Michelin Pilot Super Sport

The Michelin Pilot Super Sport is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Super Sport
87%[average]
Dry Grip
95%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
90%
Progressiveness
86%
Wear
83%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
89%

Michelin Pilot Super Sport Reviews

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 60,000 Spirited miles

Opel Astra H OPC

Michelin Pilot Super Sport, below 3mm tread depth left My point is to agree with Michelin about no need to rush to change tyres with the tread depth of 3mm and less. I have not noticed any dramatic changes in wet grip when caught by a torrential downpour on the highway (repeatedly). Dropping the speed to 80-90 km/hour is always enough, no metter how heavy it rains. As the rain exhausts its energy, I go up to 120-130 km/hour. After the rain stops but the highway is still wet you can go back to your 150 km/h. My wife and me are recreational drivers, sometimes having to cover 600 km a day. Safety is a concern for us. The car is Astra OPC (VXR). Cheers, YK

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW bmw

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

BMW M240i

The tires came factory fitted to my M240i, which I use as a daily driver. The dry grip and dry handling was the best part of the tires, but they needed some temperature to grip properly. Wear wasn't bad considering I often drove spirited on twisty roads. Once you experienced the Michelin PS4 you soon realize the Michelin Pilot Super Sport has very weak wet grip. Aquaplaning was very bad. Comfort wise the tires were quite hard, but not runflat hard. Overall an excellent tire for dry conditions, but weak in dry conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-18-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

BMW M140i

This review has been prompted since putting the PSSs back on the car from running a set of winter tyres. Coming back to these after running a set of Continental WinterContact TS 850P (over a mild winter) has clarified my initial impressions. To properly understand the scores I have given the Michelins, I need to give some background to the car they are fitted to and its dynamic traits. The M-lite cars suffer on bumpy, broken UK roads in a similar way to their full M Division bigger brothers. Overly stiff springs, no LSD and 370ft-lbs delivered from 1500rpm taxes rear traction at the very best of times. The suspension is designed for smooth German autobahns when fully loaded. So this car (on standard suspension) is particularly sensitive to the correct tyre match and the pressure they are set to. On a warm (15deg+) dry day, these tyres are magical. Immense grip, fast steering reactions and great stability. I love them on these days. On 'most' northern UK days i.e. cooler and damp, these tyres seem to stiffen up with the net effect of giving traction problems, having noisy tread-block movement on full lock and a fidgety unsettled ride that lowers confidence because I feel the car is skimming the surface of the road. Interestingly with full heavy rain, they seem to find more traction than just damp conditions, so maybe the tread design clears water better than the rubber compound seems to deal with lower temperatures? In contrast, the Conti winter tyres lost all the dynamic sporty benefits of the PSS (they are winter tyres after all) but replaced them with a far better ride and greater confidence in wet/cold weather. They are winter tyres! Back to the Michelins. Set to 34psi all-round and with the temperature hovering around 10degrees, all the negatives have come to the fore again. On the first day of fitting them back on the car, the steering precision, stability and dynamic behaviour where amplified directly after removing the softer Contis. The car felt dynamically amazing.....However since then I have adjusted back to how they behave on a daily basis. My conclusion is this; On the right car in a warmer climate, these are fantastic. If you do track days in warmer climates - amazing. I think they work well in a narrow window provided they suit the dynamics and power delivery of the car. In the UK on an M140i, I find them disappointing on more days than I love them. So the scores I have given them actually reflect the car/tyre match and not necessarily the tyres on their own. For what I want my car to behave like, I'll probably try a set of Goodyear Asymmetric 5s next. Hopefully these will give most of the plus points of both the Michelins and the Contis combined. I also need to set aside some funds for a suspension upgrade.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-18-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

BMW na

well
i have had around 4 trackdays including couple of laps on the wet rainy Nurburgring day, it was indeed tricky and almost got me with the wet/standing water oversteering but dry performance is what you would expect: stable and you get what you paid for . probably ps4s / cup 2 would be better for the dry

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 13 Spirited miles

BMW M140i

Excellent in the dry although I could break traction in my 140i took a few cycles on launch control to hook up without spinning the wheels. Brilliant all round tyre, I occasionally track my car and it handles surprising well with fantastic tread wear. My car seems to wear the outer edges first but that's due to the standard control arms I've read M4 control arms fix this with more camber. In the wet they are pretty good for a summer tyre I always take it steady in wet weather anyway I'd advise anyone to do the same. They are noisy on the motorway. Country roads are the same however the grip is fantastic they really stick to the road and don't skip as you bounce from undulations in the road.
Overall highly recommend.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

they are expensive

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 370Z

Replace the set of PS2, these tyres had more grip in both dry and wet than the PS2 and significantly better than the original RE050A. Quicker turn in and better road feedback, very grippy but it did give me a feel of sudden lost of grip at the limit than the PS2. Good fun on the track. They were also more quiet and less harsh even I had 98 at front and 100 loadings at the back. The PSS triggered the traction control to step in earlier than other sets, I got a habit of turning off the traction control when i started the engine.

My set didn't last very long though, had them for around 18ks before replacing them because cracks appeared on the surface of both rear tyres and at similar locations - cracks along the circumference on the inner tread blocks. My mechanics said the tyres were delaminating. Tyres made in week 13 of 2016, so about 3yrs old and no more.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Average miles

BMW M6 coupe

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST250

I bought this tyre, because I like to drive for weekend on country roads. My focus st now has grip, safety and the stearing is on the next level. Great job Michelin !!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.