Toyo Proxes 4

The Toyo Proxes 4 is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Toyo Proxes 4
71%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
63%
Road Feedback
72%
Progressiveness
66%
Wear
77%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
63%

Toyo Proxes 4 Reviews (4)

74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio 172

Dry grip considerably greater than wet, plenty of feedback and progression allows you to back off in plenty of time. So handling is predictable if not special, they are mid range after all.

Fronts are barely legal after approx. 8000 miles, comprised of spirited back road sprints, and some dual carriageway punishment, also used for ~2-3 mile commute through town which is very gentle usage. 1 recent 'track day' on a poor surface removed what little tread was left on the fronts. They seem to cope with a bit of standing water even with no tread, probably helped by my choice of 5-10% extra PSI.

Ride is a little too firm, although a combination of slight overinflation, low profile of the tyres and stiff(ish) suspension will assure that on any tyre. Coped well with snow when nearly new earlier this year, helped by my godlike driving no doubt. ;p

I'm going down to 15" wheels as tyres are cheaper and standard wheels/tyres for my car are that size. They will be 195/50/15 and I may choose these again on a price over performance basis as they will be predictable anyway.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-V
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Spirited miles

Honda EM1 Civic VTi R

Everyone seems to be giving these tyres a high rating for road noise, I have experienced quite differently. I am starting to think there is something wrong with the ones on my car, they have over 80% tread still on them but are second hand which could be the reason. They seem to make a whirring noise at all speeds but below 20KPH and slowing down or speeding up they make the car vibrate, not a bad wheel alignment or bad balancing vibration but a tyre pattern vibration.

However the traction in the dry is amazing, I would rate them the same if not a little better then the kumho KU25s I had before.

No rain since I've had them on the car so I don't know what they are like in the wet. Can't comment on wear either.

One other thing to note is the rim protection is awesome! comes out over the rim by quite a bit and I would imagine that they should protect the wheels very well. My KU25's failed at this and it made me sad.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12 Spirited miles

Toyota SS3 Beams Celica

It seems many people writing reviews on Toyo tyres do not understand that these tyres need a 500k break in period to get rid of the slippery compounds that are forced out of the tyre surface on first use.
I found these tyres better grip than the Toyo Teo Plus
The Proxy 4's, as with all Toyos, give you plenty of warning before they slide. And when they do slide they are slow. These tyres are very good in the dry. Cornering in the wet I found them good but they did lose traction a little under heavy braking at 160k. Wear and road noise good

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-15-
38%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Handling 0
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Bought these to replace Goodyear eagles. BIG mistake. Overall grip levels are comparable to the chap nankangs my car came with.

Really not suited to rear wheel drive. In the dry the back steps out easily. In the wet the rear slithers all over the place even under the most gentle acceleration but the worst is damp I.e just as it starts to rain. Like driving on ice. They're unpredictable and all for corners go where they please. Definitely a tyre to avoid. Unless you never drive above 40mph.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-15-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Average miles

Honda Civic Type R

Very good dry grip although sidewall is a little softer than the OEM RE040 potenza's leading to flex on cornering. A slight increase in tyre pressures to 34 front and 32 back seemed to solve this. In the wet they are much better than the potenza even when worn. I used to be scared driving away from the lights or pulling out of junctions when it rained because the potenza's would spin up at the slightest provocation. They would also aquaplane quite badly and made for nervous motorway driving. Proxes are very sure footed in the wet. Wear has been particularly good although 80% of journeys are motorway. Overall a very good all round tyre, not quite as good as the potenza in the dry but much better and safer in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet Cavalier

I wish i could of bought these tyres again but they were a lil out of my price range. These tyres were THE BEST i ever drivin on. Wet AWESOME, Dry AWESOME and corner extremely well even without sway bars and coilovers! I just got my self Yokahama parada 2. Hope they work out well....

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 11,000 Average miles

Volvo S60 T5 250bhp

Don't know why this tyre get's such bad review's i find them very good and only ?80 each fitted. have done over 10000 miles and the front's our on 6mm.
Also very good in the snow for a summer tyre

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Honda S2000

Bridgestones were nice. After purchasing the toyos, I have to admit, I felt the difference right away (in a good way). My s2000 was riding smoother. As for the wet grip, no real complaints here. I just hope they don't wear out too fast. If they do, i'm not rebuying...suckers cost me $500 (f@#%n staggered rims)

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,100 Average miles

Honda DC5 INTEGRA TYPE R

Bought the car with these tyres on and in the dry they perform very good and are very grippy, but the problem with these are in my opnionion their not very grippy in the wet. Ive used the Toyo T1'RS before this on another DC5 Integra Type R and they definately grip better than these Toyo's 4. The only probem with soft compound tyres like these toyo t1r's and toyo 4's is they will have the jelly like feeling because they have soft sidewalls.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Spirited miles

MINI Cooper S Works

After having T1S all around on my 2004 Mini Cooper S Works, I was expecting good things with this PX4 having being recommended them by my local tyre fitter.

After letting them bed in for a 100 miles I went for a spirited drive on some dual carriage ways with long sweeping bends and obvious straights.

Let me say this is the most dangerous tyre I have ever come across. On rutted roads I would get the traction control light flashing whilst braking from 70mph due to the tyres moving about so much at the rear.

The tread blocks move about so much you can just push it with your finger. Going around 70 degree bends at just 30 mph, you could feel the car sliding out from the back end. Also confirmed by the DSC light.

Went back to the tyre fitters and they replaced them for me with some better tyres.

God only knows what these will be like in the wet / winter. Glad I had them swapped out.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.