Kumho Solus KH17

The Kumho Solus KH17 is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Kumho Solus KH17
70%[average]
Dry Grip
76%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
70%
Progressiveness
69%
Wear
67%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
67%

Kumho Solus KH17 Reviews

54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT

I appear to have been very unlucky. A set of four have all gone progressively out of shape after only 10,000 miles and over a relatively short 500 mile interval. It appears that the internal bracing has broken down resulting in bulging of the tread by as much as 5mm. Symptoms included pulling to one side and severe vibration. With over 4mm of tread remaining, I would have expected these tyres to last much longer. These particular tyres were made in China. A pair of identical tyres on another vehicle purchased separately have not yet suffered the same fate and my experience with the same brand, admittedly Korean made 165/60R14H on an i10, has been satisfactory so the issue would seem to be poor quality control.

Tyre size reviewed: 135-80-13-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Grande punto

I was impressed with this set because of the grip and handling of the car. They are amazing in the dry, and good in the wet. It gives you nice feedback of the road at the compromise of comfort. The problem would be they wear out faster than other models.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Suzuki CELERIO

Bought cheap second hand alu rims, that came with these nearly 10 year old worn down to 4 mm. Bought them after seeing the incredible difference the winter tyres made to the car compared to the stock eco summer tyres. I have to say I was very pleasently surprised. These felt the most staple yet at highway speeds, with great roadfeeling and some sportiness that reminded me of a set of Dunlop SP sport 01 that I once had on a Peugeot 206. Tradeoff being less comfort, (nearly harsh), and considerable roadnoise, but a very fun tyre to drive. Even at 4mm they felt safe in the rain, never aquaplaned nor had the ABS kick in. Only used them for 11000 km, as the valve on one of them started to leak. The rubber on it was ripped as a sign of to hard twisting. Decided to retire the set do to age. Didn't see any wear of note, during those 11000 k's. It's worth mentioning I had very similar gas milage compared to the never Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 the car came fitted with.
There are never options out there, but I would be tempted to go for these again if I find a good deal of a not to old set.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-70-14-T
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Fiat Grande Punto 1.9 sporting

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 13,000 Average miles

Honda CRV

The tyres are quiet for the first few thousand km but after wearing down, the road noise becomes more noticeable. The grip for these are good but they significantly drop after around 20k km on them, I realise that without proper tyre rotation the handling is hampered. I was initially satisfied for the first 15k km on them but as they started to wear down the handling characteristic and acceleration deteriorated and I was forced to rotate them (FWD car). For the price I paid for them which is AUD580 (2 pairs), I expected them to last at least 50k km but unfortunately, I might have to replace them before that mark as the threads on the front tyres are 2-3mm shallower than the rear tyres. Overall,they are good tyres but I would not buy them again because of poor longevity and ageing characteristics.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-70-15-T
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Average miles

Nissan Livina

Very comfortable and quiet tire, Big Thumb UP!! compared with the other major big brand company tyre
Handling is above average,
45k km been rolled and going to get another set of it.


Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-H
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 120,000 Easy Going miles

Toyota Wish

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
10%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 1
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Easy Going miles

Hyundai Creta SX

I purchase Hyundai Creta SX model on August 30th
My first Tyre Burst with big cut on 13th October and yesterday second Tyre on 17th October. We can't rpair puncture Au

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 4,500 Average miles

Kia Motors Picanto

I had these tyres with my new Kia car. I was shocked that the quality suddenly deteriorated after 15 months of use for about 8000km only. The braking distance increased a lot and the handling became less certain. I think that was due to the poor wear rate and poor quality of rubber. I decided to change to Falken ze912 and they are now quieter and more comfortable than Kumho KH17.

Tyre size reviewed: 170-60-14-
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 8,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia estate

bought my Skoda Octavia with these tyres on the front. Only a couple of milimeters left of the thread, but i still drove 8000 miles/13000 kms with them mostly in town (London). The thread is still legal, but i hit a pothole and there is a bubble on the sidewall of the front tyre. Even they are worn tyres, i have never had any grip issue with them in any weather. Highly recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.