Dunlop SP Sport 9000

The Dunlop SP Sport 9000 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport 9000
63%[average]
Dry Grip
75%
Wet Grip
65%
Road Feedback
64%
Progressiveness
61%
Wear
65%
Comfort
62%
Buy Again
52%

Dunlop SP Sport 9000 Reviews (2)

81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi lancer

These are fitted to my Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 on the front wheels , I drive a 50/50 mix of motorway and B roads generally, with a varied driving style - steady to get to work and pushing on to get back Home! They were a good price £54 each fitted for a quality brand with excellent ratings I had high hopes. Braking , handling and acceleration were the best I had experienced in my current car in the dry , they perform very well in the wet too, real confidence in braking. I would think that they are the best performance style tyres in the size available, I like the look of the tyres , the brand and the noise is comparable to my previous bridgestone turanzas. I had these on the front for around 4000 miles when I swapped them to the rear, they seemed to wear quite quickly on the front which was a shame so I switched them to the rear, they currently have around 15000 on them with 4/5mm remaining. Bridgestone turanza lasted 40000m from new on the rear. So I think the wear is a little high, however if you demand max performance or cover slightly less mileage I would strongly recommend these tyres, as I do higher mileage now my may try something else with fuel saving claims / longer life.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12 Spirited miles

MINI Cooper S

A very good tyre which gives me lots of feedback in both dry and wet conditions.
When I need some more I will be replacing like for like.
For a run flat on standard rims I can zoom around roundabouts at 70+ thats not just the car but you can feal when a tyre wants to give out and these are stable and predictable.
They wear slowly, the ride is a little harsh but that is because these are runflats and have sturdy side walls.
We have drag raced these and seriously cannot fault them apart from the fact they are heavier than what I would normally use for our tuned R53.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,175 Average miles

Fiat Abarth Grande Punto

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8 Average miles

Suzuki cappuccino

you would think a manufacturer with the reputation of dun lop would produce a great sport Tyre, especially with the name sp sport 9000, but sadly just like reading a book by its cover it tells you very little,
this tyres are like plastic with low grip property's in the dry and wet what you will get is loads of smoke!,they will last you a long time but unfortunately this just prolongs the time you have to suffer with them,
i used them on my tuned Suzuki cappuccino 195/50/16 on the front,and have nothing but trouble with them,as the cappuccino is rear wheel drive and doesnt have abs this just adds up to trouble if you do decide to push it,
i have toyo t1rs on the back and for the money they are many times better.
you have been warned!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Corolla

Amazing Grip!! Suprised how well they handle in the wet! , Very good grip for all high performance cars, dry grip is absolutely excellent. Tyre noise is very low, silica Compund makes they tyres glue to the road surface (",) Goes well on my FWD CTS 200 BHP . Premium Tyres for the money you can't go wrong. Would buy again . Overall i think these tyres are superb!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 18,000 Spirited miles

BMW 330CI M Sport

I must say I'm surprised at the number of negative reviews. I have used the SP Sport 9000's for the last 4 years on the same BMW 330 Ci M Sport (now on second set), and they've performed well. This has however been predominantly high speed motorway driving, not country roads. At motorway speeds the grip is reasuring, and noticably good on bends - in particular going over 'bumps' in the motorways on the bends, which can easily make a car step sideways. With these tyres this doesn't happen (perhaps due to the more longitudinal 'fan' tread pattern giving excellent sideways stability). Basically, the car does not lose its footing meaning you stay in the correct lane, regardless of speed! The performance in the wet is similar i.e. very good, and in particular, I have never aquaplaned, even when accidentally going through unseen standing water at speed. Wet performance is indeed reasuring. Braking performance is even better, wet or dry, and is an area of performance that has impressed on many occasions, regardless of tyre age/wear. Slightly noisy, but I don't hear that in the BMs cabin, so not too concerned there. I would say they aren't the most comfortable tyres ever used. Road feedback is good, but in my experience that detracts from the comfort. Can't have it all, I suppose. Very good wear, but most likely due to motorway miles and not country lane racing. They also look great. One major negative - don't bother attempting to drive in even the smallest amount of snow. Zero grip and endless sliding! Would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Honda Civic 1.8 5 door

I want to drop a line about the Dunlop tyres that were on my second hand Borbet rims. I considered Dunlop to be an A brand and thus trusted on them to be quite good. When I first fitted the wheels to my car it was a warm and dry day. I drove the car around for half an hour and the tyres were (compared to my stock Michelin Pilot Primacy) a bit less in dry grip. They made more noise en you couldn't tell exactly when they were going to loose grip. But overall not that bad.

Everything changed when I drove the Dunlop SP 9000 tyres in the rain ! It was like havig totally other tyres on the car, in the worst kind of way.
No grip at all ! Sliding away at roundabouts and even more noise. My wife demanded that I put the other rims back on the car, with the Michelins.

Defenitly not a tyre I would recomend !

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Average miles

Fiat Grande Punto TJet

Had them since i bought the car from new. Handling is good on dry in general and since most of the miles are average, they could last quite long.

They are good on wet surfaces too with nice progressiveness, but they need time to reach their operating temperature at least at my car.

Generally, i would go for them again but i beleve they are too expensive for what they offer and cheaper tyres could do the job similarly.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 120,000 Average miles

Rover Vitesse Turbo (12 psi version)

I'm amazed at the number of bad reviews of the SP9000. On the Vitesse, handling was superb (once you sussed that the book pressure was badly wrong!) wet and dry, and they were not bad on snow. They were fairly docile through the limit. Wear and noise were only so-so (18-26 k-miles front and back). Not perfect, but overall they were the best tyres I've had (and very much better than the old SP2000s that were on the car when I got it).

I'm looking for new tyres for a ZT190, and found excellent reviews of reviews of the SP9000 on an MG club site. So I guess it depends on the car?

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

Fiat Grande Punto TJet

Those were the original tyres on the stock car since the day one so after 20k miles I feel like they are not supposed to be even called sport since they are no good for cars over 100 bhp.So I dont recommend these dunlops at all.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.