Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport

The Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport
67%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
64%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
63%
Wear
72%
Comfort
63%
Buy Again
58%

Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport Reviews

40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TDI 170hp

These came VW factory-fitted as summer tyres on my second-hand Tiguan. Driven all summer on them and now just changed to the winter tyres...what a difference. I had assumed it was the Tiguan's set-up and probably partly is, but now with the winter tyres on I can hear/feel just how noisy and imprecise the Bridgstones were. I do a fair amount on rough winding mountain roads and never felt confident to really attack the road because I couldn't predict how the car would react because it was jumping around and usually understeering. On the straighter "main roads", the noise was really too loud....the Tiguan has a lot of sound-proofing but even so it couldn't deal with these tyres and overall I felt much happier in my 22 year-old Ford Focus. The positive....these tyres have done 24000 miles of summer driving and still have 6.5-7 mm tread. I'd really like not to put them back on next spring but that's a lot of money to "throw away"

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
68%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4

Well, suppose it is a road only tyre to which it does well. SUVs and much more pickups go off-asphalt so booo to both bridgestone and VW for fitting it to an Amarok and as such the poor review is well deserved. The tyre is AWFUL on anything more challenging than the best dirt roads. Just a mildly wet dirt-road and you're stuck. Dry grass and I barely knew what happened under my feet. A 100% on road tyre that performs well there, but doesn't deserve being fitted on a SUV much less a pick-up that intends to do more than parking on sidewalks!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-60-18-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Average miles

Subaru Forester

It always makes me laugh when people say one brand ihandles better, is louder, stops better in the wet etc. How would they know? As far as I can tell, tyres from premium brands of the same size and using similar components all handle about the same.

Noisy? Don’t know. They’re certainly more quiet than a proper off road tyre but I’ve usually got my phat beats pumping.

Performance in the dry is better than in the wet, no surprise there.

Handling? Surely the vehicle’s geometry has more of a say there ... maybe tyre pressure as well.

If you drive like a dick then it doesn’t matter what brand of tyre you use, you’re going to get into more trouble than if you take it easy.

All up, there’s nothing wrong with these tyres. I can’t fault them but I can’t really compare them with anything because they’re the only tyres I’ve had on the vehicle.

I drive a 2018 Subaru Forester with 15000 kms on the dial. Mostly urban driving but quite a few kms touring, gravel roads and beach driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Firm ride. Long lasting tyres that wear well. A littie noisy but handle wet and dry conditions well. Car was fitted with these when new and have refitted the same after 50,000 miles. Tyres showed no signs of cracking or side wall damage. Would buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Jeep Renegade longitude4x4

The dueler sports are by a small margin firmer than the michelin primacy they replaced but in all other aspects are just as good,they suit the car well,are quiet,steer well and feel secure especially on poor surfaces (in the uk that is most of the time!) Will be buying these again when new tyres are required.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-V
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Tiguan Sport 2.0 TDI 140hp

They're ok - but the rolling resistance seems massive compared to other tyres, and lateral stability and road noise are a problem.
Replaced them with Cross Climate+ for the winter and the difference in noise, economy and stability is distinctly noticeable.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-V
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Jeep compass

So i've had these tyres for a month and bit and they are just really noisy. Dry grip is okay, I've not had much of a chance to try them in the wet other than the odd downpour at which point they were at best average. The wear seems to be minimal but the noise, they are just so loud compared to the Vrederstein's when you drive at anything over 30mph.

One thing worth saying and it is mentioned in a few reviews these tyres are supposed to be premium but they do not hold well when trying to make quick directional changes. Rare in an SUV I grant you but still they just completely let go, leaving the steering going floaty and you get to roll your luck to see what happens. Really the only worse tyres I've experianced was the Nankang Greenline tyres and they are proper cheap so it says a lot about what Bridgestone need to do with this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-19-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Landcruiser

Reviewing D680's. Its a shame they no longer manufacture them.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-70-16-H
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 52 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

I've had this tyres on my 2WD Qahsqai since 2012. They came with the car and I felt them ok from the first day.
They are, overall, a pretty nice tyre; good dry grip on an "average" driving manner (nothing crazy to do with a Qashqai), decently comfortable, but a little bit noisy at high speeds, which becomes annoying when the tarmac gets rough. On rainy days they offer great response as long as the driving style keeps easy.
What it's been really good from this tyre is treadwear. They have lasted more than 50k miles with no drama, and probably could have done 5k miles more if they wouldn't have been already 5 years old.
I've replaced them with some Toyo Proxes CF2 SUV, and I have to say they're not that much different. The Toyo wins in comfort and noise, though.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 31,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Tiuan R Line

Really good tyres lasted for 31,000 miles from new on a VW Tiguan R Line and still had 2mm left on them.
Great wet and dry grip and really good handling in all conditions.
Longest lasting tyres I've ever had and would definitely recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.