Kumho Solus KH17

The Kumho Solus KH17 is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Kumho Solus KH17
70%[average]
Dry Grip
76%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
67%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
67%

Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews (2)

51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,500 Easy Going miles

Hyundai i20

My Hyundai i20 2014 glide came standard with these set of tyres. Front tyres lasted for 45000kms, while back still good for another 10k. Quite ride and absorbs bump well. Good braking ability on dry. Holds well in wet conditions. One tyre had a thread seperation fault which caused vibration at 46k. Needed replacement. Will not buy this tyre again.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-H
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35,000 Average miles

Kia Motors Picanto

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-14-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 19,000 Easy Going miles

Chevrolet Cruze LT3 1.6L

I drove the tyres for 19000 miles but I bought the car second hand. The tyres drove in total 54 000 miles.

The rubber looked like it was realy old and cracked after 3 years (produced week 10 in 2011, cracked when i bought the car in 2014).

The tyre did everything it needed to do.

At the moment the tyre has still 4 mm of thread on it. But last week in the rain they could no handle the water. I felt the water hitting the tyres and they struggled with it. These tyres are in the front.

So i bought new tyres because of the cracks and the tyres couldn't handle the water of the Belgian roads

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 39 Average miles

Hyundai i30

It was dads car. He only drove it once before he died, two years ago. I put 36,000 on the set that came with the car . Bought a new set and put 5000 on them before put a hole in the left rear yesterday . Drove over the edge of a bowser. I think I accidenly got a bolt on the bowsers edge. The local thinks he may be able to repair it by a plug.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 56,721 Spirited miles

Chevrolet Cruze 1.8A

Came originally with Chevrolet Cruze 2015, driven 91284Km, changed to another brand as couldn't find Same tyres readily available.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-V
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Easy Going miles

Daewoo Matiz

Very quiet tyre, much quieter than Avon ZT5 and quieter than Barum Brilliantis. You pay for that with very high wear though. Grip is better than Barum Brilliantis but not as good as Avon ZT5.

Tyre size reviewed: 155-65-13-T
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,800 Spirited miles

Hyundai I10

Fitted as standard to my new Hyundai i10. By far the worst tyres I have ever had the misfortune to own.

I had done 4800 miles on them before I bought four winter tyres. I noticed that these Kumho's KH17s on the front wheels had gone bald across 105mm of the tyre width (excluding the three deep grooves running around the tyre). They are both evenly worn so this is not a tracking issue. Even the edges of the tyres have lost about 50% of their tread. The centre tread is actually made to be very shallow, probably not much more than 1-2 mm deep when brand new. What kind of engineer designed that???

I do drive in a "very spirited" manner and throw the car into bends and use the FULL rev range. I've always thought that the controlled 4 wheel drifting was characteristic of the car itself and it's relatively narrow tyres. Now I wonder what it will be like when I buy 4 brand new decent tyres. My advice is buy the car and DUMP the KH17 tyres.

The rear tyres are fine but I do question again wonder why the centre tread is barely 1mm deep. The tyre wear indicators on BOTH the front and rear show loads of tread left, I'm sure they (the fronts) would do at least 15K before they were illegal and the rears probably 30k plus.

The manufacturer's website kumho-eu-tyre-label.eu/ reveals the EU label. The label for 165/60 R14 75H is actually E E 69dB. Don't be fooled by the same size tyre with a T speed rating which is E B 69dB. That second "E" means the wet grip is the equivalent to 3 out of 7, which speaks for itself really.

Tyre size reviewed: 165-60-14-H
37%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.7 V8 Overland

Rubber to soft. Useless offroad. I had to change them continuously so finally I had change the brand.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf Mk4 1.9 GTTDi

These Tyres for there size and price are excellent. They are grippy enough for bombing about on Country Lanes In a clapped out car. These tend to slide but never fully let go so it always a controlled slide which is much better than gripping then fully letting go. They are good in the wet and dry and very predictable. I can always rely on them when going for a hoon.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.