Pirelli CINTURATO P7

The Pirelli CINTURATO P7 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli CINTURATO P7
75%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
74%
Road Feedback
74%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
73%
Comfort
75%
Buy Again
66%

Pirelli CINTURATO P7 Reviews (3)

69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20 Average miles

SEAT LEON 1.6 105 bhp

If you mostly drive in motorways, the tyre is generally good for normal and partly aggressive driving style and you will achieve thousand miles of driving.
But in the slippery and mostly bad greek urban roads, the P7 cinturato is not your best choise. The tyre is rough, takes a lot of time to get to the right temparatures, especially in cold and rainy days.
Yoy have the sense of lack of traction, and at the same time the comfortable of the suspension deteriorates, so you have the impression that something is going wrong with the steering wheel, the transmission and the front suspension of your car.
I bought 2 tyres the previous spring for the front axle and they have only 5000 miles. It would be pity to get rid of them and I am thinking to put them in the back axle and buy something more soft for the front axle.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320D

There tyres were fitted on the car when I bought it second hand. I do have to mention that they are runflat and that might just make them a little bit worse than the normal tyre. They feel pretty good in normal driving. The grip is definitely enough even when going fast but they I did slide while going fast some tight corners. The only think that I think ruins this tyre is the comfort. It’s not bad but definitely is not good. Going over bumps is definitely not a pleasant experience. Not that is ever is, but this tyre just feels too harsh. Again that might just be the fact that they are Runflats.
I will not buy this tyre again or at least not the runflats.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 32,000 Average miles

Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3

2008 Vauxhall Astra H (MK5) 1.6 turbo and currently 2010 Audi A3 1.8 turbo.
had them fitted for MOT in 2016 as "midium range" tyres for my beloved Astra. As far as I remember I paid 58 pounds for each which wasnt very bad. 3 years and 32k miles later this tyres are still in good condition. Amazing value for money. Degradation in very linear. They feel very safe, have a good grip when dry, on wet conditions though they aren't best. Havent tested them on snow either.
Two weeks ago I bought myself beautifull Audi A3 and guess what? I've changed all tyres for CINTURATO P7. Just a good product for good pice which I'd recommend for normal daily commuting.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

BMW X3

These came on my X3 when I bought it secondhand, and are BMW recommended. All 4 had approx. 5mm on at that point, and the first time I drove in the wet I was less than impressed at the reduction in grip levels - this was after I had had a 4-wheel alignment. 13000 miles later the tyres still have over 3.5mm but as summer is coming to an end I'm going to replace them. The date code shows them to be 5 years old, and I suspect they have done 35000 miles. If you're a high-mileage driver, these could be for you. They're not overly noisy on motorways, and are comfortable. But if, like me, you prefer to know you're not going to be sliding around on damp/wet roads, don't put them on your F25 X3.

I notice that some reviewers have posted comments on winter driving with summer tyres. I can't comment on what these might be like on ice/snow, as I use winter tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

BMW 328i

I had the runflat version of these fitted to my BMW 3 Series. They were absolutely terrible, the car had almost no grip in the wet, and the tread wore down far too quickly compared to other tyre brands, they lasted about 10 months, less than 8000 miles. The grip in the dry was very good however.

In the end I got a puncture from a stone! (should never have gone through a re-enforced runflat tyre) and i swapped the Pirelli Runflats for cheap, budget Chinese runflats (the brand name isnt even on this website, they're called "Gowind"). So far, the Chinese tyres are much better (and a lot cheaper), although i havent wet-grip tested them yet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 26,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo Giulia QF

Great tires on Alpha Romero Gila, great for first 25K miles, now at 26k miles rushing to replace. Great and confident cornering, stopping unreal, good traction on dry pavement. Hard rain and deep puddles - slow down, never tried in snow or ice conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo V60 D2

These came with our second hand 2013 V40 D2 car, and we used them for the better part of 18.000 miles. Mostly on the Dutch highways with speeds of 130 km/h max, and no spirited cornering etc. They were ok, right upto the change tyre mark, so the degradation is very linear. Overall it was an ok tyre for us, no big failings, but a tad noisy, and not really economical.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Toyota Estima Aeras G

Good tyre, grip well in dry, short braking, last longer than average. Overall satisfy with the performance & wear.

Downside is only noisy. You can feel the bumper and yellow line or bumpy road. A little bit pricey too.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-R
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 32 Average miles

Mazda 3 Sport 2.2 Diesel 185 BHP

These tyres were brand new fitted to a car I purchased and matching all round.

I have found both dry and wet grip very good in these tyres, and these have even managed to handle very cautious snow driving without too much bother. I do not find that these tyres need to be "warmed up" before they perform at their best.

These have worn almost identically on all four corners of my vehicle although this might be helped by the spot on alignment check I had early on and ensuring the pressures are kept at correct levels. Approaching the end of their life the front tyres have started to wear a little quicker than the rears but have managed 32,000 miles of mostly motorway style cruising.

These tyres have taken some battering from the horrendous state of UK roads and not had a problem until today, some debris cut my front right tire and it quickly deflated while travelling at 50mph on a motorway (average speed cameras in roadworks). Despite not noticing immediately the car still held onto the road well and was stable to drive even with a my steering wheel pulling left and right. So top marks for stability when they have suddenly deflated!

I am happy with the performance of these over the last two years and I have now purchased a brand new set to replace both of my front tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

SEAT Arona

Pirelli Cinturato P7 came as standard fit on my new Seat Arona in UK

Intially I thought the tyres were good, good grip, performed well. Seemed to be a good premium tyre. This was during the warm summer months.

However as the temperatures started to fall I discovered they are not happy when cold, On a few occasions I was pulling out of a side turning in rain with tyres scrabbling for grip, spinning the wheels in a 1 litre auto car was not what I expected. On one occasion a car came around a corner towards me, whilst I was struggling to grip the wet tarmac (which was quite dangerous, and has put me off the P7). However once the tyres had done a mile and warmed a bit they were ok.

In the UK they are sold as all year tyres, even if you pick up your new car in January in a blizzard, this is what is fitted, Seat UK (and other Volkswagen brands in UK) do not offer an all-season or winter tyre, on new cars, even as an option. However these are summer tyres, and quite poor in the rain when temperatures are lower.
When temperatures are close to freezing 0c they are hard and don't grip.

If you live in a hot country, or one where tyres are changed by season then these are great tyres. However performance in the rain is poor at temperatures below about +10c The UK can get cold rain (even in the summer) so these tyres are unsuitable for countries like UK with maritime climates.

I have since discovered that Pirelli sell an all-season (but not available in the 215 / 45 R18 size that is standard wheel fitted to some Seat Arona models in UK). I simply can't recommend the P7 for use in UK as it gets hard and non-grippy unless it is a warm / hot day. Even though they are wearing well I want to get rid of them this autumn because wheelspin is too easy with them.



Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.