Toyo Proxes 4

The Toyo Proxes 4 is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Toyo Proxes 4
70%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
62%
Road Feedback
71%
Progressiveness
65%
Wear
77%
Comfort
75%
Buy Again
62%

Toyo Proxes 4 Reviews

67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Fabia 1.9TDi

Not made for the UK weather .....had these on a 4x4 Subaru before and loved them ...now have them on a fabia vrs and honestly scared in the wet ....sticks like glue in the dry but no confidence in them with wet....won't be buying them again for the vrs ....weight of car might not help or 2 wheel drive but they are getting changed

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

BMW M5

This tyres are good, just you have to consider the weight of vehicle. I had them on 5th series of BMW and they work well in any weather conditions. I would not put them for SUV. Actually any wide high speed tyres doesn't like a vertical clearances. that time they loose grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Ibiza FR 1.8T

Not a bad tyre for the money, but definitely a summer tyre. Dry grip is good with decent feedback, fairly progressive. I ran these on a fast-road setup car with coilovers and polybushes and around 240bhp, and they worked well although as they worse they struggled to put the power down. Wet grip was not the best and therefore driving style should be adjusted as appropriate. The sidewalls are quite soft on these, I found I needed a few extra psi to balance that out or the ride felt a bit 'soggy'. I ran this tyre on both 6.5J and 8J rims with no issues.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Ford Falcon XR6 Ute

Adequate in the Dry but spooky in the wet especially on long fast corners. They spin up way too easily in the Wet; much more prevalant that previous Conti3;s & even Achillies. The good thing is theve made me get a really good set of Pirelli Rossos, which are GR8 !

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-P
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 328i

Not the best tyre in the world IMO - Tyre doesnt inspire confidents or gives decent feed back - wet grip is rubbish and all over the place. Two good things is they are average in the dry and hard wearing. Not made for the UK (Wet weather).

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Ford Falcon xr6

Good wearing with good grip wet and dry.
Reasonably comfortable without too harsh a ride.
Lacks grip sometimes when cornering.
Good water clearing ability right up to end of life.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Average miles

Ford

Pretty good tire, but prone to attain leaks. Have to constantly monitor whether the pressure is holding. It may be b/c of the 20" rims they are on. Not sure.

Tyre size reviewed: 295-30-20-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Polo 1.9 PD100

Amazing tyres, they stick like glue in the dry, excellent in the wet, maybe just a little more prone to aquaplaning... buy again is a must!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-V
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Honda Odyssey

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST

Possibly the worst tyre I've ever fitted to my car.

Even budget Accelera's were better.
Dry grip is ok, but there isn't much give. yyou're going around a bend fine, or understeering out the other side.

Damp/wet grip is terrible. Cars unsettled and won't grip at anything other than a snails pace. The standard Conti 3's with 2mm of tread were better. I get the TC light flashing at me in 5th on some occassions, and wheelspin in 3rd in the dry

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.