Nankang SV2

The Nankang SV2 is a Winter High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nankang SV2
79%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
75%
Wear
84%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
78%

Nankang SV2 Reviews

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Smart roadster

I drive a very light car (800kg), so this review might not apply to all cars. Bought these tyres second hand very cheaply even thought I was rather sceptical about Chinese tyres.
I was actually amazed about how good values these are, especially compared to the Vredestein Snowtrac 5 I used to have on another car.
Driving on snow was great, no problem at all (even with rwd), in mud an dirty roads as well.
Handling on hotter days wasn't indeed all that great, but for a winter tire, I guess it's fair to say its ok.

All in all, I would definitely recommend these, as they have great value for the price (Heard different mechanics saying these were rubbish, turned out they had never even tried these, just said that because they are Chinese)

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,200 Average miles

Dacia 1310 (2002)

If this review helps anyone, I bought this tyres 2 years ago, brand new not used, i put all 4 tyres on the car and i waited for "winter is coming", in heat condition this tyre obviously is not good it looses the grip very much (because it's a winter tyre and it's softer then the summer ones), on the other hand, in winter and cold conditions the tyres do very well, i feel the car very smooth, i have grip, and the braking is good, the car it's a non ABS and non power steering, so for no asistences they do very good.
Anyway i recommend the tyres because i am very satisfied.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-70-13-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Volvo

Bought these as a budget winter tyre for my Volvo XC90 2017 year. I was expecting okay snow grip looking at the reviews but I am simply amazed how these tyres perform in winter conditions. Driving in our recent snow is like driving on normal roads. Fuel consumption maybe up slightly but that maybe due to the colder temperatures anyway. The Volvo is not a car you flying around corners but compared to the Pirelli scorpion fitted as standard I’ve noticed little difference. In fact I’d say the nankangs edge it slightly.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Transporter T4

They don't do well in 'proper' tyre reviews, but I have nothing but praise for these black circles of amazement. More comfort than my summer tyres and they have always found some grip in the worst of winter. Had them for 5 winters, note that my car is actually a van, I fitted 99XL rated SV2's. Favorite day was when at a party in a country pub and the snow came down, all taxis phoned to cancel due to the weather but my van took all 13 guests home on freshly laid snow with no problem, maybe a lucky number after all?

For the price they are easy to reccomend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-15-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Ford Puma 1.7

Would not recommend unless you live in a warm location where winter is very mild and only ever drive on slush. On snow they don't grip at all and let me down a lot, though i went for a very small tread intentionally so as to have more traction in snow. Would not recommend for snowy weather or sporty driving

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-13-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E350

Hard wearing with 40000 miles on a 260bhp E350 mercedes. Slippy in the wet. Made the E350 feel like an AMG63!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Camry

I bought this tire - knowing about the very negative reviews of its predecessor - because it was a great buy. I could purchase them very cheaply, so I thought, what the heck, it would be a great tire test...

After mounting and balancing, away I went out to the highway and the first impression was scary! The car was very loose; it had a shimmying motion diagonally which was downright frightening.
I pulled to the next gas station to check things. Everything was OK, but as I pushed the sidewall of the tire, I noticed that it was VERY soft. The pressure was set to the recommended 1.8/1.8 bar on my Camry. I thought that if the tire has so pliable sidewalls, then I have to compensate this with more pressure. So I decided to raise the inflation pressure to 2.5/2.4 front/rear. I was right!!!
The car was immediately transformed! It rode very well despite of the raised pressure, and the SV-2 was exceptionally quiet - I started to trust the tire.

Then came the true winter with deep snow. Although the SV-2 doesn't have an aggressive winter profile/sipes, the raw bite and traction is simply awesome. I towed other cars from a parking garage with the ramp completely covered in fresh 20cm thick snow without any wheelspin. It felt like a platter ski lift!
Turn in was spontaneous, understeer was minimal if any. Braking performance and overall stability was also impeccable. The winter was absolutely convincing, so I decided to leave on the SV-2s to see how they perform in the scorching heat during summer months. Here in Hungary we have a -20°C - +40°C temp range, so a tire must prove itself.
Obviously, the compound went softer, and a tad indifferent, but a /65 tire will never be so spontaneous and instant like a low profile sporty one. It kept its absolute silence, predictability and again performed very well. I must note that the wear factor was simply nonexistent. I rotated them correctly and they looked remarkably fresh. Finally, after 65.000 km, the shoulder blocks wore away on the fronts, as I usually corner with sprightly 0.6+ Gs, avoiding unnecessary braking whenever possible.

Now at the 80.000 km mark, I still have the rears on, but they are on their final kilometers now. I replaced the fronts with Nokian AllWeather Pluses, but I'm very dissatisfied with them. They offer nowhere near the performance of the Nankangs, and they have extremely low grip in damp conditions. I'm running dangerously wide in some corners...

So, to summarize, the Nankang SV-2s gave THE MOST PLEASANT tire owning experience in my life. It was an exceptional winter tire, but I can recommend this even as an all-season one. I'm an automotive journalist, so I drive lots of different tires, but after these I truly don't know what "premium" means. Quite often the premium brands simply don't have the longevity/performance compared to others, and that questions the objectivity of tire testing in me.

Definitely a Buy Again.

+ quietness, snow grip, wet traction, stability (with raised pressure!), wear/degradation, overall balance, good water management/evacuation, attractive profile, ride comfort

- errm... well, slightly longer braking distances in the summer compared with high performance/low profile tires, but this is natural, you MUST compensate the soft sidewalls with more inflation pressure (usually around/upwards of 2.5 bar), otherwise the tire will be indifferent, snappy

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 800 Easy Going miles

Ford Fiesta ST

Quick review

Bought for my fiesta st180 front wheel drive 200bhp.

Wanted some cheap winter tyres as i live in rural south west england. There is not much choice in the larger / low profile tyres unless you want to pay a fortune.

Due to the size of the standard st alloys 205/40/17 i had to buy some winters to match which i know is not ideal on a wide / low profile tyre. But i have to say i am impressed! Had these fitted for around 800miles now and wear is good they still look like new. Excellent through rain with a decent enough stopping distance. Handling is not as good as my Bridgestone summer tyres but this is due to the tread pattern of the winter tyre, which i wouldn't expect them to be. Do get me wrong they are not bad but who is going to be throwing a car into a corner in bad conditions. NOT ME! After having some snow this morning it performed great had no problem travelling 18miles through it.

Looking back they recommend buying a wheel diameter down from what is fitted with a slightly more narrow profile. This would then perform slightly better in wintery conditions. But have no complaints with mine at all.

Overview:
Better than a summer tyre in under 7oc conditions
Cheap with decent performance
I would recommend them for winter against a summer tyre all day long.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Average miles

BMW 530D M sport

Firstly I'd suggest everyone should use winter tyres in winter in Europe where temperature in winter falls below 7C.

My prime purpose buying Nankang was to test a cheap brand to see if that makes much difference from Goodyear or Continental & I must say I am not diappointed. Driving in dry conditions with as high speed as 130 mph in Germany and as snow with a food of snow in alps they performed very well.

Pros:
- I found then stable with speed upto 130 miles per hour in (winter) dry conditions (in Germany).
- Dry grip is pretty decent.
- Snow grip is pretty decent.
- Tread is stable. I have already driven for more than 8000 miles & I guess it will still go at least 8000 more.
- Cheap, almost half the price of any primium brand.

Cons:
- High fuel consumption (I compared it with my summer tyres only).
- Wet grip is manageable.
- Breaking distance is longer than premium tyres (due to less wet grip), but still 4 times better than summer tyres.

I think being budget tyres they are excellent choice. Those who want to stay secure in snow & icy conditions and dont want to spend a lot of money, its best choice.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,200 Average miles

Citroën C5 Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.