Dunlop SP Sport 9000

The Dunlop SP Sport 9000 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport 9000
63%[average]
Dry Grip
75%
Wet Grip
65%
Road Feedback
64%
Progressiveness
61%
Wear
65%
Comfort
62%
Buy Again
52%

Dunlop SP Sport 9000 Reviews (4)

47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 36,000 Spirited miles

BMW 530D

I've had two sets on my BMW530D MSport and the rears are in need of replacement for the second time after 36K - ie about 18K per set. The fronts will last another 4 - 5K. I have been very disappointed in the wet performance particularly now that the tyres are nearing the end of their life. Very easy to spin up and generally little confidence. Will not buy again. Planning to replace with Michelin Pilot Sport PS2

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Average miles

BMW 330 Ci Sport

Bought four of these for my 330ci two years a go. Fronts have 5-6 mm still, rears are down to the limit.

Rears give a bit in the wet while pulling away but thats half the fun of rear wheel drive cars! Progression is good aswell.

Good tyres for the money but have my eyes on a pair of Pilot SPORT PS2's for the rears as I wouldnt mind them lasting a bit longer!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Lexus LS430

Good dry grip but still possible to spin the rears when pulling out, much worse in the wet. Noisy on poor surfaces and quite jarring on small imperfections at motorway speeds, both of these traits are dependant upon tyre pressure. At full load pressure the noise is much worse. generaly good around town at slow speeds. Back to a more conventional tread pattern for the next set.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 38,000 Spirited miles

Lexus IS200

Very smooth tyres as soon as they went on I noticed a difference and they were quite too. I found the dry grip good and the wet grip superb and the V tread suits the characteristics of the lexus IS200. They lasted a long time although I kept swapping them from back to front at 10k intervals found this to be the best way to get the most life out of them. i think overall Dunlop make good tyres and they look very nice too.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-V
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E320

Very noisy tyre. Wet grip is very poor but in dry conditions able to perform OK. Very similar to a previous set of Pirellis P6000s. My new set of Hankook Ventus V12 showed how tyres can be made quiet, with comfort and gripped really well in the dry and wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 107,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo

I bought these as to replace the cont sport contact2 that were originally on my Mondeo zetec s TDCI. The grip in both the wet and dry wasn't a patch on the grip on offer from the continentals when you pushed the car to the limit. They did last a bit longer and were slightly cheaper, bit of a dissapointment really. There not bad tyres, just not as good as the continentals for my driving style.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
55%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volvo S60 T5 250bhp

To be fair I've only had these Dunlop SP Sport 9000's on for the last 1,000 miles so it's a little early and the weather conditions have been mostly poor (cold & wet).
The tyres are noisy at all speeds, far more so than the previous Goodyear Eagle F1's and Bridgestone Pole Position SO2's.
Wet group from the Dunlops is pretty poor and the only reason I gave dry a positive rating is that it's a fairly progressive tyre in the dry. The Volvo S60 T5 is quite heavy but has a lot of power through the front wheels and in this respect the tyres have been OK. The ride feels firmer too despite identical tyre pressures to previous tyres.
I've tried a number of tyres on the Volvo over time and I would highly recommend the Goodyear Eagle F1's - the only reason I didn't get them this time was a shortage of supply at the time.
I get around 20,000 miles out of a set of F1's (have been through 2 sets), they are very quiet and provide excellent grip in all conditions.
The Standard fit Pirelli P-Zero's (UK Market with sports pack) were hopeless on the Volvo, far better suited to rear wheel drive cars.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Lexus LS430

very noisy tyre, good grip in the dry only average in the wet. very easy to spin the rears on damp wet roads. only 7000 miles of average driving and they are on the wear indicators.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Lexus LS430

Good dry grip but still possible to spin the rears when pulling out, much worse in the wet. Noisy on poor surfaces and quite jarring on small imperfections at motorway speeds, both of these traits are dependant upon tyre pressure. At full load pressure the noise is much worse. generaly good around town at slow speeds. Back to a more conventional tread pattern for the next set.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.