Pirelli Scorpion STR

The Pirelli Scorpion STR is a All Season Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Pirelli Scorpion STR
73%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
72%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
68%
Comfort
71%
Buy Again
67%

Pirelli Scorpion STR Reviews (2)

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 44,000 Average miles

BMW X3 2.0d Sport

Very good tyre. Had these on my X3 since new and they are now on 44K and they still all have a tad over 3mm left. The other surprising thing is they are really good in the snow (unlike the Bridgestone original fit on my last X3!). Only point to note is as the tread gets low they get a little noisier but I can live with that. Will buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-H
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 30,000 Average miles

Mazda CX9

Had those tyres for two years and drove smoothly and quitely for 50,000km now they are very noisy and rough with little cracks .
Their proce was very reasonable compared to other brands but i expected them to last longer.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-50-20-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Discovery 1 1996

Probably the best tyres I've ever bought, had the last set for 4 years on 3 cars over all types of terrain and motorway. Taking into account the fact that the tyre is 70/30 on to off road rating a very good all round tyre. Extremely tough. I'm on my second set.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-70-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 60,000 Average miles

Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCi Sport

Bought the STR to replace the original Dunlop SP200s on my X-Trail. The SP200 lasted for 20,000 miles on the front. The STR has been on for 60,000. No negative comments at all. Plus I have put at least 10k towing miles on these.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 39,000 Average miles

Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCi Sport

Had a set of four 225/55/17's on my X-Trail Columbia for 39,000 MILES and they are still legal - MOT'd yesterday. I don't drive like an idiot (hopefully) but I don't potter around either. These have had a good work out and will reach 40,000 very soon. Great tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 220,000 Spirited miles

Volvo XC70 D5

Came as OE on my XC70 and the 1st set lasted 48K miles before I changed them for the first time and they still had 3mm tread. Second set lasted 40k on more spirited m/way use. Subsequent sets have been 40K+ no problem. I have found them more than adequate on my car in all weathers. In snow/ice they have excellent traction and surefootedness. Last year in heavy snow was able to tow another car up a hill with no problem.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 60 Spirited miles

Nissan X Trail 2.2 DCi Sport

Great all round tyre, has never let me down and is good for grip and wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-V
36%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Jeep cherokee sport

The wore really quickly despite checking pressures weekly religiously. Very disappointed with grip under heavy breaking in wet conditions. Good grip in ice and snow at low speed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 14,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Range Rover V8 Vogue

Bought to replace the excellent, but obsolete, Scorpion ST tyres. In general driving there is not much to choose between the ST and the STR except the wear. STs lasted for 35k miles, STRs lasted for 14k miles. Disappointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-18-H
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover P38

Bought to replace Pirelli Scorpion ST in the same size, which were brilliant tyres on road, pretty good off it and gave 60k miles before needing replacement. The STR was a huge (and expensive) disappointment after the ST. Dry grip about the same as the ST, wet grip definitely worse, useless off road and in snow and lasted 28k before needing replacement. The only positive thing I can say is that they were slightly quieter than the STs. Would not recommend and will not be buying again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.