Kumho Ecsta HM KH31

The Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Kumho Ecsta HM KH31
75%[average]
Dry Grip
81%
Wet Grip
73%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
72%
Comfort
78%
Buy Again
74%

Kumho Ecsta HM KH31 Reviews

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E320 CDI

Fitted to E320 2004 saloon on the rear. The outside edges were bald within 3000 miles (5 months) of non heavy driving. The worst wear I have ever experienced.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Fiat croma

Very bad tires. The pattern is still good and tires looks like 1 year old but sidewalls and geometry of the tire went off. Also, the looks to much like plastic tire and do not hold well on a wet surface. They were on the car when I bought it and I was very happy when I throw them away. Never again...

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 306

Great tyres in the dry, and better than budgets in the wet. These lasted about 20,000 miles so not bad on the front of a peugeot 306 either. Much better than the Rikens I had before, and we shall see how they were compared to the Yokohama Paradas I have replaced them with!

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

BMW E38 7 Series

Not a bad tyre for the price, certainly better than the Avons they replaced. Good in snow when quite new and quiet on the motorway. Just about made 20000 miles, about 7000 of that towing a car trailer to meetings. They have been driven hard and I have no real complaints. That said however I am due to replace them and on recommendation I am opting for the Nokian Z G2.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-16-V
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 40,000 Average miles

Chevrolet Malibu LTZ

My Ecsta HM KH31 are just shy of 40,000 miles, are good for another 8,000 - 10,000 miles. These are OEM tyres on my Chevy Malibu LTZ, I do 80% highway and 20% city and do around 1,800 - 3,700 miles a month. These tyres hold well in extremely hot Dubai weather and provide very good road handling and breaking feel even while panic breaking at 85mph. Can't comment on wet weather performance as it only rains here for a couple of weeks and the roads always dry up quickly due to the heat. The best thing about these tyres are that they are reasonably quiet provided they are rotated regularly. My service center for some reason skipped the periodic rotation at 25,000 miles which resulted in uneven wear and an increase in noise, after I got them rotated there was a noticeable reduction in noise. Would recommend these tyres as they provide surprisingly good handling in dry and low road noise for the price.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus mk2

Put two of these on the rear of my Focus replacing 2 Continental Sport Contact 2s which were on from new. These were just a little more than half the cost of the Continentals. Around 1,000 miles later a pot hole ripped 2 tyres to pieces on one side, so I replaced these, and the remaining Conti with KH31s.

These tyres have been on a wide variety of roads from gravel to muddy country lanes along with the usual town and motorway runs. I'm very happy with them overall, I enjoy driving and I like to push the car. I've yet to make these tyres break away in the corners, wet or dry. The grip is excellent in all conditions (even decent enough for a summer tyre in snow!) and the car feels no different to how it did before on Continental. I've covered 13k since putting them on and there is plenty of tread left yet. Road noise hasn't been an issue either.

Overall I'm very happy with the tyres and will fit them again. I really can't substantiate any of the comments in the negative reviews, these tyres have been spot on for me.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 106 gti

I have a Peugeot 106 GTI and due to the awkward wheel size there are very few true performance options available. I carried out a lot of research before deciding on the KH31's. There was a lot of conflicting information on other sites and this one also, but I think those that have truly tried a new set on all 4 corners of a car will agree with how superb these tires are overall.

They were one of the cheaper options that I was considering but they certainly do not suffer as a result. Grip is excellent in both the wet and dry and is hard to unstick, especially compared to the previous set of non-name rubber on the wheels.

I can't comment too much on the wear as they have been on for approx 2k miles but they seem to be wearing very evenly and at a slow pace at the moment.

My car being so light at only 940kgs it might be more forgiving on the tires downfalls if it hasn't any and they may perform differently on a large heavy saloon for example, but they are perfect on my light car.

I would thoroughly recommend these tires and cannot understand the occasional bad review they get but I guess that's the case for any product.

I will most definitely be renewing with another set once these wear and I can't say higher praise than that.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-14-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Nissan 200sx

These came with a used 200sx in the front in average condition, with similar tyres from a competing manufacturer in the rear. Overall grip was below average in the dry and quite poor in the wet - I'd have sudden and severe understeer in cornering (despite the rears being totally worn out) and they locked under only moderate braking.

Road noise was also an issue, the roar was louder than my aftermarket exhaust.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 0 Spirited miles

Peugeot 307

Very good tyres!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
75%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Ford Focus mk2

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.