Michelin Pilot Super Sport

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Super Sport
88%[average]
Dry Grip
95%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
90%
Progressiveness
86%
Wear
84%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
89%

Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

BMW na

well
i have had around 4 trackdays including couple of laps on the wet rainy Nurburgring day, it was indeed tricky and almost got me with the wet/standing water oversteering but dry performance is what you would expect: stable and you get what you paid for . probably ps4s / cup 2 would be better for the dry

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 13 Spirited miles

BMW M140i

Excellent in the dry although I could break traction in my 140i took a few cycles on launch control to hook up without spinning the wheels. Brilliant all round tyre, I occasionally track my car and it handles surprising well with fantastic tread wear. My car seems to wear the outer edges first but that's due to the standard control arms I've read M4 control arms fix this with more camber. In the wet they are pretty good for a summer tyre I always take it steady in wet weather anyway I'd advise anyone to do the same. They are noisy on the motorway. Country roads are the same however the grip is fantastic they really stick to the road and don't skip as you bounce from undulations in the road.
Overall highly recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

they are expensive

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 370Z

Replace the set of PS2, these tyres had more grip in both dry and wet than the PS2 and significantly better than the original RE050A. Quicker turn in and better road feedback, very grippy but it did give me a feel of sudden lost of grip at the limit than the PS2. Good fun on the track. They were also more quiet and less harsh even I had 98 at front and 100 loadings at the back. The PSS triggered the traction control to step in earlier than other sets, I got a habit of turning off the traction control when i started the engine.

My set didn't last very long though, had them for around 18ks before replacing them because cracks appeared on the surface of both rear tyres and at similar locations - cracks along the circumference on the inner tread blocks. My mechanics said the tyres were delaminating. Tyres made in week 13 of 2016, so about 3yrs old and no more.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Average miles

BMW M6 coupe

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST250

I bought this tyre, because I like to drive for weekend on country roads. My focus st now has grip, safety and the stearing is on the next level. Great job Michelin !!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E350

PSS are great tyres which replaced front pair of PS4. PSS's brought huge improvement in all aspect comparing to PS4's. Wear wise PSS's are by far better than PS4's. After 8000 miles tyres are still in very good condition. I love PSS's.

Sporty driving is excellent especially having PSS's in front.

Only downside on PSS is that manufacturer doesn't offer size 265/35/18 that I can fit on rear. Therefore PS2 fitted instead.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 4C

The stock tires on my car were Pirelli P Zero AR in 205/245 staggered size. ALFA 4Cs are great cars but the stock tires let them down. They emphasize tramming as many reviews mention. They are also only good for about 3 laps tracking before they get greasy. I went plus one size 215/245 and kept same aspect ratio as stock. The tires totally transformed the car! Tramming gone. Responsive tire that has great feedback. Tire wear on the stock tires....rear was worn out at 8000 miles (note amid engine car ) and fronts would give twice that milage. I did a couple of autocrosses and also spirited driving on the original tires. Have done 2 autocrosses with the new MPSS tires. More balanced, over steer and under steer is not an issue....easily controlled with trail braking and judicial use of throttle to rotate the car. Car has suspension upgrades and more power. When the turbo boost comes in it is very hard and tires can keep power to the ground. Wet handling is about on par with Pirelli ARs but dry is better in all ways. They can go more laps before getting greasy but they are still not a R compound so not the ideal track tire but great for DD plus occasional track day or auto cross.
I was hoping to get the newer Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires but while they are available in 245-19"....they have not come out with smaller than 225-18" for the front. I want to maintain the balance of the smaller 215 front tires on 7" wide rims as the 225s are really over sized for that rim width. The PSS are being replaced by the PS 4S tires so hoping they will have the correct size when my tires wear out. I have heard from other users of the PSS and the PS4S tires that while the newer tires do have a minimal improvement in dry/wet adhesion, the old PSS actually gave better feed back. Bottom line....if you have an ALFA 4C the Michelin PSS in plus one size is a great upgrade....you won't believe how it transforms the car. I am a Super Moderator of the ALFA 4C Forum. Many owners have gone to the PSS tires and haven't heard of any negative comments from users. And all remark on how much better the car drives with them....no tramming is a big deal!

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-19-V
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel

I bought them second hand 2x7.5mm 2x6.5mm and now after ~15.000km they are 2x6.3mm (front axel) and 2x3.3mm (rear axel)

Every day I'm amazed with the grip. The only thing I don't like about them is that they are noisy. I will need to change the tiers and still didn't decided should I buy them again or try the Pilot Sport 4S or GoodYear F1 ASY 3 (ASY 3 are 40euros cheaper / tire then pilot super sport / 4s)

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Ford Focus RS

Great tyre, have done two NC500 trips and a run over to Nurburgring, including some sustains 145mph autobahn cruising. Can't fault the tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.