Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW

The Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW is a Winter Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW
82%[average]
Dry Grip
82%
Wet Grip
82%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
87%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
74%

Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW Reviews

47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Honda CRV

Had tyres on Honda CRV for 3 Scottish winters now , but sadly I'm underwhelmed.
I'd have expected more from a Premium brand like Pirelli.
Progressive grip l is non existent , wear on dry roads is rapid & unfortunatemy noisy.
Had next to no snow here in 3 years so didn't score them on that (nor ice.)
I had a set of Winter Yokohamea on.my is200 that were much better ..
Won't be buying again & will be switching to Cross Climates all round asap - can't go wrong - Colin

Tyre size reviewed: 215-65-16-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Freelander 2

Amazing winter tyres
Among my experiences:
I once drove without realising in a modest river bay (water was flowing only in summer) but was covered in snow and couldn't see it. After a couple of tries i managed to get out .Very good grip on snow and ice. Was able to go up a very slippery hill covered in ice (was about 20-25 degrees).
Also i had to rush someone to the hospital on a road with about 15-30 cm of snow for about 10km - the tyres behaved exemplary at over 100km/h
However... Snow breaking is average... Car would slip like on ice even though its just snow. Engine breaking recommended.
On mud the tyre is above average but not great.
Also, the tyre is very very soft so on dry roads doesn't behave as good, especially in tight turns. Other than that its very confortable.
I had it for 4 winters and could easily go though another one but two of the four tyres were penetrated by accident by some nails or something and they kept losing pressure every couple of days so I got rid of them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-70-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 53,000 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery 3

I normally do not write reviews for products I have used, but this time I thought these tyres deserved one. I have just changed back to the set of summer tyres and realised that these winter ones have done an amazing 52.695 miles in total in 10 winters! And they seem to have enough tread depth to last for at least another season next year... They have been great on long motorway journeys, twisty & snowy & icy country roads, city commuting, and the occasional (not too technical) off-road excursion. Fantastic on both ice & snow (we live near Munich, where there tends to be a lot of both during the winter months) and are not noticeably affected by very low (-20C) temperatures. We have a couple of times rescued other cars which had slid into a ditch on icy roads. To be fair, our driving style is not aggressive at all - but then again, our car is a rather heavy one - so I do not know how these tyres will feel on a sporty car. If you want a set of tyres that will perform very well in winter weather and will last for a long, long time, I can fully recommend these.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-19-
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Renault Koleos

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 255-60-17-H
65%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee 2.7 LTD

I live in rural NE Scotland and have had my Pirelli Scorpion Snow and Ice Tyres fitted on my Jeep Cherokee 2.7 CRD Ltd Edition every year since 2011 in Novemeber as winter arrives and removed in April.
Winters have been quite mild the last few years so no great snow falls lying around for long periods of time, I would not say the tyres were really put to any test until Januuary 2nd 2015 when I was coming down quite a steep tarmaced road (in 4 WD) , no snow just ice which I did not really see until the vehicle took off on its own path and had I not hit a sign post which halted the Jeep before dropping into a small river ravine, I had no control whatsoever and was very lucky.
I now have no confidence in the Snow and Ice Pirellis doing what they were supposed to do ! Stop me from sliding on ice. There is plenty tread left on these tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-R
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota Land cruiser prado

Bought a set for my landcruiser 4 years ago to use from November to April.

These tyres are wonderful, my trips to the North of Sweden each year on unpaved uneven ice covered roads, has been made possible with very little drama by these tyres. On one road break I walked up the road to see how icy it really was, went flying onto my back. Crawled back to the car climbed aboard , and drove away as if the road had been sanded. The word ICE on tyre is not a marketing ploy.
Great tread life and as quiet as my Michelin summer tyres.
Will buy again without a second thought.


Tyre size reviewed: 265-65-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Toyota RAV4

Had these so many years I can't be sure, but I think it's about 4 or 5. Done 40+ thousand miles, and they are still leagal!!!
Even when the rear shocks seized up a couple of years ago these tyre still managed to perform.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 57,000 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery 3

This is my first winter these Pirelli's on my LR3 in Ottawa Canada were we do get a lot of snow, and we can get it quickly. I like these tires, only problem is they are noisy on dry pavement, and they do wear quickly. I generally change them out in March for my Nokian summer tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz

THIS IS THE SECOND SET .I USED THEM FIRST ON 16" RIMS ON MY MERC ML.CHANGED ML'S BUT THIS ONE HAS 17"RIMS AND THE TYRES FAIL HORRIBLY ON MUD OFF ROAD.MY IMPRESSION IS THAT THE 16"RIMS DEFINATELY COPED BETTER.HOWEVER THIS IS A VERY GOOD ALL TERRAIN ROAD TYRE

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Land Rover Discovery Series 2 TD5

Hi,
We have these fitted to our Land Rover Discovery 2 that regularly tows 3tons. We live in Italy 2000feet up on the Appennines and can experience 3+ft of snow during winter. There are areas/roads here that require you to have either snow chains or 'snow tyres' before you can proceed. From my research before i bought snow tyres, persuaded by my wife who objected rather too aggressively that she would refuse to get out in the snow and fit snow chains when needed, that these tyres were the most popular and now i know why. They're great. Snow tyres, we are told, are normally a soft compound and can wear considerably when on dry tarmac - see wet tyres on F1 cars - ours are wearing, as we speak, just as well as 'normal tyres'. We have done over 12k miles and i have yet to witness a reduction in tread depth.
PS; No i do not work for Pirelli.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.