Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx
67%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
65%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
54%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews (4)

58%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz s320 cdi

Noisy tyre..wear on both edges..Tyre pressure and alignment okay...But only on front axle from the w221 s320 cdi.... Rear axle wear okay
Total 25.000 Miles

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Jaguar XF S

My car came fitted with these (Jaguar rated) tyres when I bought it. The rears were new and fronts I imagine quite recent. The XF-S is a 1.8 tonne 275bhp/600Nm car so with a lead foot driver, the tyres take a hammering. That said, even on full throttle out of a junction I've rarely seen much wheel spin, in the wet the tyre is confidence inspiring and on the dry they grip well, making the car very chuckable.
After 18,000 miles in 16 months rears are 2mm in the middle but still 4mm on the edges and the fronts are badly tracked but still have over 3mm elsewhere. so If I'd rotated them and dropped the rear pressures a bit I suspect they'd easily have done another 3-4,000 which would have been pretty good imho. Usage has been mainly 6 mile commute with a number of 200 mile runs.
Recently I've noticed some tram lining and a bit of vibration and of course the ride isn't as good as it once was but as the tracking is clearly out, that may explain some of it and grip has remained excellent throughout, even in the wet.
Considered Avons and Khumos as replacements (used to use them on my Merc) but whilst they are probably as good grip wise and probably comparable on wear, I had to frequently rebalance them, which I haven't on the Dunlops. I guess thats where the extra quality shows. Just ordered 4 more.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Average miles

Audi Q7

These were fitted new by an Audi main dealer when I purchased the car second-hand. During my 12 month ownership I have always adjusted my tyre pressures according to the weight in the vehicle hoping to increase tyre life. After only 8 months of ownership I noticed they had started to wear on the outer edges on all four of my tyres & also cracking in between the tread around the circumference of the tyres, the middle of each tyre had approx 5/6mm of tread left. When the car went into Audi for warranty work I mentioned the tyres & the reply was "it is normal wear because it's a big, heavy vehicle". Now, 2 months after it went into Audi my tyres are really bad on the outer edges ( the near side front & back seem to be the worst) but the rest of the tyre still has at least 5mm of really good tread. I fitted the same type of tyre to the front of my wife's Golf GTI nearly 20k ago & they've been brilliant but I'm sorry to say that this isn't the case on my Q7 & at £260+ each tyre I'll be searching around for something a bit more long lasting, really disappointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-40-20-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 36,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiuan R Line

Came with car as original spec,had replace fronts afte 26000 miles, the rears have just went through a MOT with 36000 miles on them, still 1mm above legal!!!!!!
The fronts were replaced with Khumo Ecasta and 10000 miles there not much better than the rears. Will be replacing all 4 with the Dunlops. the tyre noise is very noticeably lower than the Khumo's as well.
Tiguan r-line 170 BHP

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C200 Kompessor Coupe Auto

Moved onto these from fastresponse tyres.
Dry grip is good but as soon as light rain hits the bitumen I start wheelspinning from standing start. My car isn't that powerful.
Road noise was noticably louder and initially annoying until I got used to it to the point that the mechanic remarked and reminded me how noisey they were.
Wears pretty fast but I'm expecting about 20000kms out of them on average-spirited urban driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Honda Accord

have gone though this tyre 4 times. was very happy until found sport max tt give be greater cornering control than these. i can get wheel spin when they became part worn to 50 %

Tyre size reviewed: 220-40-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo GTi

Amazing tyre, however I do not have the budget to buy these again, they lasted 35,000 kms and were excellent in the wet. I could take a high speed bend at full throttle as I would not even dare to do so in my other car (s14). Overall, I am extremely happy but I do not have the budget to replace these... Looking for cheaper options atm.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Ford FPV GT P

Poor traction in the dry with hard acceleration tyres damaged easily from stones expensive to buy. I think you just pay for the name.these tyres lasted 15000 KM. I would not buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 145-35-19-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Vauxhall Insignia CDTI 160

When brand new in the summer the tyres were fine however once ran in they were noisy on anything but smooth tarmac.Grip was fine but not anything special wont buy again but not a bad buy.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

SEAT Ibiza FR TDi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.