Continental Sport Contact 2

The Continental Sport Contact 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental Sport Contact 2
71%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
75%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
61%
Comfort
66%
Buy Again
60%

Continental Sport Contact 2 Reviews

70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Audi TT MK2 TFSI

I'm replacing these for Goodyear's F1 Asymmetric 5s all around. The Conti were fitted to the front by the previous owner of my TT MK2. They still have 4.5mm left after 30K miles approx so not bad but I only had the car for the last 2.5k miles. They're good on dry roads but I feel the car too light on high speed or on wet roads which is why I'm not waiting any longer to have them replaced.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30 Spirited miles

Renault Megane Sports Tourer

I was extremely impressed with these tires. They came fitted with the car, and still have 2mm of legally usable tread, so this will be the final season on them. I live in the Alps in Austria so summer tires are used mid April-October, and designated winter tires are used throughout winter. I drive through the twisty mountain roads with zero room for error, as well as on long high speed straights, so there is no option to risk tire grip failure at any point. Even in torrential downpours of rain, these contisportcontact2's stay planted. I've never seen resistance to aquaplaning like these offer. They do not "track" grooves in the road or "ride up" on uneven surfaces. The sidewalls are very soft, allowing for a smoother ride. The turn-in is sharp and predictable when you consider the softness of the sidewall. I believe the soft sidewalls are a major contributor to the incredible grip these tires have. Super hot motorways and broken tarmac in Italy, sustained top speed on the autobahn in Germany, near-zero visibility rain on French highways, and tight hairpin turns in the Austrian alps, these continentals have never let me down. They even held surprisingly well in dirt/grass, if that matters for anything. For the conditions I drive in, one single slip of the tires in an emergency maneuver can become disasterous. When these continentals are (rarely) pushed past their limits, there's not much noise or vibration, simply a progressive and predictable failing of grip. There's no dramatic On/Off feeling which comes with cheaper rubber. This means that the driver gets a second chance to "save it" after grip is compromised. That single detail is a requirement for me. Tread life is an acceptable weak point for me. These tires are used only 6 months out of the year, so they legally "expired" long before the tread wore down. Aquaplaning resistance has been maintained despite tread wear. Aged tires have maintained their grip very well. There are no dry rot cracks, chips, cups, tears, or chunks of rubber coming off. Date of manufacture is 10 years ago! Tread depth as new was 11mm, while the newly available replacements from Continental come with 9mm, I believe. If the Sportcontact2's were still available, I might go for them again rather than the new Premiumcontact6.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 17,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz S500

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Very gud. Buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-16-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Very gud. Buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-16-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 106 gti

They have excellent grip in the dry and they are very progressive and controllable even at the limit.
Even now at the end of their life they grip very good for the tread they have left(because of a camber issue the inside is almost like a slick but even with that they are progressive)
Wet grip is very good for high performance tyres.
Noise and comfort I know it's not great but it's not a concern for me.
The only downside is that the wear rate is not that great compared to other tyres,but the grip is excellent so it's logical.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-15-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Jaguar F Type

Original equipment on my 2016 F-type v6, 340 hp RWD coupe. Driven summer and winter in New York State but only on dry roads...no rain or snow driving. Below 40F I slow down some but still enjoy the ride, handling and grip. Have 7.5 k miles on them and wear looks very even with plenty of tred depth remaining.

The tires are very quiet, in summer I drive with the windows down below 55mph where wind noise becomes objectionable. Windows up I can’t hear the tires on blacktop or concrete. I will not hesitate to replace these with new Contentials.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Jaguar F Type

Originalausstattung an meinem 2016 F-Typ V6, 340 PS RWD Coupé. Angetriebener Sommer und Winter in New York State aber nur auf trockenen Straßen ... kein Regen oder Schnee fahren. Unter 40F bremse ich etwas ab, aber genieße immer noch die Fahrt, die Handhabung und den Grip. Haben Sie 7,5 k Meilen auf ihnen und tragen Sie sieht sehr gleichmäßig mit viel tred Tiefe.

Die Reifen sind sehr leise, im Sommer fahre ich mit den Fenstern unter 55mph, wo Windgeräusche unangenehm werden. Windows up Ich kann die Reifen auf Asphalt oder Beton nicht hören. Ich werde nicht zögern, diese durch neue Continials zu ersetzen.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Jaguar F Type

Équipement d'origine sur ma 2016 coupé F-type v6, 340 hp RWD coupé. Conduit l'été et l'hiver dans l'état de New York mais seulement sur les routes sèches ... aucune pluie ou conduite de neige. En dessous de 40F, je ralentis certains mais j'apprécie toujours la conduite, la maniabilité et l'adhérence. Avoir 7,5 km miles sur eux et portent l'air très uniforme avec beaucoup de profondeur de traînée restante.

Les pneus sont très silencieux, en été je conduis avec les vitres en dessous de 55 mph où le bruit du vent devient répréhensible. Windows up je ne peux pas entendre les pneus sur le bitume ou le béton. Je n'hésiterai pas à les remplacer par de nouveaux Contest.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 9,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C180K Avantgarde

I had to replace my tyres and got these Conti SC2 on the rear axle.
My Meredes is RWD vehicle and the tyres are superb.
Dry or wet conditions is equal .

This week I mounted my winter tyres at the car and I inspected the wear of the Continental tyres and they were completely worn to 2mm.
I drove about 16K km (10K miles) with them.

But I must say these are one of the best tyres for a safe drive under all conditions.
Never had any grip problems even in heavy rain, no aquaplaining or whatso ever.

These are expensive,but worth every penny.

Greetz from the Netherlands.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.