Toyo Proxes 4

The Toyo Proxes 4 is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Toyo Proxes 4
71%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
63%
Road Feedback
72%
Progressiveness
66%
Wear
77%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
63%

Toyo Proxes 4 Reviews (2)

40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST

Possibly the worst tyre I've ever fitted to my car.

Even budget Accelera's were better.
Dry grip is ok, but there isn't much give. yyou're going around a bend fine, or understeering out the other side.

Damp/wet grip is terrible. Cars unsettled and won't grip at anything other than a snails pace. The standard Conti 3's with 2mm of tread were better. I get the TC light flashing at me in 5th on some occassions, and wheelspin in 3rd in the dry

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 26,000 Average miles

Honda Civic Coupe 1.7 Petrol.

Very nice tyres, unbeaten in the dry! didn't really feel confident enough to push it in the wet but who does push it in the wet? wear rate was brilliant! had them on for 25k with 2 rotations over a 7 month period & still had 4/5mm all round before I sold the wheels with the tyres. Tyre size was a 205/40/17, profile was quite sexy with the rim protector which did its job quite well when the mrs had the car (on very few occasions fortunately) As for comfort, well again for low profile tyres they were very nice on the road with average noise levels (Japanese Coupe with minimal sound proofing) feedback was excellent in the dry, if you do push them, you can feel them gripping the more you push. Doesn't take them too long to get warmed up either. Definately would buy again. This was my 2ns set. Onto Hankook K110s next :)

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Celica SS3 Beams

Good grip in the dry and fairly good in the wet. They will break sooner than the T1R's, but the slide is slow and controllable. They last longer than the T1R's- about 2000k, but not as long as the Teos. They are quieter than the T1R but not as quiet as the Teos.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi Colt

Now on my second set of these as I have been so pleased with them on Mitsubishi Colt. They are much better than the original Continentals that were on from new. They also worked really well in the snow of 2010 and 2011 and we never go stuck. Will be sticking with TOYO from now on.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-H
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus ST

Juts about the worst wet weather tyres I have ever had the misfortune to fit to any car I have owned and I have been driving cars for 35 years.
In the wet (or damp) they are just about ok in a straight line, but take a corner at anything faster than mother drives and you are under-steering to a degree you will not comprehend. Lateral grip is appalling. They let go with no warning (and as I have already at very low speeds) and getting them back on track is case of praying and pulling in various cheeks.
I changed to these from Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta’s and to say there is a huge difference between the two is an understatement – pay the extra and be happy and safe.
I drove into the garage with a car that was tight-handling, predictable and very safe in the wet (even with 2-2.5mm of tread left). They never ever let go the way these things do.
I came out with a wallowing (the side walls are so soft compared to the Ultracs), low-grip (not so bad in the dry), slow turn-in (you wonder at first if you have actually turned the wheel) bag of S...e.
Without a doubt, once these tyres wear out I will NEVER EVER buy another one.
I drive a Focus ST (Eibachs lowered) with about 280-290 bhp , so if you drive the same, or similar, then don’t bother with these tyres unless you want to end up in a ditch. If you are pushing out similar power you will get wheel-spin in 4th in a straight-line which can be a little disconcerting for some when you’re not expecting it – in the wet forget ANY acceleration other than half-throttle in 1st and 2nd.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

MINI Cooper S Works

Bought these after reading reviews. I drive VERY spirited and like to push the car, so really do need the tyres to be responsive. These, however, were average to good in the dry, but APPALLING in the wet! I had absolutely no confidence going around corners in the wet - in fact they were worse than the Pirelli runflats I had on before them!!! I won't be buying them again - I changed to Dunlop SP Sport, and OMG WHAT a difference in both wet and dry!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-18-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Easy Going miles

Ford Mustang

these were good and, second set of tires oara my mustang gt 2004, bringing the agency were goodyear eagle which I left a bad taste in my mouth since at full throttle even further revote toyo much that did not do in general are good tires and an acceptable price for excellent grip on dry and wet but I felt that wore out too fast

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 750 Spirited miles

Renault Clio 172

These tyres replaced the mixed bag of tyres that I had on my car. I had bought the car with new Triangle front tyres and rear michelins one of which even after 51000 miles was probably original :(. So any set of 4 tyres was likely to be an improvement!

I was initially dissapointed in these tyres as I felt that I wasn't gaining much in the way of grip, wet or dry. However this was just to do with the running in period. They do require a decent scrub! I then found that the car suffered from far less understeer in both the wet and dry and if pushed to the limit became extremely talkative however there was a dead point around the lower limits which initially was a little unnerving but this was soon tackled by a bit of bravery! On a B road blast I found that even though the car is FWD it was pivoting around the middle and felt so alive and willing to be pushed. I can guarantee that this is down to the tyres rather than the car as I had been on the same road a week before fitting these tyres pushing just as hard without the same results.

I'm rating these at about 70% because I feel they could have more in the way of progressiveness, wet grip and communication. However for £170 fitted I couldn't really ever see past them.

P.S They so far have been excellent in the snow!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 4,000 Average miles

SEAT Ibiza FR TDi

Totally transformed the car compared to the yokohama prada's that were on there before and only £3 more from the local

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 36,000 Average miles

Dodge Charger SRT

Before I bought these I considered several brands and had no idea which might work best for my needs or driving style. I wanted the best tire for a very reasonable price. I used reviews such as these to make my final decision.

My car came with the Goodyear F1's which run about $320 each. IMO the Toyo Proxe 4's are hands down better then the Goodyear's. This is from dry grip, to comfort, to road noise. I have 36k miles on these tires and am about to purchase another set. The rears look good while the fronts are definitely worn. I will mention I could not rotate the tires because they are directional and I ran a staggered set up.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.