Continental WinterContact TS 830 P

The Continental WinterContact TS 830 P is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 830 P
84%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
85%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
89%

Continental WinterContact TS 830 P Reviews

99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Caravelle

Bought as new and only done like 8k miles on these so far but I had a chance of driving through heavy and deep snow, in a heavy car (VW T4 Caravelle) with amazing results. Once I had to stop while going up the steep hill and managed to start again without even using snowchains - I was stunned! Amazing grip in severe conditions, with (so far) more than reasonable wear - definitely a tyre I can recommend and would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 330e

Very consistent tyre, grip in wet is good, but get a little bit unpredictable, depending on the temperature. Standstill on a hill (RWD) in the snow there was not a problem with grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota Auris

The tyres were fitted in September 2018 and the results were very good. Superb dry and wet grip (tarmac and gravel), driving on snow and mud was also easy, no difficulties encountered whatsoever. By far the best tyres I ever owned and believe me, I tested quite a lot of brands and models, premium and mid-range mostly: Michelin, Nokian, Goodyear, Falken, Vredestein, Yokohama, etc. Although I wanted the TS860 model, I actually got these instead due to some delivery error. Would recommend and buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Average miles

Mazda 3 2.0 DISI

The main reasons why I chose WinterContact TS 830P are: non-directional tread (more regular tyre wear due to possibility of changing rotation direction), conti seal technology (my Mazda has no spare wheel), high performance winter tyre (better road handling and feedback). The tyres replaced Pirelli Winter Snow Control 3. In comparison to the Pirellis the Contis are significantly quieter even after 21,000 km. The wet grip is very good and I have never had any issues with aquaplanning. In the dry they provide quite good amount of feedback and stability for winter tyres even at temperatures above 10°C. In the snow traction I do not feel any difference from the Pirellis. The fuel consumption is higher than it used to be on Pirellis. After 21,000 km they have approximately 6 mm of tread remaining. It seems they might last up to 40 - 45,000 km. Very similar to Pirellis.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 2
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

I am realy dissapointed in this tires.
In winter conditions they are very bad.
I expected a lot more from them being Continental with good test results.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Spirited miles

BMW 3 series

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 62,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 508 SW 1.6 E HDI

i loved my Continental WinterContact TS 830P i drove with them here in Denmark in 2017 and 2018 and i drive about 50.000km every year in my car and now after 2 years its time to change them and i didnt care to change tyres so the tyres were on the car in the sommer and Winther and they were great for 2 years now i will go try TS 860 and i hope they are as good or maby a little bettet

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320 d

I bought a set of these tyres because 1.BMW are known to be horrific in the snow 2.I live up a very very steep hill in Wales, these tyres are extremely good in fresh snow and icy conditions, the road was so bad that you could watch 4x4 cars with summer tyres sliding down the very steep hill and spinning their wheels on the way up. With these tyres the was no loss of traction while driving downhill and no ABS engagement. Driving up hill the was minimal wheel spin, the car always felt in control and would never loose composure. Only downside to winter tyres i have found is in the dry and at 8c onwards they start to feel a little vague at speed however this is minimal for the benefits gained at colder temperatures.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
27%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E220Cdi

Considering excellent test results and user feedback I bought a set of Conti tyres. But these tyres are very much dissapointing with terrible traction under winter conditions. Worst winter tyres I ever had. I should never by again Continental.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-65-16-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 320 d

I was shocked by just how good these tires were in the snow and ice on my BMW RWD. Absolutely no slip or wheel spin while others around me struggled. I will never not have winter tires again even if it’s front wheel drive or four.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.