Pirelli Scorpion STR

The Pirelli Scorpion STR is a All Season Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Pirelli Scorpion STR
73%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
72%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
68%
Comfort
71%
Buy Again
67%

Pirelli Scorpion STR Reviews

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC70 D5

Tyres are noisy on lot road surface's just had xc70 for 5 weeks

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Spirited miles

BMW X3 3.0dA

inherited these almost new with car. H speed (up to 130mph) was a bit optimistic for a BMW X3 and in due course it blew out on the motorway - not sure why, maybe hit a sidewall. Had previously had 2 other punctures - not on the tyre that blew out. Overall impression they were ok - but questionable wear after blow out, so wouldn't buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Honda CRV

Very grippy, not too noisy and gave me a very secure feeling on the road. Lasted well, too!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-T
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Pirelli Scorpion str durability are fantastic !! I put these tires on the car with 56,000 km in June 2011. The car currently has 156,000 kilometers made ​​in June 2015. The rear tires are still the same ! 100,000 km !! and still have half the floor !! amazing! I'm not joking !!! 4 years! The front tires have been changed in the past year. Easily explained ! It is a front wheel drive car . They made 76,000 km ! amazing! I drive on asphalt and dirt track at moderate speeds(100-150) and high speed(180-210)... In wet conditions I advise not reach the limit only if you are an adventurous driver and very good driver but the tire fulfills its duty ! In dry conditions is an excellent ally and best friend! Floors with snow is not the best but not the worst !

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Average miles

Land Rover freelander

Had these on my freelander td4 have lasted 3.6 yrs and 40,000 miles plus fronts need changeing rears 5mm left should last another year good in the wet good in the snow good in the dry have ordered two more will stay with these had them on my disco, and they have survived back roads beaches dirt tracks gravel tracks the farm pot holes motorway trips of 500 miles and more at a time used on work drive 6 days a wk sun rain or snow they get me there. Will stay with the pirelli scorpian str very good tyre I'm happy

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-H
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 15,000 Average miles

Volvo XC70 D5

dry traction is fine, in the wet on asphalt, this "4 season" lacks compared to top summer tyres, as can be expected. Wear is very low.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-H
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,641 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

I bought the Pirelli Scorpion STR after researching them which they stated you would get heaps of mileage out of them. Well, I only got 30,000 km out of them. I did look after them. I rotated my tyres. Did everything right. I must admit the tyres did wear evenly. I would not by them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-16-R
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-17-H
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 31,000 Spirited miles

Honda crv

Got exactly 50km on current set, Honda CRV with 95% tar road travel. Hard driver, but expected 60km due to good maintenance, however I'm satisfied.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery 2

I had these on my Disco II as all year tyres, but ended up binning them after 14 months due to wear!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-65-16-S

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.