Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport

The Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport
67%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
64%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
63%
Wear
72%
Comfort
63%
Buy Again
58%

Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport Reviews (2)

61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI

My Touareg had the Bridgestones on when bought so i replaced like for like when the rears wore down, i must say i will be trying another brand next time though, ive had a few hairy moments in the wet when the car just wants to go straight on in corners, the rears have only lasted 10k miles and the noise level on motorways isnt great..

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

I use my Land Cruiser on a mix of country and main roads but about 10% of the time I am on farm tracks or off road. When on wet or dry surfaces, I have never felt that I was about to lose grip. Even braking in the wet it gives good confidence. I have the high wall 17" which give a slightly better ride than the 18" which I tried. 2-300 mile journeys are very comfortable and poor road surfaces do not affect the tyres as much as you might think. I run slightly over the tyre pressures and this helps me to get around 37mpg. Not bad for a 2.5 ton 4x4.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-S
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

I use my Land Cruiser on a mix of country and main roads but about 10% of the time I am on farm tracks or off road. When on wet or dry surfaces, I have never felt that I was about to lose grip. Even braking in the wet it gives good confidence. I have the high wall 17" which give a slightly better ride than the 18" which I tried. 2-300 mile journeys are very comfortable and poor road surfaces do not affect the tyres as much as you might think. I run slightly over the tyre pressures and this helps me to get around 37mpg. Not bad for a 2.5 ton 4x4.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-S
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 36,000 Average miles

Renault Koleos

I did not like it. I do not see great qualities.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-H
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Easy Going miles

Isuzu DMAX

These came fitted to my pick up when I got it new. I have no issues with the comfort or noise. I've no idea what to say about the 'road grip' and 'progressiveness' because it's a pick up not a sports car. The issue is with wet grip. I am a car mechanic and a truck driver so I've driven a lot of things and these are by far the worst tyres ive ever experienced in the wet. They also love picking up stones and then throwing them down the side of my car when you pick up speed. I am not a fast driver but I am a confident driver who spends a lot of time on country roads but my confidence goes when the roads are wet. Not experienced them in snow yet and don't want to even with 4 wheel drive.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-65-17-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 35,000 Easy Going miles

Mitsubishi Outlander

Quite noisy. I really dont recommend these to owners who have cars with lite noise insulation like on my car. Dry grip is ok. Wet grip is also ok. Ride comfort is nod so bad either. But the steering response is quite strange. Seems like they are trying to resist against faster steering even on very low speeds. Something like "Ok ok...I will turn, but I really dont want to do that." And their only advantage according me is mileage. If you drive your SUV like SUV and not like a racing car then they will last.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz ML

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 275-55-17-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 42,000 Easy Going miles

Nissan Qashqai

These were standard on my company Nissan Q. Barely lasted 20k on the front. Rear ones lasted double as much and were replaced today with the front ones. The road noise is considerable and makes conversation with the passengers in the back seat almost impossible.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-16-H
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 45 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

OEM installed

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-H
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 45,000 Average miles

Skoda Yeti 4 x 4

A review here for frustrated Skoda Yeti 4x4 and Octavia Scout drivers with 225/50/17 tyres fitted with the OE "fast road" tyres that Skoda UK orders with its models instead of a proper Crossover tyre that ought to come with such a vehicle! We should be grateful that Bridgestone at least offers us such a tyre type, as no other manufacturer has bothered and hence your only choice is whether to go with these or stick to a purely performance tyre.
Firstly, ignore 90% of the reviews on here. Actual grip and "when new" noise levels are tested scientific facts and there's no point in arguing with TUV results or subjective magazine tests such as Auto Bild. This tyre fairs quite well in the 3 scientific tests conducted so far, so as Crossover tyres go it's not a bad one.
Should you switch to it when your OE tyres wear out? In a nutshell, Yes, if you live in the countryside like myself and need a bit of Off-road, Rough road or light snow confidence. No, if you live in areas that suffer from regular deep snow and ice, get some full-on Winter tyres instead!
Compared to Skoda's OE fitted performance tyres you"ll find : a slight drop off in hard cornering grip, a noticeable drop in damp road braking, but not much difference in dry road braking. On the plus side, aquaplaning resistance and straight line tracking in standing water is better, wet grass and mud grip is massively better, and uphill traction and steering in snow far better (although braking on snow is still weak). Ride Comfort in cold conditions is also good, as the rubber doesn't go so hard in freezing weather as a performance summer tyre. I've seen no difference in actual economy readings compared to the previous sport tyres.
Wear rate has been 20% better than the Dunlop Sports my Yeti came with, and Michelins I subsequently tried. I'm getting 25k from Fronts and 35k from Rears, and the tyre doesn't get too noisy with wear too, unlike the Dunlops which droned badly after 15k.
Overall, I'll stick with these for a 3rd set as the upsides on a 4x4 outweigh the downsides, and there's no competitor right now, as it looks as if Michelins potentially excellent new CrossPilot is a purely on-road tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.