Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

The Dunlop SP Sport Maxx is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx
67%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
69%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
67%
Wear
65%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
54%

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Reviews (2)

89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 17,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Skoda Superb MK1

Great tyre, well priced, very quiet on all roads and made the car handle very well when needed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
58%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen 1.8 20vT Sport

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-16-H
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 0
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 8,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz A45

chunks of rubber flew off the inside edge on the motorway. Car had no faults and was well serviced. The rest of the tyre had 5-6mm across the tread. Took them all off and replaced with Pirelli as no taking the risks of dangerous tyres. Seen a few other threads with this happening so not a one off. Poor show Dunlop!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,650 Spirited miles

Honda VTR 1000 FireStorm

Had these on my 99 Honda Firestorm.
Ok tyre but a bit sloppy in the wet and feel numb and dull in the
Dry. Not a bad tyre by no means but little feedback and only mid-level grip.
Ok for mile munching but can be a little noisy at times.
Tyres have about 1/3 life left in them but I'm looking at changing already as I'm beginning to lose faith in them especially as winter is coming!

Tyre size reviewed: 180-55-17-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Toledo

I am driving (Seat Toledo 2014.) on sport maxx about 15.000 km, on dry roads tyres are ok, handling is good, on hard brakings abs reacts earlier than i expect. On wet roads I have feeling that car is often on the edge, not satisfied how tyres act. Not comfortable tyre, but have great lateral "shield", saved wheel rim once after was pierced. For lasting - medium rating.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-16-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Fabia vRS

These came with my new car. A decent tyre in my opinion in terms of grip. Although I didn't push them very hard for many miles, cornering & handling in dry are very good when reaching its limits, even in the very slippery ( not wet ) Greek roads. Feedback is not on par but I believe you can blame my car for this. In wet is almost as good. I didn't have any issues. But when it comes in terms of comfort and noise things change dramatically. Too hard for me ( unbearable in almost everywhere Greek bumpy roads ) and almost as noisy. For this reason I won't buy them again. Replaced them with Adrenalins RE002 and saved my back. But the later have grip issues in low friction tarmac.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-16-H
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI

Came standard on VW Polo 2016 model. Decent in dry conditions, not so in the wet. I feel confident in dry grip, and they are preety silent, and confortable. In wet however I don't feel confident. Hill starts sometime end up in wheelspin. Wear seems allright on light car such as VW Polo after 1 year.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.4 TDI

Polo !.6 with factory low profile tyres
Having previously had Continental tyres on the car two sets covering 56.000 miles, I was recommended
to try Dunlop SP Sport Maxx Better handling in the wet and a lot cheaper than The previous brand.
Well after two months and 3.000 miles a bulge appeared on the drivers side front, turns out to be impact
damage.. had to buy another new tyre.. 6th March notice the passenger side has gone the same ...
no doubt they will say the same again..
These tyres are not fit for purpose ... I am a mature owner and driven on normal British roads and not hit any major
potholes, I would have been better of paying the extra for the Continental as after replacing two tyres the cost
at £216.00 .. I am quids out of pocket... Moral of the Story if you've got something with proven track record, stick with
it and dont buy Dunlop SP Sport Maxx

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 60 Spirited miles

Lexus IS250SE

Traded in rears at 78,000 kms and 4 years (front replaced at 60,000kms with poor alignment.). My Lexus and I loved the tyres. I am considered to be an aggressive driver so I am not kind to tyres. Good grip wet and dry. You need to be a little careful of keeping alignment good as they wear quickly if out of kink. Tried to buy again but no longer offered. See how the Super Maxx 050 goes.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.