Pirelli Scorpion Verde

The Pirelli Scorpion Verde is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Pirelli Scorpion Verde
67%[average]
Dry Grip
78%
Wet Grip
71%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
68%
Wear
62%
Comfort
71%
Buy Again
54%

Pirelli Scorpion Verde Reviews

51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Land Rover Freelander 2

Worst tyre I have had in over 50 years of motoring. After 2 years and 14,000 miles first sign of cracking in grooves between treads. Cracking progressively got worse until had to change tyres at 4 years and 30,000. By this time tyres were in a distressed state with multiply cracks in groves and chunking of tread. Material looked very hard and brittle. For reference previous set of Pirelli tyres were changed after 5 years and 43,000 miles with over 2mm tread left,

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz ML

Not driven at all hard 15,000 and almost done, last set of tyres i drove on did 55,000 mls, very poor wear rate

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Audi Q5

Very good tyre and very durable. I have still about 3 mm in front and 3,5 mm in the rear axle, but its became unsteerable in the vet.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60

I’ve just changed the OEM fitted Pirelli’s and had the same tyre fitted again. I had 35,000 miles out of the fronts with the n/s/f showing 2mm and the o/s/f at 3mm. With all the very heavy rain I was unwilling to leave it much longer though it’s just possible I could have got to 40,000. I’ve been happy with these tyres, I don’t push things these days so they are probably more suited to a cruising / motorway tyre than anything sporty. I noticed a significant improvement with the new tyres which is unsurprising as the degradation is gradual over time. The originals were very heavy on the steering at the end and were noticeably less happy dealing with rough road surfaces and potholes that seem to proliferate on uk roads today.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60

I’ve just changed the OEM fitted Pirelli’s and had the same tyre fitted again. I had 35,000 miles out of the fronts with the n/s/f showing 2mm and the o/s/f at 3mm. With all the very heavy rain I was unwilling to leave it much longer though it’s just possible I could have got to 40,000. I’ve been happy with these tyres, I don’t push things these days so they are probably more suited to a cruising / motorway tyre than anything sporty. I noticed a significant improvement with the new tyres which is unsurprising as the degradation is gradual over time. The originals were very heavy on the steering at the end and were noticeably less happy dealing with rough road surfaces and potholes that seem to proliferate on uk roads today.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 16,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz GLC 250 4 Matic

Came stock with my GLC. Worn down too quickly and is very noisy

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-20-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 42,000 Average miles

Land Rover Evoque

Original fitting to an Evoque. Still good after 42,000 miles so wear has been excellent despite rough country roads caning the life out of them. Down to 3mm on the front and now not so good in the wet and poor in standing water (to be expected I suppose). Excellent when we had snow, was only one to get out of the village apart from heavy duty land rovers.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz GLC43

Not grippy on dry or wet

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-20-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 32,000 Average miles

Volvo XC60

These tyres came fitted from new on my XC60 2wd 2.0D4 in 2016. Previous experience with Pirelli tyres made me wary of just how good these tyres might be for grip. They have been almost faultless in the 3 years I’ve been using them. Ok I’m not doing high mileage around 10,000 per year, but at 32,000 miles they still have 3 mm left at the front and nearer 6mm on the rear. I’ll be changing them soon before the weather really turns but I’ll be looking to replace them with the same again. Handling and feedback are a bit of a subjective thing with a car like the xc60 albeit this is an RDesign model with slightly better handling, but I have no issues thus far. Driving mix has been around 60:40 between town and motorways.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-V
19%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Touareg

These are the worst tyres ever made!
Firstly, I got a set of 235/65/17 for my Touareg. They wore out extremely fast and they got a lot of punctures. There was some time I carryed around two (2!) spare winter wheels because of this shit.

I never seen a tyre such bad, they got punctured even from small rocks!

After 3 or 4 years I decided to give this model another chance - I had a big discount for a 255/60/17 set (also compatible with my Touareg wheels). F*** my life! They were even worse - on country roads the small rocks simply cut into the tyre... I never experienced a tyre such bad and I had from Kormoran to Debica (romanian cheapest brand).

Tyre size reviewed: 235-65-17-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.