Pirelli P Zero

The Pirelli P Zero is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli P Zero
70%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
71%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
60%
Comfort
65%
Buy Again
55%

Pirelli P Zero Reviews (8)

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Spirited miles

Porsche BOXSTER 2.7

Granted, a lot of the grip of this car comes from the excellent chassis and suspension but these tyres are a perfect pairing for the car. The only minor point is that they seemed to wear a little quickly but that could be down to the driving style as much as the tyre itself.
In the wet and dry they are a grippy, safe and fun tyre that I'd imagine would be a great choice on any sports car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 19,500 Spirited miles

SEAT Cupra R 305psi import

Had these tyres for 19,500miles, with 3-4mm left on all four. So as far as wear goes - well impressed.
Had cupra from new n driven damn hard. wet grip lets the pirelli's down for me

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Jaguar XF S

I've a jag xf 275cv. This tyres has and excellent grip in dry, also last millage. You can go on a cornering roads extremly fast and tyres answer is impresive. On wet condicions results are really good but not impresive only in last millage grip starts to be only aceptable, specially on raining conditions when aquaplaning apears.
On motorway has also an excellent grip but noise isn't the best. Fuel consumtion is good for this kind of tyres.. however I've changed with 16700 miles because was finished, from my point a short millage.
50% motorway 20% city drive 30% country roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 6,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz SL500

Just plain rubbish

Had on a merc SL - The back end was dreadful - wear was horrendous. fronts randomly wore to steel ribbing which I have never had on any tyres before and none since.

I don't get why these tyres are rated so highly

Tyre size reviewed: 295-30-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 30,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4TSi 170Sport

Very noisy, don't know if it was a bad pick for my car or if these tyres are just a bad mix of rubber and etc. Seemed very good for the first 1000km, then they got very noisy and ruff. Stopping is like the car is rolling on chains. Changing lanes is like going over railway tracks.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Porsche BOXSTER 2.7

The P-zero does not get a lot of rave reviews, and many enthusiast drivers bang on about other brands from the "Premium" suppliers.

However I really like Pirelli P-Zero. They are superbly made, of the nicest construction quality, and really good all round.

They look very nice, with an attractive modern asymmetric pattern. Their roadholding is very good, and the comfort levels in terms of noise and harshness are also great. I've not had them long enough to establish longevity and wear rates however. They do have a nice sidewall design with an integral yet unobtrusive kerb-protector. Not all high-performance tyres even have this, and it's a very useful feature for any road car.

All in all, in the "ultra-high performance" segment the P-zero is kind of ignored against the Michelin and Goodyear brands, who all have a very vocal fan-base.

But it's worth remembering that the P-Zero is OEM fitment on Porsche, Ferrari, Jaguuar, McLaren, Audi to name but a few.

The only problem with P-Zeros is the confusing nature of the range. Each OEM fitment mentioned above has a specific tyre in each size, so you need a tyre marked N0 for Porsche, MC1 for McLaren etc. This can get confusing when changing them, and often great cost differences exist even with the same tyre sizes.

Another thing is the P-Zero is a particular tyre in the P-zero range. There are also P-zero Rosso (comfortable and quiet with soft tread), Nero (ultra-low profile for aftermarket fitments), Silver (hard tread for high mileage users), and System (different tread types front and rear), and corsa (road/race fitment)

This review is for the basic P-Zero, which as mentioned is an all rounder for any high-performance car that comes in a large variety of sizes.

It's a great all round tyre that should please everybody. I have them on the back of my Porsche Boxster now, and have just bought two more for the front.

Tyre size reviewed: 305-30-20-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Volvo S60 T5 250bhp

I've tried out lot's of tires the last years and found what others seem to know from the beginning; quality comes from the same brand over again. The last years I've gone from Hankook, Barum, Good Year, Sunny, Nokian, Michelin to Continental, Bridestone and now last season to Pirelli Zero.

What a fantastic tyre, grips, holds, responses and performs. Bare in mind I drive a Volvo which is among the worst cars made. I've also been very happy with Bridgestone 050's, but they weigh 1 kg more at the same size, so my choice goes to Continental Sport-series or as now, Pirelli Zero. After 10 km of efficient driving, the surface is already warmed up and grips.

The only downside is the wear. Mine lasted for 12000 km on front axle untile they were below 0,5 mm and I had to change for a set of new ones, the same brand of course.

Very happy with these, but next choice might also be Continental. Both C. and Pirelli are ligher than competitors, Pirelli is also slightly narrower on same size, where Bridgestone meets the full measure it specifies. Conti in between.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Average miles

BMW M3

Have these on the rears of a BMW M3, they are fine until they wear and then they become a death trap. Replaced with Goodyear Eagle F1s although louder a much better tyre. I've had Continential, Vredesteins, Maxxis on various cars over the years and these P Zeros are so dangerous when wet or worn, I cannot recommend them at all for that reason alone (as others have said too). Wear was average.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.