20`s. Eg currently I have 5-6mm of tread but on only 60% of the tyre surface! Two sets averaging circa 60k miles on all fours sets, however I have rotated (as per the manufactorers handbook) them over this period & the more regularly you carry out this excercise the longer they last. They are very stable & I can on occaisions drive very quickly without any drama whatsoever in wet & dry. Never been remotely stuck in snow but they are not proficient in the mud!

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-S

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.