Michelin Alpin A4

The Michelin Alpin A4 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Alpin A4
93%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
94%
Road Feedback
91%
Progressiveness
87%
Wear
95%
Comfort
92%
Buy Again
95%

Michelin Alpin A4 Reviews

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Spirited miles

Opel insignia

I've used these tyres for 4 winters for 15000 Miles (25000 Km) in Turkey. The best thing about them is the confidence when you're climbing uphill in the snow. The worst thing was the road feedback and numbness on steering.
Tyres were very comfortable and durable against big pot holes.
Overall it was a very good tyre and I would buy them again. (I've sold the car but the tyres had at least 3500 miles left)

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

SEAT 184hp TDI Leon

Bought these part worn with 6mm tread left. They have been fantastic in the snow and ice in 2019. Good in the wet (better than my continental summer types) and mostly fine in the dry. I live in the peak district in Derbyshire, so there are many opportunities for going quickly on national speed limit roads. Both braking and turning have been excellent in the snow, to the point where i was able to get up hills other 4x4's and smaller vehicles could not.
The only negative i'd say, is that if you are driving with gusto, overcrest hills are a nightmare and the sidewalls fold in. That said, my summer tyres are much lower profile and handle perfectly, so the winter tyres didnt stand a chance. My driving style is 90% economy to work and back, 10% nutter on the country lanes at the weekend. I must say though, this is the only set of winter tyres i have had on the front.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,500 Average miles

Honda Jazz

A real boost to bad weather driving. Wet grip is exceptional; emergency stopping from 60+mph is excellent; no fuss, no skidding, no drama. Really inspires confidence. On snow and ice grip and traction is noticeably enhanced; just remember to also keep revs low and (if necessary) gear selection high. Dry grip seems the same as my summer tyres; however road noise is a little greater and my MPG seems to have dropped by about 4mpg. Very happy to trade these small issues for the security of increased grip in adverse weather. Fitted these 2 months ago and the moulding pips on the tyres edges are still present on all tyres after 2500 miles, so confident that they will wear well (as all Michelins do).

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mazda 6

Given that the car is used for commutes, most of the time it's less than 5 degrees, and so these have been fitted from November to the start of May (Climate change, eh?)
Pulling out of junctions with front wheel drive is the biggest test of tyres, and these cling on just great, although I've detected a slight drop off from new. Maybe I'm being more cocky, though.
Day to day, they're surefooted and accurate, and the tread is holding up well after two winters. No detectable wear, which is what you'd hope for.
I think they've been a good purchase and although I've not had much chance to drive in the snow, light coverings and frosty roads are easily managed. I rate tyres as a major safety device and that's why I fit winter tyres to the family car.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Citroën C5 Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Citroën C5 Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Average miles

Toyota Corolla

Excellent tires,like all Michelins...

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-T
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 30,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk6

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine

I found these tyres very helpful on hard packed ice during two extremely cold and extreme winters in Ireland just a couple of seasons ago. Was able to travel country roads, slowly, and with great care, that I could not travel with my other car using normal tyres. The only negative I found with these tyres was, that I attended a race meeting in Ireland, had to park on a solid grassy field, where the ground was relatively solid, but the grass was wet, and the car would not travel on that surface at all, or take off from stationery, using Alpine A4 tyres. Car type Audi A4.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-15-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Renault Megane

Excellent tyre for wet and snowy roads. Even on mountain hills in ski resorts, tyre proved its speciffications. Very reliable.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.