Continental Sport Contact 2

The Continental Sport Contact 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 2
71%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
75%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
61%
Comfort
66%
Buy Again
60%

Continental Sport Contact 2 Reviews

70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Audi TT MK2 TFSI

I'm replacing these for Goodyear's F1 Asymmetric 5s all around. The Conti were fitted to the front by the previous owner of my TT MK2. They still have 4.5mm left after 30K miles approx so not bad but I only had the car for the last 2.5k miles. They're good on dry roads but I feel the car too light on high speed or on wet roads which is why I'm not waiting any longer to have them replaced.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Audi TT MK2 TFSI

Ich ersetze diese durch die F1 Asymmetric 5s von Goodyear. Die Conti wurden vom Vorbesitzer meines TT MK2 vorne montiert. Sie haben nach ca. 30 km noch 4,5 mm übrig, also nicht schlecht, aber ich hatte das Auto nur für die letzten 2,5 km. Sie sind auf trockenen Straßen gut, aber ich finde, dass das Auto auf hohen Geschwindigkeiten oder auf nassen Straßen zu leicht ist, weshalb ich nicht länger darauf warte, sie ersetzen zu lassen.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Audi TT MK2 TFSI

Je les remplace par les F1 Asymmetric 5 de Goodyear tout autour. Les Conti ont été montés à l'avant par l'ancien propriétaire de ma TT MK2. Il leur reste encore 4,5 mm après 30 km environ, donc pas mal, mais je n'ai eu la voiture que pour les derniers 2,5 km. Ils sont bons sur routes sèches mais je sens la voiture trop légère à haute vitesse ou sur routes mouillées, c'est pourquoi je n'attends plus pour les faire remplacer.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Renault Megane Sports Tourer

I was extremely impressed with these tires. They came fitted with the car, and still have 2mm of legally usable tread, so this will be the final season on them. I live in the Alps in Austria so summer tires are used mid April-October, and designated winter tires are used throughout winter. I drive through the twisty mountain roads with zero room for error, as well as on long high speed straights, so there is no option to risk tire grip failure at any point. Even in torrential downpours of rain, these contisportcontact2's stay planted. I've never seen resistance to aquaplaning like these offer. They do not "track" grooves in the road or "ride up" on uneven surfaces. The sidewalls are very soft, allowing for a smoother ride. The turn-in is sharp and predictable when you consider the softness of the sidewall. I believe the soft sidewalls are a major contributor to the incredible grip these tires have. Super hot motorways and broken tarmac in Italy, sustained top speed on the autobahn in Germany, near-zero visibility rain on French highways, and tight hairpin turns in the Austrian alps, these continentals have never let me down. They even held surprisingly well in dirt/grass, if that matters for anything. For the conditions I drive in, one single slip of the tires in an emergency maneuver can become disasterous. When these continentals are (rarely) pushed past their limits, there's not much noise or vibration, simply a progressive and predictable failing of grip. There's no dramatic On/Off feeling which comes with cheaper rubber. This means that the driver gets a second chance to "save it" after grip is compromised. That single detail is a requirement for me. Tread life is an acceptable weak point for me. These tires are used only 6 months out of the year, so they legally "expired" long before the tread wore down. Aquaplaning resistance has been maintained despite tread wear. Aged tires have maintained their grip very well. There are no dry rot cracks, chips, cups, tears, or chunks of rubber coming off. Date of manufacture is 10 years ago! Tread depth as new was 11mm, while the newly available replacements from Continental come with 9mm, I believe. If the Sportcontact2's were still available, I might go for them again rather than the new Premiumcontact6.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Renault Megane Sports Tourer

Ich war sehr beeindruckt von diesen Reifen. Sie wurden mit dem Auto ausgestattet und haben immer noch 2 mm legal verwendbares Profil, so dass dies die letzte Saison für sie sein wird. Ich lebe in den Alpen in Österreich, daher werden von April bis Oktober Sommerreifen und den ganzen Winter über ausgewiesene Winterreifen verwendet. Ich fahre durch die kurvigen Bergstraßen ohne Fehlerfreiheit sowie auf langen Hochgeschwindigkeitsgeraden, sodass es zu keinem Zeitpunkt möglich ist, ein Versagen der Reifenhaftung zu riskieren. Selbst bei heftigen Regenfällen bleiben diese contisportcontact2 gepflanzt. Ich habe noch nie einen Widerstand gegen Aquaplaning wie dieses gesehen. Sie "verfolgen" keine Rillen auf der Straße und "fahren" nicht auf unebenen Oberflächen. Die Seitenwände sind sehr weich und ermöglichen eine ruhigere Fahrt. Das Einlenken ist scharf und vorhersehbar, wenn man die Weichheit der Seitenwand berücksichtigt. Ich glaube, dass die weichen Seitenwände einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum unglaublichen Grip dieser Reifen leisten. Superheiße Autobahnen und gebrochener Asphalt in Italien, anhaltende Höchstgeschwindigkeit auf der Autobahn in Deutschland, Regen nahe Null auf französischen Autobahnen und enge Haarnadelkurven in den österreichischen Alpen - diese Kontinente haben mich nie im Stich gelassen. Sie hielten sich sogar überraschend gut in Dreck / Gras, wenn das für irgendetwas wichtig ist. Unter den Bedingungen, unter denen ich fahre, kann ein einziger Schlupf der Reifen in einem Notfallmanöver katastrophal werden. Wenn diese Kontinente (selten) an ihre Grenzen gestoßen werden, gibt es nicht viel Lärm oder Vibration, sondern nur ein progressives und vorhersehbares Versagen des Griffs. Es gibt kein dramatisches Ein / Aus-Gefühl, das mit billigerem Gummi einhergeht. Dies bedeutet, dass der Fahrer eine zweite Chance erhält, es zu "retten", nachdem der Griff beeinträchtigt ist. Dieses einzelne Detail ist eine Voraussetzung für mich. Das Profilleben ist für mich eine akzeptable Schwachstelle. Diese Reifen werden nur 6 Monate im Jahr verwendet, sodass sie legal "abgelaufen" sind, lange bevor das Profil abgenutzt ist. Die Aquaplaning-Beständigkeit wurde trotz Profilverschleiß beibehalten. Gealterte Reifen haben ihren Grip sehr gut beibehalten. Es treten keine trockenen Fäulnisrisse, Chips, Tassen, Risse oder Gummistücke auf. Herstellungsdatum ist vor 10 Jahren! Die neue Profiltiefe betrug 11 mm, während die neu erhältlichen Ersatzteile von Continental meiner Meinung nach 9 mm umfassen. Wenn die Sportcontact2 noch verfügbar wären, würde ich sie vielleicht wieder wählen und nicht den neuen Premiumcontact6.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Renault Megane Sports Tourer

J'ai été extrêmement impressionné par ces pneus. Ils sont venus équipés de la voiture et ont toujours 2 mm de bande de roulement légalement utilisable, ce sera donc la dernière saison sur eux. Je vis dans les Alpes en Autriche, donc les pneus d'été sont utilisés de mi-avril à octobre, et les pneus d'hiver désignés sont utilisés tout au long de l'hiver. Je conduis sur des routes de montagne sinueuses avec aucune marge d'erreur, ainsi que sur de longues lignes droites à grande vitesse, il n'y a donc aucune option pour risquer une défaillance de l'adhérence des pneus à tout moment. Même en cas de pluies torrentielles, ces contisportcontact2 restent plantés. Je n'ai jamais vu de résistance à l'aquaplaning comme celle-ci. Ils ne «suivent» pas les rainures de la route ou ne «remontent» pas sur des surfaces inégales. Les flancs sont très doux, permettant une conduite plus douce. Le virage est net et prévisible si l'on considère la douceur du flanc. Je pense que les flancs souples contribuent largement à l'incroyable adhérence de ces pneus. Autoroutes très chaudes et tarmac cassé en Italie, vitesse de pointe soutenue sur l'autoroute en Allemagne, pluie de visibilité quasi nulle sur les autoroutes françaises et virages serrés en épingle à cheveux dans les Alpes autrichiennes, ces continentaux ne m'ont jamais laissé tomber. Ils ont même tenu étonnamment bien dans la saleté / l'herbe, si cela compte pour quelque chose. Dans les conditions dans lesquelles je conduis, un seul glissement des pneus lors d'une manœuvre d'urgence peut devenir désastreux. Lorsque ces continentaux sont (rarement) poussés au-delà de leurs limites, il n'y a pas beaucoup de bruit ou de vibrations, simplement un manque d'adhérence progressif et prévisible. Il n'y a pas de sensation On / Off dramatique qui vient avec du caoutchouc moins cher. Cela signifie que le conducteur a une seconde chance de "le sauvegarder" après que l'adhérence est compromise. Ce seul détail est une exigence pour moi. La durée de vie de la bande de roulement est un point faible acceptable pour moi. Ces pneus ne sont utilisés que 6 mois par an, ils ont donc «expiré» légalement bien avant que la bande de roulement ne s'use. La résistance à l'aquaplaning a été maintenue malgré l'usure de la bande de roulement. Les pneus vieillis ont très bien conservé leur adhérence. Il n'y a pas de fissures, de copeaux, de coupelles, de déchirures ou de morceaux de caoutchouc de pourriture sèche. La date de fabrication est il y a 10 ans! La profondeur de la bande de roulement était de 11 mm, tandis que les nouveaux produits de remplacement de Continental sont de 9 mm, je crois. Si les Sportcontact2 étaient toujours disponibles, je pourrais les utiliser à nouveau plutôt que le nouveau Premiumcontact6.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 17,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz S500

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Very gud. Buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-16-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Sehr gud. Noch einmal kaufen.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-16-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Très bien. Achetez à nouveau.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-16-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.