Dunlop SP Sport 9000

The Dunlop SP Sport 9000 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport 9000
63%[average]
Dry Grip
75%
Wet Grip
65%
Road Feedback
64%
Progressiveness
61%
Wear
65%
Comfort
62%
Buy Again
52%

Dunlop SP Sport 9000 Reviews

80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

BMW 3 series

Exeptional grip on water. Literally like nothing else. Braking and taking off from zero was like on a dry road on a summer day. If you have a wider profile (like 244 and more) you may slip a bit when cornering really hard which is not that good yet manageable but nothing beats them on straigt forward movement. Regardless if dry or wet. The only downside is (was) that you had to drive them daily to be able to fully replenish the rubber. I had them on a weekend car and the tyres "dried out" and as they got harder the cornering ability went almost bust and the usual wheel bearing noise which originates from hard wheels came back (but straight line movement was almost unchanged). So I had to change them even though they had about 65% left.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
36%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Mazda Mazda Miata

I tried these tyres thinking they would be great as they were the most expensive in the size im restricted too, for daily driveing they were ok but when pushed they would let go pretty quickly and the wear rate was pretty poor. I used them on the front of my turbo mx5 drift car that i also daily, on the road and pottering about they were go but once on the track and started pushing they were really bad, iv used alot of other tyres that were far cheaper and far superior, they would loose grip with little warning and would wear quickly but in chucks of tyre, most tyres wear evenly as they scrub up but these fell apart, wasnt impressed, i know i pushed them hard but they juat didnt hold up to their reputation.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-40-16-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Nissan GTiR

I don't know what's wrong with the people who slate these tyres unless they've bought Chinese fakes. These tyres have been awesome in the dry and wet on my little 4x4 but they are crap in the snow. Drag racing on an airfield at over 100mph though a standing car sized puddle and not even the slightest hint of aquaplaning. Tyres were a lot newer then though. It's just a shame they've stopped making them in my size.
I've never reached the limit of these tyres as the speed required would probably have killed me if it went wrong.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-35-16-V
21%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 1
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,500 Spirited miles

Toyota Supra

Terrible tyres, absolutely terrible, no grip on them at all. I'm running 275s on the rear and 245s at the front, they feel like they are detached from the road, and don't get me started about wet conditions, would never buy these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-18-
37%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Easy Going miles

Jaguar X Type 3.0 SE auto

I drive a jaguar x-type awd. I changed my tyres to a new set Dunlop sp sport 7000d 225/45/17 about 15000km ago and I am very disapointed with them. The tread is ok-"ish" but I have had two blow-outs(or lets say ripped open on the inside) with them. This tyre can not handle the suspension of the jaguar x-type.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Average miles

BMW 328cI

I find it strange reading all of the comments, particularly those about poor grip in the wet and poor wear. I drive a BMW 328Ci with 235BHP and I'm no slouch in my driving style. I'm really impressed with these tyres, their handling in wet is very good and predictable and as for the dry I've really pushed them on(quiet) roundabouts and have never made them loose grip, as for the dry they stick to the road as good as any of the best/more expensive tyres. Also they have done over 14,000 miles and the rears still have 3.5mm of tread and the fronts around 5mm. They are difficult to get hold of now so they next tyres will be the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx; I'll let you know how they compare?

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C200k

Have recently fitted a set of SP 9000's to my car. Amid stories of unusual noise levels, the noise in my Merc's cabin is the same, if not less, than when I had a set of budgets on the car. I use the car for daily commuting and do not participate in any form of racing. Will update after 5000km.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 11,000 Average miles

Hyundai Coupe 2.0L

Was impressed by these tyres. They were fitted to a set of alloys I purchased with 6mm+. I dont do many miles (5k a year) and im currently on 4.3mm on each tyre and ive just had my 2nd MOT done so very good wear rate for a front wheel drive car. I dont drive very hard but every now and again comming off a roundabout I will push them a little bit. Being run flats and on a 35profile Ive currently got they are quite bumpy. they have out lasted my 225/40/18 bridgstone potenza 002 which ive done 15k miles on a diffrent car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-18-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Hyundai Coupe 2.0L

I only use the car for local commutes and havnt had a chance to try the limit in the wet. They came on a set of alloys I bought with over 6mm left on each tyre. In the dry they stick very well and in corners squeal alot but have yet to let go. I think my car set up is weaker than the tyres limit which is a good thing. Only had them on the car a few hundread miles so cant comment on wear. I must say the road noise has increased quite alot since having these on. Had budget tyres on previously.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-18-
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Spirited miles

Holden Monaro

The worst tyres I have ever had. Dry conditions aren't too bad - but they are downright scary in the wet. I feel like I'm driving on ice, just simply cannot rely on them for straight line traction or cornering grip. Negotiatiting roundabouts inspire terror. And, did I mention road noise - I thought my diff was on the way out the drone was so bad at 80kph + speeds. I had better wet weather grip in the 1970's with a set of Dunlop cross ply's.
Please, do not risk your or your families life with these tyres (unless you live in the desert & never experience rain).

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.